English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   project.WHDLoad (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=63)
-   -   Strange problem using WHDLoad on compact flash IDE hard drive (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=46526)

RAMpack 03 August 2009 00:18

Strange problem using WHDLoad on compact flash IDE hard drive
 
My system is my ancient and well used A1200 with 3.0 39.106 ROMS, 2MB Chip 4MB Fast, using a 4GB Compact Flash with CF to IDE adapter from AmigaKit UK.
The OS is Bloodwych's ClassicWB LITE (WB3.0) with registered WHDLoad. (Thanks Bloodwych and WHDLoad and WinUAE boffins, you guys are immortals :agree)

I get the invalid kickstart message for some AGA games (like Deluxe Galaga AGA). but not all AGA games:
In my real Amiga, and also with my CF hard drive plugged into WinUAE.
But if I change WinUAE and set the HD Controller to UAE, I get no errors and it all works. So, how on earth can I make it work with my real amiga?

Notes: On my real amiga I am unable to access DH0: using ClassicWB's maxmem bootup / gamesmenu, but there is no such problem in WinUAE with the same drive using UAE or IDE0 HD controller and ROM 3.0.

I have tried going into HDToolbox / Partition Drive / Advanced / and setting maxtransfer to 0x1ef0000, this doesn't seem to solve anything (unless I'm doing it wrong).

I just can't puzzle it out! any ideas? :help

RAMpack 03 August 2009 00:55

Installing IDEFix97 Demo made the WHDLoad problem go away. I don't know why I need it but it seems that I do. Google helped a bit ;)

RAMpack 03 August 2009 01:50

Although the WHDLoad issue is resolved and this thread now belongs in the hardware section, could anyone give me a clue about how to get RADboot gamesmenu in ClassicWB to recognise DH0? I'd appreciate that, also I forgot to say HELLO to my fellow amiga fans so HELLO! :spin:crazy:spin

thomas 03 August 2009 08:52

Quote:

Originally Posted by RAMpack (Post 579812)
I have tried going into HDToolbox / Partition Drive / Advanced / and setting maxtransfer to 0x1ef0000, this doesn't seem to solve anything (unless I'm doing it wrong).

The correct value is 0x1fe00. 255 blocks of 512 bytes, converted to hexadecimal.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:24.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Page generated in 0.03965 seconds with 11 queries