English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   support.Hardware (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=20)
-   -   TF534 and Buddha ide (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=98557)

Madk71 27 August 2019 00:23

Quote:

Originally Posted by captain_zzap (Post 1341418)
@Madk71
What kind do power supply do you use? Do your cf and sd adapters have power connectors or do they get their power from the ide cable and therefore from the 68k socket?
In other situations I had unreliable cfcards when powering them over the ide cable.

Hi captain_zzap, I got a fully refurbished PSU able of more than 180W with -5V and tick signal.

The power of the ide2CF and cdrom on the buddha comes from the PSU like the scsi2CF on the GVP. only the sd2ide use the power from the TF. all the system drain max 110W on 180W available.

Madk71 27 August 2019 00:28

Quote:

Originally Posted by McTrinsic (Post 1341425)
There are buffered IDE-Splitters that could help. Matze on a1k once made one.

Also you might try CF2SD-adapters. SDs are buffered afair.

Hi McTrinsic, I already use an sd2ide that is more or less the same.
If you mean to use the splitter on the TF, I don think that the TF can manage a splitter being not able to handle just 1 ide device properly.

Madk71 27 August 2019 00:38

Quote:

Originally Posted by Daedalus (Post 1341277)
Verilog can be powerful, yes, but also IDE is relatively simple, so there's really not a whole lot to implementing it like this. Most of the actual work is done by the main CPU and scsi.device - "all" the Verilog is doing is connecting the CPU to the IDE port at the right times and dealing with a couple of extra signals needed.

(I say "all", but as others have said, the really impressive bit is getting it all to play nicely with the Amiga's architecture.)

Hi Daedalus,
Interesting. So even a retouch on scsi.device can be a solution?
Or do you think that both needs a tune Fix?
A very complicated protocol like scsi works very well on this architecture, why a more simplified like ide can't? The buddha works just great without the TF, so it seems possible make it works in some way. This is what I don't understand.
I know too, that sometime Icomp create HW a little bit too sensible to the timing differences that can lead to problem like this. But I don't know what to think.

McTrinsic 27 August 2019 06:26

No I mean something like this:

https://www.a1k.org/forum/index.php?threads/60543/

Madk71 27 August 2019 09:01

Quote:

Originally Posted by McTrinsic (Post 1341464)

Hi McTrinsic, I never used this one but it seems to work like the Elbox one, (I am sure that Matze's buffered ide is better), but this one https://eu-shop.elbox.com/en_US/p/4x...-interface/632 work good on my A1200 but doesn't work on the TF.
You also can read this https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/forum/vi...hp?f=68&t=1839 . But I still don't understand why I need an eide splitter when the TF ide is the biggest problem. I opened this thread because I am not able to use the Buddha Ide card with the TF. I need to use the Buddha Ide because the ide on the TF is not reliable. Splitting an unreliable ide, it will give me 2 unreliable channel :).

McTrinsic 27 August 2019 17:40

TF534 and Buddha ide
 
I don’t know if a splitter always gives you a buffered interface. The Elbox one seems to indeed act as a buffer .

The point is the opportunity that with such a device the onboard solution of the Tf could work.

Making the issue with the Buddha irrelevant.

GadgetUK 27 August 2019 23:06

Quote:

Originally Posted by Madk71 (Post 1341475)
Hi McTrinsic, I never used this one but it seems to work like the Elbox one, (I am sure that Matze's buffered ide is better), but this one https://eu-shop.elbox.com/en_US/p/4x...-interface/632 work good on my A1200 but doesn't work on the TF.
You also can read this https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/forum/vi...hp?f=68&t=1839 . But I still don't understand why I need an eide splitter when the TF ide is the biggest problem. I opened this thread because I am not able to use the Buddha Ide card with the TF. I need to use the Buddha Ide because the ide on the TF is not reliable. Splitting an unreliable ide, it will give me 2 unreliable channel :).


Sorry to ask the obvious - but you have checked the MAXTRANSFER setting? Only reason I ask is because I've used loads of different CF cards with my 534 and every one is totally reliable.

Madk71 28 August 2019 08:06

Quote:

Originally Posted by GadgetUK (Post 1341649)
Sorry to ask the obvious - but you have checked the MAXTRANSFER setting? Only reason I ask is because I've used loads of different CF cards with my 534 and everyone one is totally reliable.

Hi GadgetUK, I am using the standard one from HDtoolbox of OS3.1.4.
Have you better results with a different setting? Can you suggest me which I can use?
With the standard settings I got a very good speed in reading, but when writings comes......slow like a tape.

Madk71 17 September 2019 09:17

Hi, if someone is interested, I have done some more tests about TF534 and buddhaide.
My config is an A2000 6.2 recapped with all the fix done, KS3.1.4 and AmigaOS3.1.4,GVP impact II 8MB with ide2scsi adapter and CF 16GB, gotek, Indivision ecs v2, tf534 with sd2ide and SD 32GB.
Because the ide on the TF, in my case, seems not 100% reliable, I tried to put a buddha ide into that configuration, but doesn't matter the zorro slot used or if I attach a real IDE hdd or CD or a very well working (on my A1200 or aca500plus) CF, the Buddha behave in a strange way making itself useless. Of course I tested the Buddha without the TF534 and it works great, and all the ide cables, when used, are not more than 25 cm. Because some other people seems to have the buddha working and the only difference with my configuration is just that they have the KS3.1, I decided to buy one and test it. Unfortunately, whit the KS3.1, the buddha ide works but not completely. The best that I aceived is that I can use only one port with only one device attached. The CF card worked fine, the dom was able to boot, but I can't have a master slave config on even a single ide port or 2 devices (one on the primary and one on the secondary). If I put an HDD or CF on one ide port and the dom on the other ide port, They works. If I put on one port an HDD or cf or anything else and on the other (because swapping the position of the ide device nothing chage) port another device or eve just the ide cable (this is the weirdest part), the amiga doesn't boot or if it boot it can find any device. SO, with the 3.1, for some reasons beyond my understanding, the buddha works at 30%.
I like to know the experience of the other people about that.

Thanks

GadgetUK 15 October 2019 16:00

Quote:

Originally Posted by Madk71 (Post 1346053)
Hi, if someone is interested, I have done some more tests about TF534 and buddhaide.
My config is an A2000 6.2 recapped with all the fix done, KS3.1.4 and AmigaOS3.1.4,GVP impact II 8MB with ide2scsi adapter and CF 16GB, gotek, Indivision ecs v2, tf534 with sd2ide and SD 32GB.
Because the ide on the TF, in my case, seems not 100% reliable, I tried to put a buddha ide into that configuration, but doesn't matter the zorro slot used or if I attach a real IDE hdd or CD or a very well working (on my A1200 or aca500plus) CF, the Buddha behave in a strange way making itself useless. Of course I tested the Buddha without the TF534 and it works great, and all the ide cables, when used, are not more than 25 cm. Because some other people seems to have the buddha working and the only difference with my configuration is just that they have the KS3.1, I decided to buy one and test it. Unfortunately, whit the KS3.1, the buddha ide works but not completely. The best that I aceived is that I can use only one port with only one device attached. The CF card worked fine, the dom was able to boot, but I can't have a master slave config on even a single ide port or 2 devices (one on the primary and one on the secondary). If I put an HDD or CF on one ide port and the dom on the other ide port, They works. If I put on one port an HDD or cf or anything else and on the other (because swapping the position of the ide device nothing chage) port another device or eve just the ide cable (this is the weirdest part), the amiga doesn't boot or if it boot it can find any device. SO, with the 3.1, for some reasons beyond my understanding, the buddha works at 30%.
I like to know the experience of the other people about that.

Thanks


You mentioned you've applied "all of the fixes" to your 6.2 board? NOTE: I've recently found that some of the boards for the A2000 don't like some of those mods that later boards had. For example, the instructions to remove one of the resistor arrays (near Gary) meant that the A2630 AND the A2091 would not work in my board, until I re-fitted that resistor array.


Next month I will get a BuddahIDE board and see how I get on with that. I can report that the A2091 causes my system to freeze on boot. If I remove the 534 it then starts scanning the SCSI chain properly.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:52.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Page generated in 0.04766 seconds with 11 queries