English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   project.CD32 Conversion (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=127)
-   -   Unofficial CDTV Conversion Thread (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=97961)

jotd 07 July 2019 11:41

Titus the fox: bingo (from whdload source):

Code:

        PL_B        $CD00-$32D0,$60        ; skip protection test
        PL_W        $CD00-$32D0-50,$6004        ; skip disk hw access

As you see, you can skip the protection with a single BRA, but if crackers didn't disable disk access, it can stay stuck unless 2 separate fixes are performed. Not a problem if a floppy is in the drive (you can test it with the emulator: insert any disk in DF0 that will probably start)

Please zone the distros you have issues with. I'll fix the relevant files if I can and will send back. I'm able to create CD32/CDTV images myself, don't worry.

Amigajay 07 July 2019 12:26

Quote:

Originally Posted by jotd (Post 1331088)

Please zone the distros you have issues with. I'll fix the relevant files if I can and will send back. I'm able to create CD32/CDTV images myself, don't worry.

Good stuff thanks! I have zoned it.

Forget PGA, i found out if you just select cancel on the selector the game carries on and just says you cant save.

jotd 07 July 2019 13:54

I've zoned the main exe of Titus with proper fixes. Your version looked like original uncracked, but there's was disk check that needed removal...

Amigajay 07 July 2019 16:10

Quote:

Originally Posted by jotd (Post 1331101)
I've zoned the main exe of Titus with proper fixes. Your version looked like original uncracked, but there's was disk check that needed removal...

Thanks JOTD, i did use whdload and cracked versions but was getting the same result anyway upto that point, thanks will check it out later.

jotd 07 July 2019 17:58

whdload versions rely on original versions. The crack is done on the fly. That explains it

Amigajay 07 July 2019 21:17

Well it got further! It now stops on the title screen with the 1-start 2-pw option, but no key or button press does anything. Does the game need any other assigns?

jotd 08 July 2019 00:08

no. And from hard drive it runs perfectly on A600 config with 1MB. Just tested it and worked. Would be a pity if the CD drive took extra memory.

In the menu do you have music? I have music, and when I press "1" the music fades and the game starts. You can try it yourself with a hard drive mode.

Amigajay 08 July 2019 00:40

Quote:

Originally Posted by jotd (Post 1331231)
no. And from hard drive it runs perfectly on A600 config with 1MB. Just tested it and worked. Would be a pity if the CD drive took extra memory.

In the menu do you have music? I have music, and when I press "1" the music fades and the game starts. You can try it yourself with a hard drive mode.

I’ve shut down for tonight so cant test, but i do test everything that doesnt load with more memory just to see if it needs it, so it would be the same with 2mb on my setup, and no there is no music either, take an age to get to the title screen too...but will try again tomorrow and see if i missed anything.

jotd 08 July 2019 10:11

Disk I/O on the original version is horribly slow. Remember how much time it took to load a level from floppy already...

If you can share the CDTV image you created too...

Amigajay 08 July 2019 12:10

Quote:

Originally Posted by jotd (Post 1331275)
Disk I/O on the original version is horribly slow. Remember how much time it took to load a level from floppy already...

If you can share the CDTV image you created too...

In the zone :great

Retro1234 08 July 2019 12:58

I tried a crack of Titus the Fox Assign Df0: Dismount etc work under kick 2.x+ but not kick 1.3

jotd 08 July 2019 15:50

Assign DF0 doesn't work on 1.3.

anyway, not needed here. Works fine from hard drive but from CD (CDTV or CD32). Looks like the CD load mechanism is shut down too soon and the level 2 interrupts conflicts with the game.

I have tried CDTV & CD32 configurations, it locks up. On CD32 it locks up while loading game (menu was OK). On CD32 the easy solution would be to copy all files to RAM then run from there since there's 2MB chip.

Problem is that game is system friendly at times, but not always. It hijacks level 2 interrupt (used for keyboard and for CD accesses) but it redirects it to ROM anyway so it's strange that it doesn't work as ROM should handle the issue.

On CDTV, it would require to stop CD interrupts after loading a file. This would require a better hack. Or a delay after each disk access so the controller can shut down properly... And the game is so slow loading already...

Plus I don't know how to handle CD interrupts from CDTV (I know how to do on CD32)

Amigajay 08 July 2019 16:01

Ok thanks for trying JOTD, there’s no point spending too much trouble and time on a single game if it won’t load without too much issue’s.

Edit: Monday’s games added.

Retro1234 08 July 2019 22:15

Sorry to keep you off-topic but is this freeze anything to do with the Music playing on the Menu?
Because some games like LionHeart and others from CD I found similar problem but when I removed music file they didn't freeze.

jotd 08 July 2019 23:15

Retro1234 the freeze is repeated level 2 interrupt coming from CD drive. Game doesn't expect such interrupts and doesn't handle them. The only way is to feed the interrupt to the OS, all the time (Titus the fox does it, but not all the time, and that's the problem). Some music players are also using level 2 interrupt for CIA timers. In your case, maybe not playing the music means no level 2 interrupt hack... but I can't be sure.

jotd 09 July 2019 00:29

yesss! my fix worked. Find the "main.zip" archive of Titus the fox "main" in the zone:

- cracked
- disk check removed
- level 2 interrupts ALWAYS redirected to ROM level 2 interrupts so CD interrupts are properly handled

this third part allows to avoid continuous level 2 lockups. I have built a CDTV iso with that & your iso and it works in WinUAE with CDTV bare setup (Loading is still slow).

I suppose it'll work with CD32 but needs keyboard to press 1 & passwords...

Retro1234 09 July 2019 00:37

Well done maybe this is required for LionHeart and other games.

Amigajay 09 July 2019 14:28

Quote:

Originally Posted by jotd (Post 1331446)
yesss! my fix worked. Find the "main.zip" archive of Titus the fox "main" in the zone:

- cracked
- disk check removed
- level 2 interrupts ALWAYS redirected to ROM level 2 interrupts so CD interrupts are properly handled

this third part allows to avoid continuous level 2 lockups. I have built a CDTV iso with that & your iso and it works in WinUAE with CDTV bare setup (Loading is still slow).

I suppose it'll work with CD32 but needs keyboard to press 1 & passwords...

Great job! Just rebuild and works! :great

Cheers for that!

Update - Tuesday games have been added to the first post.

jotd 09 July 2019 20:50

Amigajay you can PM me if you have trouble with other games.

Amigajay 10 July 2019 13:31

Quote:

Originally Posted by jotd (Post 1331626)
Amigajay you can PM me if you have trouble with other games.

Yep will do :great

Update - Added today's games.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:47.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Page generated in 0.04790 seconds with 11 queries