English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   support.Hardware (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=20)
-   -   Use of 4MB PCMCIA Fast Flash Memory as Fast RAM in A1200 (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=46656)

nkarytia 10 August 2009 12:23

Use of 4MB PCMCIA Fast Flash Memory as Fast RAM in A1200
 
I have made a mistake and bought this 4MB PCMCIA Fast Flash Memory from ebay. Can it be configured for use as fast RAM by the A1200?

musashi5150 10 August 2009 12:52

No, I don't think so.

alexh 10 August 2009 13:34

Nope, only as a hard drive.

nkarytia 10 August 2009 13:55

damn! yet another piece of junk for my collection :(

alexh 10 August 2009 14:29

If you're looking in the future, it has to say SRAM and will usually have a coin type battery in an accessible compartment.

Hope you didnt pay too much.

See if you can return it. Look for any anomaly on the advert, anything that would result in you being able to return it.

DDNI 16 September 2011 13:17

Quote:

Originally Posted by alexh (Post 582207)
Nope, only as a hard drive.

How do you set up a flash memory card as hard drive in an A1200? Prepcard does not work.

Jope 16 September 2011 13:25

Get cfd.lha and optionally fat95 if you want to keep it fat32 formatted.

DDNI 16 September 2011 14:24

I installed compactflash.device into devs. The card is not seen by the amiga.
The card is a 2mb FLASH PCMCIA card.
Am a bit lost to be honest.

Jope 16 September 2011 14:27

Did you create a mountlist for your card? It won't be seen unless you tell the computer what size it is (cylinders heads sectors) and tell the computer to use your new compactflash.device.

DDNI 16 September 2011 14:31

aaaarghhh mountlists??? block sizes??? how do I do that??

I know where mont lists live on the sysyem. Just not sure how to build one! Can I edit one that is in the fat95 archive?

Allen1 16 September 2011 14:37

Quote:

Originally Posted by DDNI (Post 777222)
I installed compactflash.device into devs. The card is not seen by the amiga.
The card is a 2mb FLASH PCMCIA card.
Am a bit lost to be honest.

Some PCMCIA flash cards are not usable on the Amiga, I tried a few over a year ago and posted the results here. The cards work brilliantly on laptops though, so its just the way the Amiga hardware reads and uses the connections that is a problem.


http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=626361&postcount=14


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:22.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Page generated in 0.04184 seconds with 11 queries