English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   Amiga scene (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   Looking forward to the Vampire 4? (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=96000)

Gordon 20 February 2019 16:22

I will answer the thread title. I am not looking forward to the release of the vampire standalone.

MartinW 20 February 2019 16:33

Oh, that looks nice!!

UberFreak 20 February 2019 19:56

V1200 is finally progressing, and that's way more interesting to me than the standalone.
Can't wait!

Amiga-agima 21 February 2019 12:51

For sure!

Sinphaltimus 22 February 2019 01:36

Yes.

Steril707 22 February 2019 20:26

Same here. Looking forward to the V1200, not much interest in the standalone though.

Syntrax 27 February 2019 15:31

also waiting for it

hUMUNGUs 27 February 2019 18:09

Yes

sean_sk 27 February 2019 23:38

I'm with the "crowd" that's looking forward to the V1200 more than the standalone. Gotta get that A1200 pimped! :)

Pyromania 28 February 2019 01:33

I cant wait for the Vampire 6!

:)

activist 06 June 2019 16:54

Why not the standalone version or negative view ?
Would this not open the door to new users ?
Is this not an actual realization of Netami, Minimig ?
Is it not a true 68k Amiga i.e. an actual successor to A1200/A4000?
Aren't the other 'successors' - amigaone x1000, x5000, a1222 - merely PCs running linux and uae for 68k compatibility i.e. not true Amigas ? (and for that matter why don't they just recompile amiga os4 for raspberry pi and be done with all these systems)

In light of Netami, Minimig, would be amazed if this standalone version makes a release. I live in hope..

sean_sk 06 June 2019 17:11

According to Gunnar here:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qu5KrHKWDEc

Vampire 4 Standalone (and V1200) production may start July. WOOT!

Daedalus 06 June 2019 18:02

Quote:

Originally Posted by activist (Post 1325860)
Aren't the other 'successors' - amigaone x1000, x5000, a1222 - merely PCs running linux and uae for 68k compatibility i.e. not true Amigas ?

Nope. Those machines run AmigaOS natively. UAE is used for classic chipset compatibility, not 68k compatibility, which is provided transparently within the OS, meaning 68k applications can use native OS4 system calls and therefore integrate seamlessly with the system.

Quote:

(and for that matter why don't they just recompile amiga os4 for raspberry pi and be done with all these systems)
It's been covered plenty of times before. But a couple of reasons:

- It's not as simple as just doing a recompile
- It would lose compatibility with all the existing OS4 and OS3 software
- It took many years of slow development to get to where it is - porting to another platform would probably take decades at that pace
- If you want Amiga on Raspberry Pi, there's an AROS port that's struggling to find enough interest. Maybe because, even if it was complete, there would be no software to run. Anyway, try giving support to that and you might just get a similar result to an OS4 port to the Pi.

AMIGASYSTEM 06 June 2019 18:35

Quote:

Originally Posted by Daedalus (Post 1325873)
Nope. Those machines run AmigaOS natively. UAE is used for classic chipset compatibility, .

Sorry for my ignorance, do I understand correctly? V4 via UAE Emulates ChipSet

EDIT:

I think I mistranslated. You were probably talking about OS4. Sorry.

MartinW 06 June 2019 18:38

I was going to ask similar - sorry, I know it's OT for the topic :)

If I for example attempt to start a traditional 68k demo that obviously needs the original chipset, does OS4 know this somehow and auto-magically start it under a UAE layer, or do you have to explicitly start the UAE layer first and then run the demo from within that?

Genuinely a bit curious is all...

Daedalus 07 June 2019 00:20

Quote:

Originally Posted by MartinW (Post 1325880)
I was going to ask similar - sorry, I know it's OT for the topic :)

If I for example attempt to start a traditional 68k demo that obviously needs the original chipset, does OS4 know this somehow and auto-magically start it under a UAE layer, or do you have to explicitly start the UAE layer first and then run the demo from within that?

Well, it's not *quite* that simple, but it does have a way of doing that. By default, OS4 will try to run 68K software just emulating the CPU, meaning most demos and old games will fall over. Unfortunately it can't tell whether the chipset is needed by an executable or not. It comes with a 3.1 UAE setup that you can use, and it also comes with the RunInUAE utility, which intercepts 68K executables as they launch and asks you whether you want to run it in UAE or under OS4. If you choose UAE, the emulator will be started and the file run within it automatically. That choice can be saved for that file, so the next time you run it, it goes straight into UAE without asking. Alternatively, you can just drop a 68k demo or game executable onto the RunInUAE dock icon and it will launch the emulator and run the file within it. ADFs can also be used in much the same way, and there's a WHDLoad wrapper that launches any WHDLoad slaves directly under UAE too.

quantum8 07 June 2019 00:48

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gordon (Post 1305916)
I will answer the thread title. I am not looking forward to the release of the vampire standalone.


Same here.


It's always good to have more hardware to play with!

MartinW 07 June 2019 15:03

Quote:

Originally Posted by Daedalus (Post 1325937)
Well, it's not *quite* that simple, but it does have a way of doing that. By default, OS4 will try to run 68K software just emulating the CPU, meaning most demos and old games will fall over. Unfortunately it can't tell whether the chipset is needed by an executable or not. It comes with a 3.1 UAE setup that you can use, and it also comes with the RunInUAE utility, which intercepts 68K executables as they launch and asks you whether you want to run it in UAE or under OS4. If you choose UAE, the emulator will be started and the file run within it automatically. That choice can be saved for that file, so the next time you run it, it goes straight into UAE without asking. Alternatively, you can just drop a 68k demo or game executable onto the RunInUAE dock icon and it will launch the emulator and run the file within it. ADFs can also be used in much the same way, and there's a WHDLoad wrapper that launches any WHDLoad slaves directly under UAE too.

Ahh, thank you! I really should use my copy of 4.1FE for emulation more!!

And as for the original point, I'm coming round a lot more to the standalone concept. BUT I have a MiSTer now so while that is clearly not going to be anywhere near as fast or as feature rich as a Vampire 4, it does fill my requirement for now in the FPGA world, especially given it has many cores, not just Minimig. Will have to see how available the Vampire becomes and the cost. Maybe for Xmas!

Agilent 07 June 2019 19:47

No.

SvladJelly 08 June 2019 00:15

I will sacrifice to the dark gods for the Vampire A1200. My wallet is ready!


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:08.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Page generated in 0.06454 seconds with 11 queries