English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (https://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   Retrogaming General Discussion (https://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   The Lost Vikings Video Posted (https://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=45239)

mattbarton.exe 05 June 2009 04:04

The Lost Vikings Video Posted

Hi, Amigans! I thought you might be interested in my recent video on The Lost Vikings:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hR4zZ2iaqyQ

I'm planning to cover games for the PLATO system this weekend. I hope it'll go smoothly; I'm not an expert on the system but it's so historically interesting I can't help but try. :D

P.S. I'm psyched now because Slashdot published a review of our Vintage Games book:
http://books.slashdot.org/story/09/0.../Vintage-Games

laffer 05 June 2009 07:44

Great review of an awesome game. As I already commented, it's just too bad it never had an AGA version.

Looking forward to your future reviews.

TCD 05 June 2009 07:54

Already watched it last weekend and have to say that your reviews are steadily improving Matt :great Keep it up :)
P.S. : I think I've never seen anything from the PLATO, so really looking forward to that.

Shoonay 05 June 2009 13:40

Wow, one of my all time favorite puzzle adventure platformers :)
Thanks Matt, nice review!

Galahad/FLT 05 June 2009 14:28

It was nice that the original team did the Amiga version, but I have no clue why its not in 50frames and why there is no backgrounds?!?

Even the CD32 version is simply a port of the A500 version... just lazy programming.

mattbarton.exe 05 June 2009 20:03

Wow, doing the Plato one has been very difficult! Those games are about as user friendly as a porcupine whose entire family was killed by an evil balloon and is now hellbent on vengeance. I hope I'll be able to do them at least partial justice; boy, those old-time coders really expected you to know a helluva lot before you could play their games.

Ironclaw 05 June 2009 21:12