English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   support.WinUAE (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   Distorted sound with Vsync enabled... (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=48553)

PowerPie5000 04 November 2009 11:22

Distorted sound with Vsync enabled...
 
Hi everyone,

I've just started getting into Winuae again and i've noticed a sound issue whenever i run "Fullscreen+Vsync".... The sound starts to slightly distort and go a bit "crackly". I downloaded version 1.6.1 and have tried it with 3 totally different PC's running Windows 7 and XP but this issue is present on all systems. It's fine without Vsync enabled but why?

I've tried running Winuae using default A500 and A1200 configurations and have also deleted the default config file to start again from scratch with no success :sad

I don't ever remember this happening with older versions.... I don't understand why the sound would go bad by turning on Vsync? The PC's i tried it with are quite powerful and more than enough for any emulator and they all have different sound cards :confused Any help is appreciated, thanks :great

TCD 04 November 2009 11:28

Have a look here : http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=47456 and here : http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=40916
Turn on on-screen leds in the misc panel and look at the leftmost led. If it isn't going between -/+10 that's the problem then and increasing the priority of WinUAE might help.

PowerPie5000 04 November 2009 12:00

Thanks for the links :great I had a browse and found nothing that really helps :sad

I enabled the led's for fullscreen mode and the sound led goes blue when Vsync is enabled and reads around +93 and +97 :shocked but with Vsync disabled the sound led goes back to normal and reads between -02 and +03 (which is how it should be i guess?)

TCD 04 November 2009 12:07

Quote:

Originally Posted by PowerPie5000 (Post 612082)
I enabled the led's for fullscreen mode and the sound led goes blue when Vsync is enabled and reads around +93 and +97 :shocked but with Vsync disabled the sound led goes back to normal and reads between -02 and +03 (which is how it should be i guess?)

Yep -02 / +03 is how it should be and +93 / +97 is indeed the problem. Have you changed the priority to 'Above normal' and maybe you want to increase the sound buffer size to 3 or 4 (if it isn't already).

PowerPie5000 04 November 2009 12:20

Quote:

Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid (Post 612085)
Yep -02 / +03 is how it should be and +93 / +97 is indeed the problem. Have you changed the priority to 'Above normal' and maybe you want to increase the sound buffer size to 3 or 4 (if it isn't already).

I tried the sound buffer at 3 / 4 and set priority to "above normal" but it makes no difference :confused Maybe i should try an older version and see if the same thing happens? It can't be my actual PC as i've tried it with 3 different systems.

TCD 04 November 2009 12:29

Just tried it here and indeed the sound goes up to ~+90, but I get no distortion. You could try an older version (like mentioned in the threads) and see if it makes a difference. Hopefully Toni has an idea for you.

NewDeli 04 November 2009 12:47

It may simply mean that WinUAE tries to refresh your monitor accordingly to the Amiga PAL v. refresh rate, which at least indicates your PC gfx adapter (nvidia or ATi, btw ?) "takes its orders" properly.
Try setting a 5:4 proportional resolution, both in the fullscreen field of WinUAE and on your PC.
e.g. : 1280x1024
Also, try setting audio to enabled instead of enabled 100%. (momentarily, then revert it, 'cause it's not recommended to leave it to enabled).

Toni Wilen 04 November 2009 12:57

Standard vsync question: are you 100% sure your refresh rate is exactly what you asked? You won't always get what you ask..

PowerPie5000 04 November 2009 18:29

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toni Wilen (Post 612108)
Standard vsync question: are you 100% sure your refresh rate is exactly what you asked? You won't always get what you ask..

Ok i've just checked and my monitor refresh changes from 75hz to 60hz when i run any games through Winuae... I just assumed it would run at PAL 50hz :confused how can i change the refresh rate from within Winuae (if any of my monitors go that low?) Cheers :great

Retro-Nerd 04 November 2009 18:34

Use 100Hz, if you have any CRT monitor. For your LCD displays: If they don't support 50Hz (like some LCD TV displays) you have to live with it. Untick Vsync then.

PowerPie5000 04 November 2009 18:37

Ok i set the display to PAL 50hz from within Winuae but my monitor still displays the picture at 60hz? Maybe i will give it a go on the other systems.... They all use LCD screens so fingers crossed!

NewDeli 04 November 2009 19:07

There are certain settings in the drivers option of the gfx adapter which would allow more adjustability in this screen resizing / Vsync'ing field. That's why I asked about the brand.
e.g. : In the Catalyst CC, for vSync, I set Always, except if the application doesn't specify it, and its the GPU that should do the scaling...

cosmicfrog 05 November 2009 12:21

I resanltly found that my nividia card would let me define resolutions but still haven`t got one to work ay 50Hz stable with me monitor, though I`m still messing

PowerPie5000 05 November 2009 12:44

Well i tried Winuae with my other PC's but none of them will support a refresh rate lower than 60hz! Windows XP and Windows 7 will not go lower than 60hz and neither will my LCD screens :sad So i guess i'm stuffed for using fullscreen mode with Vsync enabled as it just makes the sound go all distorted :guru

Retro-Nerd 05 November 2009 12:48

Vsync also speeds up a PAL game about 20% (60 instead of 50 fps) if you run it in Vsync 60Hz. Turn it off.

PowerPie5000 05 November 2009 12:57

Quote:

Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd (Post 612580)
Vsync also speeds up a PAL game about 20% (60 instead of 50 fps) if you run it in Vsync 60Hz. Turn it off.

So basically i can never properly run Winuae in PAL 50hz mode :sad Do all the video filters still work with Vsync turned off? I cannot use Vsync in any mode due to it causing problems with the sound.... on all 3 PC's i've tried it with!!

EDIT: if i run in NTSC 60hz mode with Vsync enabled then the audio sounds clear but is too fast and with Vsync turned of i notice a bit of screen tearing :(

Retro-Nerd 05 November 2009 13:05

None of your displays supports 50Hz (checked your manuals?), you don't have a LCD TV?

PowerPie5000 05 November 2009 13:10

Quote:

Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd (Post 612593)
None of your displays supports 50Hz (checked your manuals?), you don't have a LCD TV?

The lowest they go seems to be 60hz.... and Windows XP + Windows 7 will not let me select anything lower than 60hz in the display control panel :sad

2 of the PC's i tried use ATI graphics cards and the other uses Intel graphics but i get the same result with all systems and they use different screens, sound cards and graphics chips etc...

PowerPie5000 05 November 2009 13:15

I just tried running Winuae in PAL 100hz mode and the sound led goes yellow and displays -99 :shocked (it sounds very bad!)

Retro-Nerd 05 November 2009 13:15

Windows/PC hardware isn't important. You could easily add a custom 50Hz refresh rate if one of your displays is capable. Mainly older monitors or LCD TVs supports a 50Hz mode. Newer LCDs even supports 100Hz as it seems.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:34.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Page generated in 0.04491 seconds with 11 queries