English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   Coders. Contest (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=130)
-   -   Discussion: Rygar AGA Edition (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=93545)

dlfrsilver 10 May 2019 10:13

Quote:

Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd (Post 1320396)
This looks indeed very polished. Amazing work. :great

But one thing annoys me: The obstrusive extras stone crashing sound (Haha). Any chance we can get something less annoying, maybe not that high-pitched? I know, the original sound exactly like that but it doesn't make it any better. :)

It's the original Yamaha FM sound. think about CPC nice YM sound :D:D

roondar 10 May 2019 13:40

Yeah, the Yamaha FM sound is that one thing I've never liked about arcade games. Most of them just don't sound that great to me - it takes a lot of effort to make those YM chips sound, well, good...

That said, the game is a port so it should have accurate sound (which it does). All good :)

mcgeezer 11 May 2019 14:28

A call for help on this update...

I have a rather nasty intermittent bug in Rygar... I have a good idea where it is but it only seems to surface under specific conditions... namely Round 2 when the Tribesmen stack up.

If the kind souls of the EAB wouldn't mind doing a bit of play testing for me then I would really appreciate it...

Here's a debug build of the ADF.

http://www.seismicminds.com/downloads/RygarEAB0C.adf

If the game hangs on Round 2 at all, please could you take screen shots and post them here in the thread, the number keys 0-4 will change the debug info at the bottom of the display even when the game hangs.

In the mean-time I'll keep trying to track it down.

Geezer.

DamienD 11 May 2019 14:54

Just gave it a quick bash ;)

Didn't freeze on Round 2 at all for me but did on Round 5:

http://i67.tinypic.com/oi4x6o.png

I'll continue testing...

mcgeezer 11 May 2019 14:55

Quote:

Originally Posted by DamienD (Post 1320667)
Just gave it a quick bash ;)

Didn't freeze on level 2 at all for me but did on level 5:

http://i67.tinypic.com/oi4x6o.png

I'll continue testing...

Ahh that's normal mate, just press the fire button and it will continue.

DamienD 11 May 2019 15:10

Just tried again and no issues.

I'm testing using an A1200 Quickstart so 2MB Chip RAM and KS 3.0. Is this what you want or should I be using KS 3.1?

One thing, I died after just coming off the rope on Round 5... when you restart you are not on ground so continually fall / die in an endless loop:

http://i67.tinypic.com/2dj3upg.png

mcgeezer 11 May 2019 15:13

Quote:

Originally Posted by DamienD (Post 1320670)
Just tried again and no issues.

I'm testing using an A1200 Quickstart so 2MB Chip RAM and KS 3.0. Is this what you want or should I be using KS 3.1?

One thing, I died after just coming off the rope on Round 5... when you restart you are not on ground so continually fall / die in an endless loop:

http://i67.tinypic.com/2dj3upg.png


Yeah, that setup is fine... basically a standard a1200 config should run it.

Indeed I also know about the endless loop bug on Round 5... it's on my list. :great

DamienD 11 May 2019 15:35

Ok, got it to freeze on Round 2 this time. It was just after the killing the Tribesmen, I then died just near a gap in the ground, it restarted me correctly back on the ground but seemed to shift twice. Kept playing and freeze...

Screenshots from number keys 1, 2, 3 and 4:

http://i67.tinypic.com/6zvdvo.png

http://i67.tinypic.com/zlos37.png

http://i68.tinypic.com/316xpj4.png

http://i67.tinypic.com/eprixc.png

mcgeezer 11 May 2019 21:10

Well.... fairly sure I've nailed that bug...

And here it is.... the latest build...

http://www.seismicminds.com/downloads/RygarEAB0D.adf

I'll probably do a little stream of me playing later on when my boy goes to bed.

I've took the debug off so it runs much faster... plus you only get 6 lives.

Geezer

JuanLuis 11 May 2019 23:41

Quote:

Originally Posted by mcgeezer (Post 1320722)
Well.... fairly sure I've nailed that bug...

And here it is.... the latest build...

http://www.seismicminds.com/downloads/RygarEAB0D.adf

I'll probably do a little stream of me playing later on when my boy goes to bed.

I've took the debug off so it runs much faster... plus you only get 6 lives.

Geezer

I was able to play until stage 5. The game hangs just before the rope. Anyway, I start to feel similar sensations to arcade game. The gradients on the sky and the field on stage 1 are very nice.

About the background waterfalls, they are implemented on arcade machine switching between two water patterns instead of a color cycle. I guess that a implementation of waterfall animation switching between two bitmaps could be expensive for the blitter.

A very important thing already commented is to allow Rygar can look at back when he's crouched.

I think the game is getting better and cleaner of bugs.

McGeezer, thanks for sharing these versions.

mcgeezer 11 May 2019 23:48

Quote:

Originally Posted by JuanLuis (Post 1320744)
I was able to play until stage 5.

When the background goes Red you just need to press the fire button.

Sorry I left a bit of debug in...

- All your points are valid.

DJ METUNE 14 May 2019 20:02

FM sounds
 
I think those FM sounds is bloody awesome! It has that racy sound of the arcade machines of that golden era. Synonymous with some kind of a luxury feeling exclusively created for those mighty mysterious cabinets, build to really get our attention, and our coins! :laughing Something that we could only dream of having at home.

Though it may be that much of it is purely psychological. And it could use completely different sounds as the Amiga of course don't care if the source is from a FM synth from the 80's or the latest screams of 2019. But then it would be less true to the charms of the original.

The sound effects is sample data in a provident frequency range to fit into the remaining available chipmem. I've done some processing to make them at least optimised to take full usage of their new home in form of the given frequency range and time. They could have eaten less kB if we somehow could use tracker sequenced sounds, similar to the Turrican games. Or if we could perhaps find a way to use samples with loops that fades out those longer tailed sounds, instead of using actual sample time for such. Then also we could probably allow a higher sample rate as well, as the actual sample data could be shortened. But there is still some SFX and subsongs to include to the game. So we'll see how much chipmem will be free after that first anyhow.

Btw. I found it more pleasing to the ears with the Amiga LED-filter engaged. I believe it should be switched on automatically for real Amigas, but in emulation its a choice I recommend you to make. It really smooths off all the jagginess in a lovely way. Turns everything into pure gold! :agree

DamienD 14 May 2019 20:13

Quote:

Originally Posted by DJ METUNE (Post 1321277)
But there is still some SFX and subsongs to include to the game.

I did notice some SFX are currently missing e.g. when the giant worm comes up from the lava ;)

...I'm sure you guys will add accordingly when it's time.

Hewitson 14 May 2019 21:00

Quote:

Originally Posted by DJ METUNE (Post 1321277)
Btw. I found it more pleasing to the ears with the Amiga LED-filter engaged. I believe it should be switched on automatically for real Amigas, but in emulation its a choice I recommend you to make. It really smooths off all the jagginess in a lovely way. Turns everything into pure gold! :agree

Seriously amazed to hear a musician say this. The filter makes everything sound muffled and removes almost all treble. Not a nice sound at all.

mcgeezer 14 May 2019 22:27

Quote:

Originally Posted by DamienD (Post 1321285)
I did notice some SFX are currently missing e.g. when the giant worm comes up from the lava ;)

...I'm sure you guys will add accordingly when it's time.

Yeah, there's two or three missing...

Giant Worm, Flying Squirrel, Fireball spit & Rider drop fall.

but lets be honest...

the music is just fucking brilliant, there isn't any way I'm changing it because it really does give that authentic Rygar arcade feel.

DamienD 14 May 2019 22:44

Oh, I'm not saying that you should change the music as it's amazing!!! ;)

...but are you saying that you can't add those SFX in due to not enough free memory left? If that's the case, then so be it.

roondar 14 May 2019 22:47

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hewitson (Post 1321304)
Seriously amazed to hear a musician say this. The filter makes everything sound muffled and removes almost all treble. Not a nice sound at all.

I tend to agree - most Amiga music/sounds sound better without filter, though I also notice some sounds are too 'harsh' when run without the filter. Probably the low sampling rate aliasing shining through.

Quote:

Originally Posted by mcgeezer (Post 1321318)
Yeah, there's two or three missing...

Giant Worm, Flying Squirrel, Fireball spit & Rider drop fall.

but lets be honest...

the music is just fucking brilliant, there isn't any way I'm changing it because it really does give that authentic Rygar arcade feel.

The music is spot on. It sounds really close to the original.
Sound effects too for that matter.

mcgeezer 14 May 2019 22:48

Quote:

Originally Posted by DamienD (Post 1321323)
Oh, I'm saying that you should change the music as it's amazing!!! ;)

...but are you saying that you can't add those SFX in due to not enough free memory left? If that's the case, then so be it.

No, there's still enough room for the rest of the sound-fx.

The game is literally going to fit on 1 disk with about 100 bytes to spare.

DamienD 14 May 2019 23:39

Ooops, noticed a typo on my part in post #976 (which has now corrected)...

Quote:

Originally Posted by DamienD (Post 1321323)
Oh, I'm saying that you should change the music as it's amazing!!! ;)

...was supposed to have been:

Quote:

Originally Posted by DamienD (Post 1321323)
Oh, I'm not saying that you should change the music as it's amazing!!! ;)

I'm sure you understood what I was trying to say though.

roondar 18 May 2019 23:47

I don't get it. All this talk about how it doesn't look like an AGA game. I've not seen a single OCS/ECS game that looked this good (in the sense of combining all the aspects of Rygar's graphics at least as well). I have seen some OCS/ECS games that do part of this, but the dual layer effect alone is better than anything I've seen on OCS/ECS.

Edit: that's not to say there are no OCS/ECS games with a better artstyle, but this is a conversion - the original looks a certain way and this game tries to copy that. And thus, you get these kind of graphics.

That's in part due to excellent coding, but also in part due to AGA allowing it to look this good. OCS/ECS just wouldn't. This isn't even up for debate, converting Rygar to OCS/ECS was tried and basically, though it was a good attempt with some clever tricks, it ultimately failed.

The only reason I can see for this attitude is basically rose tinted glasses - where people just misremember how OCS/ECS actually looked. Even 'power house' titles such as Lionheart, Jim Power etc clearly don't get to the level attained by Rygar AGA. They all very clearly have many more compromises.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:31.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Page generated in 0.13744 seconds with 11 queries