English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   project.Amiga Game Factory (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=69)
-   -   Cabal (1988)(Ocean) arcade colors tweak (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=86690)

nobody 08 April 2017 10:22

Cabal (1988)(Ocean) arcade colors tweak
 
One game i did't like the colors. It just doesn't look like the arcade. So i followed earok's tutorial and changed the colors to match the arcade as much as possible. Only play area changed, not tested thoroughly. In the zone as
Cabal (1988)(Ocean)_arcade colors [cr MAD][t +2 Avenger].adf


arcade
https://s22.postimg.org/nme6eq8mp/Cabal_arcade_game.png

original Amiga version
https://s22.postimg.org/4xw4rehpt/Clipboard03.png

new colors
https://s22.postimg.org/e34hl9l4h/Clipboard01.png
https://s22.postimg.org/q69t8tw6p/Clipboard02.png

nobody 09 April 2017 17:50

So anyone tried it? Any impressions?

Retro-Nerd 09 April 2017 18:09

Haven't tried it yet on my A1200. Nice fit but imo too colorful/vibrant.

s2325 09 April 2017 18:11

Well, I think Amiga version was slightly better because of toned down colors and better sounds. Saturation like this may be done with CRT display but it's useful if you are using WinUAE with LCD. It's well done but Cabal need more better controls (grenades) than color control. :great

Retro-Nerd 09 April 2017 18:12

Quote:

Originally Posted by s2325 (Post 1151384)
It's well done but Cabal need more better controls (grenades) than color control. :great

Then check the latest WHDLoad patch. ;)

dlfrsilver 09 April 2017 18:16

Quote:

Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd (Post 1151382)
Haven't tried it yet on my A1200. Nice fit but imo too colorful/vibrant.

well video games are meant to be colorful and vibrant, no ?

Thierry had to use those colors because the game had to be also portable on the atari ST, in 16 colors.

Cabal graphics were done on an Atari ST, so degas elite, so 512 colors palette, so more or less shit palettes (due to constraint), and the game had to run in 512kb of ram. With 1mb, i'm sure they would have gone 32 colors.

Nobody's incentive is good to me. Cabal weakness is really its crap color scheme.....

nobody 09 April 2017 18:17

Also in the arcade you finish stage sooner, in the Amiga version takes longer for the enemy bar to fill. Amiga version is much harder due to stupid controls and the player sprite is awful.

Retro-Nerd 09 April 2017 18:19

Quote:

well video games are meant to be colorful and vibrant, no ?
Depends on the genre and graphic theme. Look at the many oversaturated SNES games.

nobody 09 April 2017 18:26

Quote:

Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd (Post 1151382)
Haven't tried it yet on my A1200. Nice fit but imo too colorful/vibrant.

I took the color values from the arcade screenshot, side by side with the Amiga version. I think they are better, plus that super saturated cyan sky was abysmal.

Retro-Nerd 09 April 2017 18:29

Can you hack the WHDLoad version too? Don't know if the disk is running on my A1200.

nobody 09 April 2017 18:31

Quote:

Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd (Post 1151392)
Can you hack the WHDLoad version too? Don't know if the disk is running on my A1200.

I guess it should be possible but have to try

Retro-Nerd 09 April 2017 18:40

Just played it on my A1200. Looks indeed better on real hardware (Sony CRT TV RGB). Would be nice to have it hacked for WHDLoad too since the CD32 controls are useful. :great

dlfrsilver 09 April 2017 18:47

Quote:

Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd (Post 1151389)
Depends on the genre and graphic theme. Look at the many oversaturated SNES games.

I don't understand what you mean by oversaturated. Capcom graphists are professionals using industrial Top of the Best process to make the best possible graphics.

And of course, they master fully the palettes of any system they worked on.

So can you please explain or illustrate what you mean by oversaturated ?

A game like super ghouls'n'Ghosts for example has a fabulous palette.

The colors are incredibly good, how can they be better ?

nobody 09 April 2017 19:15

First problem found, the player 2 sprite looks awful now so i have to change that red and make a revised version.
https://s4.postimg.org/y8wzamfmz/Cli...vert_Image.png

PS but it was looking awful also before :laughing
http://www.mobygames.com/images/shot...wo-players.gif

s2325 09 April 2017 19:31

It's for enemy distraction.

dlfrsilver 09 April 2017 21:44

Quote:

Originally Posted by nobody (Post 1151406)
First problem found, the player 2 sprite looks awful now so i have to change that red and make a revised version.
https://s4.postimg.org/y8wzamfmz/Cli...vert_Image.png

PS but it was looking awful also before :laughing
http://www.mobygames.com/images/shot...wo-players.gif

The problem is that 16 colors for such a game is just not enough.

You'd need 32 or better 64 colors in order to get something visually good.

The coin-op is using a 256 colors palettes (read : unique colors). So passing the whole thing in only 16 colors..... ouch.

nobody 09 April 2017 22:09

At least is better than some other versions

https://gamefaqs.akamaized.net/scree...82_2_1_mid.jpg

s2325 09 April 2017 22:12

Yes, but house is pink only in arcade version ;)

dlfrsilver 09 April 2017 22:33

Quote:

Originally Posted by nobody (Post 1151440)
At least is better than some other versions

https://gamefaqs.akamaized.net/scree...82_2_1_mid.jpg

is it the nes version ?

nobody 09 April 2017 22:39

Yes


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:34.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Page generated in 0.04581 seconds with 11 queries