English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   support.Hardware (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=20)
-   -   External Gotek (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=87299)

toples50 25 May 2017 19:47

External Gotek
 
I've got an external Gotek(as DF1) but can't run most games/demos in an A600.If I exchange the internal floppy with an internal Gotek I will be able to play most games and demos?

Akira 25 May 2017 19:50

Yes. Most software is hardwired to run from the internal device (DF0).
You might need to change a jumper to DS0 in your Gotek if it has been changed to DS1.

You still won't be able to play the software that is incompatible with Goteks (like some multidisk stuff)

toples50 25 May 2017 20:10

So an internal Gotek its a better option.

demolition 25 May 2017 23:10

It is possible to change the external drive to become DF0, however this is tricky on a 600. Much easier on a 500.

toples50 26 May 2017 13:55

Another question...Is it possible to buy an internal Gotek model that fits exactly into the place of the floppy of an A500+ or have to cut the plastic?

demolition 26 May 2017 14:05

Kipper2k made one that can be installed without cutting into the case:
http://www.kipper2k.com/intlgotek.html

KONEY 26 May 2017 15:33

I modded an A500 1.3 to work with an external Gotek. It was as easy as bend two CIA pins and route one of them where the other one was. Happy to share more infos, if you want to give a try.

demolition 26 May 2017 15:58

And if you don't like modding your Amiga in any way, then ACA500plus can also perform this trick of making the external drive become DF0, so you can use an external floppy emulator for all games which would normally only work in the internal drive.

KONEY 26 May 2017 16:23

Also you can fit a bootselector, which essentially is the CIA mod on a removable socket and with a switch.

Jope 26 May 2017 16:59

There are 3d printable holders for a decased gotek around these days. I strongly recommend modifying the gotek instead of hacksawing the amiga case. :-)

EzdineG 26 May 2017 18:20

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jope (Post 1160685)
There are 3d printable holders for a decased gotek around these days. I strongly recommend modifying the gotek instead of hacksawing the amiga case. :-)



Do you have any experience with third party 3D printing services that would do it at a reasonable cost? I've looked up a few, and it's always ~$50 for a printed Gotek case.

I'm not too familiar with the true costs of 3D printing, but they all seem a bit high. Maybe I just need to wait a few years ;)

Jope 26 May 2017 18:21

I haven't tried them myself, as I'm in the privileged position of having friends who own printers, so I can get these done for a much lower price.

Akira 26 May 2017 19:50

To be clear, you don't necessarily need a case, but an attaching mechanism.

Here is one for the A600:
https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:2000074

Gordon 18 August 2018 15:22

If I unplug an internal floppy from a600 and plug gotek in external port, will it be seen as DF0?

demolition 18 August 2018 15:24

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gordon (Post 1262113)
If I unplug an internal floppy from a600 and plug gotek in external port, will it be seen as DF0?

No, unless you modify your Amiga the first external drive will always be DF1.

Gordon 18 August 2018 18:26

Thank you for answering

lesta_smsc 05 November 2018 01:31

Quote:

Originally Posted by Akira (Post 1160716)
To be clear, you don't necessarily need a case, but an attaching mechanism.

Here is one for the A600:
https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:2000074

Just took a look at this users select of 3D prints, pretty impressive what can be made! Even the trapdoor cover for A500 lol.

Might have to look at getting some of these printed, not sure if cost-wise it would make sense to buy an original product off eBay?

Vypr 05 November 2018 12:16

Quote:

Originally Posted by EzdineG (Post 1160699)
Do you have any experience with third party 3D printing services that would do it at a reasonable cost? I've looked up a few, and it's always ~$50 for a printed Gotek case.

I'm not too familiar with the true costs of 3D printing, but they all seem a bit high. Maybe I just need to wait a few years ;)

I got a cheap(ish) 3d Pritner myself and usually print them off for around £10, it's not the material that's expensive, it's the time, 3d Printers are not very fast, it takes my printer 2-3 hours to print off a Gotek case.

EzdineG 05 November 2018 18:59

Quote:

Originally Posted by Vypr (Post 1282681)
I got a cheap(ish) 3d Pritner myself and usually print them off for around £10, it's not the material that's expensive, it's the time, 3d Printers are not very fast, it takes my printer 2-3 hours to print off a Gotek case.

I eventually picked up one of these:
https://www.ebay.com/itm/Anet-A8-3D-...frcectupt=true


I've since printed everything from Gotek mounts to C64 cartridges. It isn't very expensive, but the time investment is high. Granted, it's a cheap printer so the level of difficulty getting good prints is probably higher than most. Just calibrating this thing is more than most people would probably be up for.

wizard1 06 November 2018 17:22

Hi All, sorry if this is the wrong place or the wrong way, but I did`nt know where else, so I searched "Gotek" and ended up here, anyway here goes:Just received my new USB Gotek. I have a question I`m hoping someone out there might be able to help with?. I have the external adapter version. The ribbon cable is wired to the pcb with the red strand on pin 34?, the other end if you following the keying notch puts the red strand on pin 1?, is this correct?. If I reverse the Gotek end of the cable to make it right, then the Gotek is upside down when connected?.

Cheers

UPDATE: All sorted, up and running


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:42.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Page generated in 0.04298 seconds with 11 queries