English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   support.Apps (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=8)
-   -   CF card with PFS3 and WB3.9 (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=43113)

AlfaRomeo 03 March 2009 01:37

CF card with PFS3 and WB3.9
 
Hello there,
I have a CF card formated in UAE with PFS3 system, kickstart 3.1 and WB3.9 BB2.
With WB3.1 its all ok but when upgrade WB to 3.9 in UAE an error appear when startup-sequence execute LoadWB: Invalid Resident Library and doesn´t appear any Icons in WB. Same happens in a real A1200 with 3.1 Roms and Blizz040/32Mb when I put this CF in it.
This only happened when I used PSF3 because same configuration runs happy in FFS.
Any ideas how to solve this?

Thanks in advance

NovaCoder 03 March 2009 02:23

You could try SFS instead?

Toni Wilen 03 March 2009 07:30

I had same problem if icon.library was in ROM.

thomas 03 March 2009 10:37

Quote:

Originally Posted by AlfaRomeo (Post 518468)
This only happened when I used PFS3 because same configuration runs happy in FFS.

Perhaps you rebooted too early after the installation had finished ? PFS3 waits ca. 3 seconds after the last write access before it flushes its buffers. You can see this if you enable on-screen LEDs.

So if you didn't wait at least 3 seconds after the installation, the files which were copied last were not written to the disk.

Anyway, check if the right version of icon.library (i.e. V45) has been copied to the disk. If it's still V40, then copy it manually from the CD.

AlfaRomeo 03 March 2009 20:37

Thanks guys, when I get home I will check icon.lib version

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toni Wilen (Post 518515)
I had same problem if icon.library was in ROM.

@ Toni what you did to solve the problem?

Toni Wilen 03 March 2009 21:42

Quote:

Originally Posted by AlfaRomeo (Post 518882)
@ Toni what you did to solve the problem?

I thought that was obvious :)

Do not put it in ROM (also make sure workbench.library isn't included, I didn't even have wbfind in ROM)

Versions that come with OS installation must of course be in LIBS:

AlfaRomeo 03 March 2009 22:41

How do I remove icon.library and other libs from ROM?? with SKIPROMUPDATE "icon.library"??

AlfaRomeo 04 March 2009 17:29

Quote:

Originally Posted by thomas (Post 518542)
check if the right version of icon.library (i.e. V45) has been copied to the disk. If it's still V40, then copy it manually from the CD.

Icon.library still v40.1, that means when I updated to OS3.9 some old files
were not replaced..I wonder how many and why this happen..:confused

thomas 04 March 2009 17:42

Quote:

How do I remove icon.library and other libs from ROM?? with SKIPROMUPDATE "icon.library"??
A normal user cannot do this. You would have to write your own ROM into an EPROM chip and replace the original ROM chip with this one.

You could however create a new ROM image file with the famous Remus software and use Blizkick or the like to soft-kick it.

Quote:

Icon.library still v40.1, that means when I updated to OS3.9 some old files

were not replaced..I wonder how many and why this happen..
I tried to tell you. PFS3 does not write immediately to disk but waits a certain period of time until it recognises that there is no more activity. If you reboot before PFS has written its buffers to disk, the data is lost.

AlfaRomeo 04 March 2009 18:03

@thomas
Thanks for your help

Where I can download Remus software?

thomas 04 March 2009 18:39

http://www.doobreynet.co.uk/beta/index.html

AlfaRomeo 04 March 2009 18:44

Already Downloaded
Thanks again thomas

AlfaRomeo 05 March 2009 18:31

While I was building my rom´s Image a doubt come in to my head: If, in physical Roms, where a library that is an older version than the one in the Libs: directory what happens when execute a program that needs that library? it will load directly the Roms lib or it will see that the lib in Libs: directory is newer and load it instead?

thomas 05 March 2009 18:56

Programs usually call the OpenLibrary function. This function does all the version checking. It first checks whether the library has been opened before. If it's already open, it uses that copy and just increases the use count. But if the library has not been opened before, it first checks if there is a newer version on disk before it uses the one in ROM.

AlfaRomeo 05 March 2009 19:09

Thanks very much thomas :bowdown
your explanation helped me a lot to understand how Amiga OS works :)

AlfaRomeo 06 March 2009 16:01

I have a valid image 40.68 Rom from A1200 that even RomSplit from Remus software recognise but when I try to include Piru´s exec v44.1 in that Rom following the steps in instructions of Exec44beta4 the checksum of final rom it´s different from the checksum in instructions and after RemApollo tells me that is not a valid checksum rom :(
Someone knows why this could happen?

AlfaRomeo 07 March 2009 20:38

I just found that the Icons does not appear in workbench if I use setpatch command in Startup-Sequence because if setpatch is not present the Icons are normal, so something in OS 3.9 Rom Update is in conflict with pfs3.
How can I find what is the Rom Update contents?

AlfaRomeo 07 March 2009 22:41

Ok, I think with Rom split I can find what´s inside OS 3.9 RomUpdate


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:11.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Page generated in 0.04356 seconds with 11 queries