English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   Retrogaming General Discussion (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   DOOM - First person hit on the Commodore VIC-20 / Commodore VC-20 (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=77446)

Neil79 16 March 2015 13:47

DOOM - First person hit on the Commodore VIC-20 / Commodore VC-20
 
1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

There has been a lot of impressive features on classic computers lately, such as Dragons Lair Laserdisc on the C64 and ZX81. But today we are going to go one step further and mention id's first person hit of DOOM, which also made an unofficial appearance on the Commodore Vic-20 / Commodore VC-20.
http://www.indieretronews.com/2015/0...odore-vic.html

gimbal 16 March 2015 14:45

Yeah so basically it is Doom reverted back to Wolfenstein 3D :) Impressive but it is not Doom.

Neil79 16 March 2015 15:10

Gimbal, always trying to be positive but being slightly negative at the same time :nuts

s2325 16 March 2015 15:12

It's like Duke Nukem 3D from TecToy for Mega Drive.

gimbal 16 March 2015 15:29

Quote:

Originally Posted by Neil79 (Post 1010050)
Gimbal, always trying to be positive but being slightly negative at the same time :nuts

You can put it in terms of positive and negative, but the truth is that I'm just realistic.

Mrs Beanbag 16 March 2015 15:36

there is nothing "realistic" about whether a game is Doom or not, that is purely subjective

TCD 16 March 2015 17:22

Er... if a game is Doom or not isn't subjective. They removed everything that was different from Wolfenstein from this 'port', so while it is Doom in name it simply isn't the same game.

Anubis 16 March 2015 17:57

http://i.stack.imgur.com/jiFfM.jpg

Hewitson 17 March 2015 12:46

https://aewlabode.files.wordpress.co...11-640-387.jpg

B14ck W01f 18 March 2015 02:41

Yeah, any idiot can make up those kind of posters if he/she wants to. :)

NovaCoder 18 March 2015 05:11

Yes these kinds or 'ports' make me laugh, there was also a port to the Spectrum that was an even bigger stretch of the imagination ;)

My idea of a port is something that is based on the original game's engine or at the least uses the original game data.

This kind of thing is very impressive but it's 'inspired by' the DOOM and not what I'd call an actual port of the DOOM.

Arnie 18 March 2015 06:20

If I'd never played Doom I wouldn't know where to go with this port, the graphics are psychedelic.

saimon69 18 March 2015 09:09

@novacoder
Actually the Spectrum (demo) Version had at least a catchy music and an almost fullscreen mode :)

roy bates 18 March 2015 19:58

dont know what everyone is expecting from a vic20 with these sort of limitations.


just saying...

Shoonay 18 March 2015 20:34

https://i.imgur.com/3TwepKC.jpg

arti 18 March 2015 22:23

There is real doom port to C 64. It's done by Amidog, former Amiga developer (he ported psx emulator to 68k) It works on expanded 64 equipped with SuperCPU processor clocked at 20MHz and 16MB address space.

http://scpu.amidog.se/doku.php?id=scpu:doom

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G0ct1PjBvMs

TCD 18 March 2015 22:42

Quote:

Originally Posted by arti (Post 1010491)
There is real doom port to C 64

Yep, that's a port. A horrible unplayable one, but at least it's a port ;)

arti 18 March 2015 23:04

Those looks more playable :)

STRay: Hybrid Wolf3D / Doom engine on Atari STE 8MHz

Quake 1/2 tech demo on stock Atari 16MHz

NovaCoder 18 March 2015 23:31

Quote:

Originally Posted by arti (Post 1010491)
There is real doom port to C 64. It's done by Amidog, former Amiga developer (he ported psx emulator to 68k) It works on expanded 64 equipped with SuperCPU processor clocked at 20MHz and 16MB address space.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G0ct1PjBvMs

Yes this one is at least a real port of DOOM :p

Runs about 3 frames a second but still very cool to see ;)

The Quake 1/2 render demo on the Falcon was very impressive but it was just a tech demo, not the full game.

TCD 18 March 2015 23:34

Quote:

Originally Posted by arti (Post 1010498)

A lot of the 'scenes' are from Quake. Not actually sure what that is supposed to show :confused


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:27.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Page generated in 0.06550 seconds with 11 queries