English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   support.Hardware (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=20)
-   -   Using a Compact Flash card on a600/a1200 IDE (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=25274)

Zetr0 01 May 2007 16:47

@merlin
Heys buddy!

I have been some what busy of l8 m8 and totaly forgot... read your PM :)

Merlin 01 May 2007 21:28

Reply sent :D

TheBoss 11 May 2007 13:42

I need some help guys, I have finally all the bits for ditching the old IDE drive to a CF/IDE solution.
http://img72.imageshack.us/img72/1267/cf44pinrm9.th.jpg

I have made a setup of WB 3.1 in WinUAE, transfered it over to the CF Card using my laptop, ran the CF card directly in WinUAE as a harddisk, boots perfectly but when installing it onto my CD32 (SX32 Pro), the HD is not detected at all, tried both with master/slave configs...anyone know whats up? :/ :confused

The CF/IDE adapter was ordered from hongkong:
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/IDE-to-CF-Comp...QQcmdZViewItem

TheBoss 11 May 2007 14:41

Forgot to mention when the CD32 is turned on, the CF/IDE adapter shows a red light for a short time then turns off and nothing happens except the default CD32 boot logo.

Zetr0 11 May 2007 16:19

Heys buddy,

It sounds like a fault with your adapter, I have a spare i can send you to test (this works on my a1200 with a 44pin to 40 pin ide lead *easy to make* )

just PM me :) and we can sort it out m8y..

TheBoss 11 May 2007 19:52

Thx for the offer and yes it seems its the adapter which is funky but at least thats the cheap part so no big loss. I have just ordered 2 new ones from ebest24 since they where cheap so guess I will have to wait until next week to continue :)

Zetr0 12 May 2007 03:38

okies Boss,

Best of luck!

_ThEcRoW 15 May 2007 05:03

Just a easy question: is possible to use one of these ide card readers for pc's that read multiple types of card? It could be interesting not to stuck only to cf and be able to use sd and the others.
Thams in advance!!!!

Chain 15 May 2007 11:26

Quote:

Originally Posted by TheBoss
Thx for the offer and yes it seems its the adapter which is funky but at least thats the cheap part so no big loss. I have just ordered 2 new ones from ebest24 since they where cheap so guess I will have to wait until next week to continue :)

im using same adapter in sx1 and couple of other miggys.
sometime those cheapy little craps didnt worn due to bad soldering. look carefully between borh connectors, there is sometime bad joints or shorts. grab a sharp needle and voila, it works :)

TheBoss 15 May 2007 12:54

Interesting Chain so the adapter should work alright. I have tried what you suggested but cant make it work yet. In anycase I have just emailed seller about the problem so with a bit of luck I might get him to send me a replacement.

Edit: Whatever it was, I got it to work with the adapter finally so all is fine :)

wanderlead 29 May 2007 03:22

help please : A1200 2GB CF & internal IDE adaptor
 
Hi Folks

perhaps someone can give a hint of an idea to sort this one

Basically an A1200, Apollo pcmcia friendly 68030, 32mb accelerator

i have used 3 CF cards of various sizes successfully since 2005 and have had basic workbench 3.1, classicwb, OS3.5, OS3.9 & amigasys all running superbly




my problem is........

i am trying to connect a laptop dvd/cdrw to the miggy and eventually build it into the a1200 casing

when using my 4gb laptop hard drive (instead of CF) it is detected as a cd.device, unit 0 and perfectly useable and handy for the adf transfers etc etc

when used with CF adaptor however..... dialog comes on at boot time...unable to mount cd.device etc etc

it is as though the signal is being terminated by the CF 2 IDE adaptor BEFORE it gets to the dvd drive (when using a single ribbon cable)

have also used 2 different IDEFIX adaptors and separate ribbons......no luck either, and same problem

any ideas would be welcome ???


BTW

many thanks for the inspiration goes to PPIL for this easy and working solution to CF PCMCIA booting....wooohooo you are a genius

http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=306788&postcount=46


and also to:

Zetr0 for his article on a slimline DVD drive fitted INSIDE his A600



Richard

cv643d 29 May 2007 22:07

I have a CF-IDE adapter that does not work on my Amiga even if I remove the CF card from it and have a HD on first IDE port and the CF adapter on the second IDE cable on the second IDE port. Which is a bit odd since I thought the CF adapter was a passive component.

Anyway, I will probably wire up one myself since the schematics can be found on the net, to bad I wasted 15 euro on this one though :(

ppill 30 May 2007 00:11

Quote:

Originally Posted by wanderlead
many thanks for the inspiration goes to PPIL for this easy and working solution to CF PCMCIA booting....wooohooo you are a genius
http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=306788&postcount=46

Thanks for the kind words. Nice to hear that someone finds these setups useful.
You can also check out this thread for tips on creating a real amiga partition on a CF card connected via a PCMCIA adapter. It's faster than the HDF method but slightly more difficult to set up.

Zetr0 30 May 2007 01:06

@wanderlead

Welcome to the EAB, I am glad that you are liking it here :)

I totaly agree ppil is a Classic Workbench Hero! :D, and i look forward to configuring a CF card soon :D

Thanks for the Kudos btw :) I realy enjoyed building the a600, wich indeed was an omarge to another forum member here (Smiley) whom did it first.

I got lucky and helped out by al lot of other forum members here but a big thanks to Lopos2000 and in a way its also thank you to EAB :) for its continual inspiration!

(wait till you see the next project - its awsome!)

anyway to the crux of your problem...

I believe that you are suffering from a device confusion bewteen the hard disk (CF-IDE) and the SFF ROM,

okay there are a couple of possible solutions you could try,

depending on both the CF-IDE apater and the JAE adapter there exists positions to configure them as CS or Cable Select. This would allow the limmited intelegence of the Amiga IDE to configure the devices by thier circuitry.

If this is not able to be done, you may need to invest £12 in a buffered IDE interface and use the secondary channel for the ROM, I would recomend this method evertime as it really does make things both easy and improves performance.

dkovacs 05 June 2007 00:27

I got my internal CF-IDE adaptor off of ebay for like $7.00. Works great. Now, I don't see that much of a speed increase between the hard drive and the CF card. I'm running an A1200 with a DKB cobra 68030 28Mhz.

BippyM 05 June 2007 18:38

can someone explain what this is pls.. does it allow connection of a HD in the pcmcia port or does it allow pcmcia cards to be connected to the ide interface?

I'm a little lost, and fancy looking into this

Zetr0 05 June 2007 20:14

@bippym
there are two methods being discussed here, the PCMCIA version that converts the CF card to be used as a Hard disk via the PCMCIA port.

The other method converts the CF type 2 to an IDE device. thusly the IDE port can then use the CF cards as a native IDE hard drive.

There are pro's and cons to this method but the main point is that the PCMCIA method doesnt auto-boot like the IDE method.

hope that helps m8y.

BippyM 05 June 2007 20:18

hmmm i wanna use the type2 method as I want to have an internal hd that is super quiet, and doesn't munch power :D

cv643d 05 June 2007 21:49

I have some trouble again with my CF setup, any help with troubleshooting would be great!

I have this CF converter ->
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/NEW-DUAL-Compa...QQcmdZViewItem

And this CF card: TwinMOS Ultra-X 140X 1GB, the card has been confirmed working with a CF adapter and A1200 in this thread.

I have an A1200 with BPPC/BVision, IDEFix.

On one channel I have my 3.5 harddrive on the second channel I have the CF adapter and computer will not boot. I take out the CF card and the computer will still not boot. Tried the slave/master jumper and setting the CF card in the second CF slot but no progress.

I also tried no HD and CF-converter alone and booting from a floppy with HDtoolbox. Then the computer boots fine but HDtoolbox does not find any "harddrives". So do you think the CF-adapter is broken or not functioning with the A1200? How can you know for sure if an adapter will work with the A1200 ?

amigarobbo 17 June 2007 11:32

Would something like this

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/bootable-Femal...QQcmdZViewItem

work? as in just plug it straight into the A1200/600 Motherboard?


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:43.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Page generated in 0.06896 seconds with 11 queries