English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   support.Hardware (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=20)
-   -   Is it the capacitors???? (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=92573)

Eddie&Jo 23 May 2018 20:31

Is it the capacitors????
 
The problem is on wife's 1200 when we try to play a game (arcade pool) keyboard locks up and only CRTL A A works.. now its not the ACA1221EC because it is currently in my 1200 and Jo is playing Arcade pool (surprise surprise) :) it also does it if we put my non EC 1221 in her machine so would i be correct it saying it could be the small caps E121C E122C E123C & E125C on the back of the board causing the problem.


any thoughts people?


Regards
Eddie

supaduper 23 May 2018 20:52

If its a timing issue then there is no harm in taking off those caps.
I had a timing issue with my A1200 and an ACA accelerator once and took the caps off and it was sorted, the best test is to start `the `Mad Professor Mariarti` game and that will crash if you have timing issues

Eddie&Jo 23 May 2018 21:07

Thanks Supaduper will try it tonight on mine first then on jo's and report back (IF i can get her off Arcade Pool) :)

Eddie&Jo 24 May 2018 01:27

1 Attachment(s)
UPDATE: installed Mad Professor Mariati, it never "crashed" but keyboard stopped working, couldnt even use F10 to get back to workbench which is what happens to all games... also when I put my ACA1221 card back in mine and run Arcade Pool I now get this happen when loading players, but it works if I put Jo's card back in mine...

FOL 24 May 2018 10:44

Just seems strange crashing in exactly the same way.


Same board revs?
Exact same HDD (i.e. cloned) config?
Does every single key work in Early Startup menu?

Eddie&Jo 24 May 2018 15:37

Same CF Card, accelerator card(s), even tried swapping the keyboards over in case due to having replaced keyboard membrane in wife's... everything works fine until you go into WHDLoad! Thats when it plays up! Don't think the boards are same rev will check tonight.

does anyone know how much AmigaKit charge for a caps mod/fix? ;) as not comfortable with removing the E12xC capacitors as i don't have a steady hand when it comes to soldering.

The pic BTW is what NOW happens when i put my 1221 in mine and try to play Arcade Pool but it works fine on all other games wife's card in mine works with Arcade Pool (hope i haven't blown it with all the swapping over.

So at moment we have in my 1200: My case, board, CF IDE adapter & floppy, Jo's keyboard, ACA1221EC & CF Card and it is working fine. I'm stumped!!!


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:42.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Page generated in 0.04130 seconds with 11 queries