English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   support.WinUAE (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   Bug in x64 file requester and bug in Blizzard PPC ROM filesize (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=83244)

headkase 26 June 2016 11:52

Bug in x64 file requester and bug in Blizzard PPC ROM filesize
 
Two bugs I've come across:

1. Opening a file requester with the x64 version of WinUAE causes it to crash. For example, the file requester to attach a adf image or select a hard drive directory.

2. The ROM lookup for the Blizzard PPC preset, selecting the A1200 with one in the quick-start, says "512k" ROM. The actual ROM is 256K, and while that preset is selected as the default every launch of WinUAE will complain about the "missing" ROM.

Thank you Toni, has anybody told you today that you rock? Because you do. :)

Edit: WinUAE 3.3.0 for both bugs.

Edit2: Not WinUAE bugs, problem exists between keyboard and chair.

Toni Wilen 26 June 2016 12:07

Quote:

Originally Posted by headkase (Post 1098157)
Two bugs I've come across:

1. Opening a file requester with the x64 version of WinUAE causes it to crash. For example, the file requester to attach a adf image or select a hard drive directory.

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=80216

Quote:

2. The ROM lookup for the Blizzard PPC preset, selecting the A1200 with one in the quick-start, says "512k" ROM. The actual ROM is 256K, and while that preset is selected as the default every launch of WinUAE will complain about the "missing" ROM.
BPPC flash chip is 512k and boot menu config is saved above first 256k.

headkase 26 June 2016 12:11

For 1: I did just reinstall my Amiga Forever 2016 yesterday, and that is about when I also started to get the crash. Right clicking an ADF in explorer does now show an "RP9" entry. That sucks.

For 2: Is there anything I can do to "make it right"?

Toni Wilen 26 June 2016 13:39

Quote:

Originally Posted by headkase (Post 1098160)
For 1: I did just reinstall my Amiga Forever 2016 yesterday, and that is about when I also started to get the crash. Right clicking an ADF in explorer does now show an "RP9" entry. That sucks.

You need to do boring debugging (as listed in linked thread) to find out which extension is the broken one.

Quote:

For 2: Is there anything I can do to "make it right"?
Don't enable quickstart? (not much point with "high end" configs anyway).
Enter BPPC boot menu and save config, it should generate missing part of rom image.

headkase 26 June 2016 13:57

Thank you Toni, I chose a quickstart A1200 w/ BPPC and held escape while booting to get the boot menu. Then I saved the configuration and that gave me the 512kb ROM. That's one down.

For the errant explorer extensions, I installed C64 Forever 2011, Amiga Forever 2016 (then updated that to the latest beta) yesterday. So it is likely one of those context extensions is to blame. That one I'm just going to stick my middle finger up at and just use the x86 version of WinUAE. Really, memory amounts for emulated Amigas don't need to be anywhere near as high to run into the limits.

headkase 26 June 2016 14:17

I decided to not be lazy after all and went and found the extension causing the crash: Avast Antivirus was the culprit.

So, two out of two down - thank you for putting up with me. ;) :)


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:02.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Page generated in 0.04114 seconds with 11 queries