English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   Coders. System (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=113)
-   -   icon.library 46.4 test versions (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=64079)

Calabazam 30 September 2012 13:11

Still not working, even with the new version that don't need the newer workbench.libray.

Could MCP or another fancy program from my SS be responsible?

daxb 30 September 2012 13:27

Quote:

Originally Posted by Calabazam (Post 842420)
Could MCP or another fancy program from my SS be responsible?

Just comment (";") MCP out and reboot. Then you will see if that help.

PeterK 30 September 2012 14:25

Quote:

Originally Posted by Calabazam (Post 842420)
Still not working, even with the new version that don't need the newer workbench.libray.

Could MCP or another fancy program from my SS be responsible?

Could be everything. Why don't you tell me at least what the Version command reported?

You can also try to comment out the first two lines in your s-s, because I don't know what they do. And if it doesn't help try to comment out one line after another until you find the reason.

mfilos 30 September 2012 18:12

Peter my friend just checked the latest 258 version and it ROX.
Can't test for older workbench.library since I only use Kickstart 3.1+

I had an old version since I haven't updated for some time now, and I can say that icon loading (OS4, PNG) is A LOT faster (at least 2x-3x for sure) than the previous version that used datatypes.
Terrific job. I can't thank you enough for these constant and important updates.

/respect

PeterK 07 October 2012 18:46

Update to icon.library 46.4.259

I've rewritten the GetIcon()/PutIcon() functions again which now preserve the OS 3.5 color mapping information even if you save the icons with the old workbench.library versions v39 or v40. Just the PNG and OS4 truecolor images are converted into the OS 3.5 format.

mfilos 07 October 2012 22:56

And it works just fine as always!
Awesome work there mate :)

PeterK 09 October 2012 10:12

Update to icon.library 46.4.260

I've done it again. Now the GetIcon()/PutIcon() functions will keep using all the 256 colors of the OS 3.5 image data instead of mapping to the 4 system colors only when workbench.library v39 or v40 are in use. Thus, it's sufficient to load the icon.library resident to get support for all icons in 256 colors. Use SwazInfo for icon information and Iconian as icon editor.

New IconDemoADF.rar

Retrofan 09 October 2012 11:33

Great. We should give you a gift or something :D

mfilos 09 October 2012 11:49

Peter for president :)
Nice news man... Just tested it in my 8 colors (MWB) ECS enviroment and it rox. Unbelievable how fast PNG and OS4 icons load in such limited machines without anything extra software and datatypes!!!
Epic work there man... /respect

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/939939/Pics...b3.9_icons.png

PeterK 09 October 2012 12:14

Thank you for your positive responses, my friends !!

But, did you really test this icon.library without using Scalos ?
If Scalos or DOpus5 are involved, then they always replace some icon.library and also workbench.library functions with their own code. In both cases the GetIcon() function, which I integrated now again, will not be called at all. It is only called when the workbench.library v39 or v40 is doing the complete GUI representation.

mfilos 09 October 2012 12:23

I'm using ClassicWB 3.9 which doesn't use Scalos my friend.
Scalos is only used on ClassicWB Full/Adv/AdvSp (3.1 versions).
I also dislike DOpus5 so this was from a stock Workbench.library 45.131 on OS3.9 :)

Gief more EPIC reworked modules like this. So much win in one thread!

Akira 09 October 2012 12:23

OK I Gotta try this, NewIcons pisses me off and I got way too many "little square"icons on my Amiga.
Do you think it can be run in tandem with FBlit, Peter?

I love your MWB setup, mfilos. Is that visualprefs on the windows? I'd love to take a peek at such a setup.

PeterK 09 October 2012 12:26

Yes, it really should be run together with FBlit.
Have a look into the IconDemoADF to see how that works.

@mfilos

Ok, so you could use your setup with workbench.library v39 or v40, too. But, of course, it's recommended to keep using the workbench.library v45, because it's much more powerful.

Akira 09 October 2012 13:58

Nice!
So where can we get this latest version? Aminet version is .256

PeterK 09 October 2012 14:07

The latest files are always attached to the first posting of this thread.

Akira 09 October 2012 19:28

Ahhh punching myself on the face for being a tit.
I figure it out and it seems to be working, however, I can't seem to be able to remove icon borders (as I think NewIcons was taking care of that before). How should I do that? I run the iconsframeoff command and nothing happens.

PeterK 09 October 2012 20:35

No, it seems to be impossible with the older workbench.libraries. They don't support frameless icons. At least, I couldn't find a way to achieve that yet. IconFramesOFF has no effect.

Btw, somebody reported a very old bug concerning disk icon snapshots with v39 or v40. The fix may come tomorrow or next days.

Akira 10 October 2012 03:10

My RAM disk looks like a black dot, if that's the bug.
Is there any way you can look into NewIcons and see how they remove the frame, though? Everything is fantastic except that problem.

I wonder why they had icon borders to begin with, a totally shitty design decision by Commodore :P

emufan 10 October 2012 14:39

PeterK: the new demo adf does not contain the workbench.library. can you add the newer again to it? thanks for all this.

Akira 10 October 2012 16:24

Quote:

Originally Posted by emufan (Post 844201)
PeterK: the new demo adf does not contain the workbench.library. can you add the newer again to it? thanks for all this.

I thought the new version does not need workbench.library... am I wrong?


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:03.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Page generated in 0.15183 seconds with 11 queries