English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   project.WHDLoad (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=63)
-   -   Fantastic Dizzy AGA WHDLoad version (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=95588)

Solo Kazuki 24 December 2018 14:59

Fantastic Dizzy AGA WHDLoad version
 
What about WHDLoad version of Fantastic Dizzy AGA?

Game is fully DOS, HD installable and working well. Only problem is possibility save to RAM, not on disk. So real purpose of this version is redirecting save to HD.

jotd 24 December 2018 19:00

yeah why not? didn't know it existed. Zone images?

Solo Kazuki 24 December 2018 19:08

Zoned

jotd 13 January 2019 16:41

game running under whdload here. Game already ran perfectly from DOS (thanks to some fine system-friendly coding) so I have adapted it for joypad controls, added trainer & currently adding savegames on disk :)

Solo Kazuki 13 January 2019 16:58

I just thinking about proposition of jump on button... ;)

Thanks for info, waiting for save on HD option. It's almost completely useless with saving to RAM.

Edit: My proposition is to disable some options (e.g. saving) when trainer is used.

jotd 13 January 2019 21:04

jump on button, yes. Why not. I didn't do this but it's doable (with an option)

And disable save when trainer is used could be done but when you have the trainer, you can complete the game right? no need to save, then.

About saving to RAM the authors claim that they didn't do a "save to disk" feature for schedule reasons and also because they could not use ASL/REQ libraries (legal reasons).
So reinstating a proper save from whdload will do this great-looking game justice.

Solo Kazuki 20 January 2019 09:57

I just tested WHDLoad installer. All is working well, thank You very much.

The one thing, if you want full joypad control, is lack of control of load/save via joypad. You need to use keyboard but it's not a problem at all for me.

jotd 20 January 2019 10:19

that would be a nice improvement to make on the generic "savegame.s" source by Bert. But it would require to emulate the keyboard and all... darn tedious.

using the keyboard allows to enter meaningful names for save points.

Solo Kazuki 20 January 2019 20:15

I just tested SUB code (subgames), and blue/2nd button as jump doesn't work in Zaks Tower.

Edit: In readme is "Fantastic World Dizzy AGA"

This install applies to "Fantastic World Dizzy AGA" © 1994 Codemasters/Purple Haze, 2 disks.
This install applies to "Fantastic Dizzy" © 1993 Codemasters/Purple Haze, 2 disks.

I know it's "second title", but not used anywhere.

jotd 20 January 2019 21:14

normal as this isn't tested. When do you have to type "SUB" exactly?

You mean it must be "Fantastic Dizzy AGA" right?

Solo Kazuki 20 January 2019 21:45

It's from readme: On title screen hold [Left Shift] and also hold buttons "S", "U" and "B". Menu with subgames will appear, take Zaks Tower.

Yes, it should be just "Fantastic Dizzy AGA"

Solo Kazuki 25 January 2019 08:42

@JOTD

Little correction. Second (full) name of game is "Fantastic Adventures of Dizzy", not "Fantastic World Dizzy". Moreover, it can be mistaken with "Fantasy World Dizzy".

About solution, i prefer using this one, which is not "point to point", but just explains items.

http://www.samsolutions.co.uk/dizzy/hints/fan-walk.htm

Maybe You can also add this one, which is not forcing what to do, e.g. You can finish almost all riddles in three village (except one elevator key and matches) before wandering elsewhere.

Edit: Some kind of bugreport, but probably it's fault of game itself. Sometimes when You load game, music is not played. You must enter somewhere else with different tune to listen music again.

Edit+: Same is when you enter to menu (ESC). It could be taht it's only in city / road to city where is same music as in game menu (ESC). Music is switched normally to proper one, but ther is switched off completely.

neoman 22 April 2020 00:52

I also played that game today on my Amiga 4000 but I have some music bugs. Like some module channels play way too fast and even a bit irregular.

Then I downloaded the ADF files and installed it manually on my HD to run it without WHDLoad but I get the same glitches.

Any idea what happens here? Since it also happens with the ADF files it doesn't seem to be WHDLoad specific.

jotd 22 April 2020 09:53

1 Attachment(s)
I'll have a look, probably wrong DMACON wait. Next time you can create a bug on mantis.whdload.de (no need for this time)

I made a change can you test? Attachment 66987

(I have aggressive WinUAE settings to detect faulty music and didn't hear anything unusual here but it's sure that game doesn't wait after dma has been written to stop sound so...)

neoman 22 April 2020 22:38

@jotd wow that was fast :)

It's really better in the title screen now but ingame there's still an issue: The music doesn't play too fast but, in the house where you start, you hear very short samples and clicks of the lead instrument. When I compare that to some Longplay of Fantastic Dizzy (but I think all the Longplays on YouTube are ECS) I can't hear that.

Are there maybe more places to fix?

neoman 22 April 2020 22:43

Or when you leave the door of the house, go right, go downstairs and to the left and even more downstairs the pitch of the samples is completely wrong.

neoman 24 April 2020 19:32

@jotd this is the mantis ticket: https://mantis.whdload.de/view.php?id=4553


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:49.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Page generated in 0.07472 seconds with 11 queries