English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   Nostalgia & memories (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=18)
-   -   Bonus! Was sorting out all my game boxes... (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=8328)

Chris 20 January 2003 18:27

Bonus! Was sorting out all my game boxes...
 
...to send to Cody (if he still wants 'em) when I found an original working version of Batman the Movie packed inside another, previously un-opened box!

I've been trying to find a copy of the game for ages! :D

Anyway, just had to share that with someone. Thanks for listening. :)

CodyJarrett 20 January 2003 19:52

Re: Bonus! Was sorting out all my game boxes...
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Chris
...to send to Cody (if he still wants 'em)
That would be a 'yes'.

Chris 21 January 2003 09:48

Okay great.

I finished Batman last night too.

Another demon laid to rest.

Just need to find a copy of Shadow of the Beast now! *sigh*

the wolf 23 January 2003 00:32

Huh?
Someone is searching an original box of SOTB 1?
I've got it! And the T-shirt, too!
But I'll never give it to anyone, you poor mortals! :lol

Twistin'Ghost 23 January 2003 00:52

Quote:

Originally posted by the wolf
Huh?
Someone is searching an original box of SOTB 1?
I've got it! And the T-shirt, too!
But I'll never give it to anyone, you poor mortals! :lol

How about a nice digicam image of the shirt in all its glory?

the wolf 23 January 2003 01:26

1 Attachment(s)
No digicam, but... here's!
(Taken from a tribute web site)

Twistin'Ghost 23 January 2003 02:12

Oh, I have seen the shirt...I was just thinking it would be a nice misc shot for the Shadow of the Beast page on HOL...

the wolf 23 January 2003 11:31

Ok, this could be a nice idea, but I don't know if there's some kind of copyright on the image, however, here's the link:

http://home.t-online.de/home/dex.ter/intro.htm

you'll find a slightly better picture of this (among with the screenshot of boxes!) in the collection section!

Bye!

Chris 23 January 2003 12:18

I'm not bothered about the box, or the t-shirt, or even the *cough* authenticity of the game, I just want to play it again!

The atmospheric music, the eerie settings, it's all good! :)

the wolf 23 January 2003 13:49

Where's the problem?
You can found easily Beast to download in almost any Amiga gaming site... Or I guess you would play it on you real Amiga?

Chris 23 January 2003 13:53

Yeah, it's not a problem finding an adf of it, but I've just bought an amiga 500 on ebay, so want to play the real thing again!

CodyJarrett 23 January 2003 14:03

Quote:

Originally posted by the wolf
Ok, this could be a nice idea, but I don't know if there's some kind of copyright on the image, however, here's the link:

http://home.t-online.de/home/dex.ter/intro.htm

you'll find a slightly better picture of this (among with the screenshot of boxes!) in the collection section!

Bye!

The HOL never uses any images from other websites without permission.

the wolf 23 January 2003 14:11

Well, don't ask me which, but I know there's a program to convert ADF files into disks in Amiga format...
If you are really desperate, you can post this question in the "apps request"... :)

Chris 23 January 2003 14:13

I've done a bit of research into converting adfs, but with my basic setup i.e. WB1.3 1MB RAM and NO hard drive, it appears to be very difficult.

I'll survive, still got plenty of other games to keep me busy. :)

the wolf 23 January 2003 14:19

Quote:

Originally posted by CodyJarrett
The HOL never uses any images from other websites without permission.
I agree with you.
But, for ONE photo, I think you can try to ask the permission...
And it's not a copyrighted photo!

Echo 23 January 2003 14:28

Quote:

Originally posted by Chris
I've done a bit of research into converting adfs, but with my basic setup i.e. WB1.3 1MB RAM and NO hard drive, it appears to be very difficult.

I'll survive, still got plenty of other games to keep me busy. :)

Hmm, it's been a long while since I set up my Workbench to access PC formatted disks etc, but it can be done on your configuration Chris. Bit of a long tedious process though. Everyone feel free to correct me on points, because I've forgotten so much :D

1. You'll need to find "PC0" or similar on WB's storage disk - something tells me it might be in binddrivers

2. Format an 880K disk as PC0: (I've forgotten how you choose between a standard Amiga formatted disk and a PC formatted one - might need to use the command line? (format pc0:))

3. Put this in your PC and zip up the ADF before copying it across. The ADF won't fit uncompressed because a PC formatted low density disk is 720K as opposed to some 836K in Amiga's filesystem

4. Find an unzipping utility from Aminet and install on Workbench

5. Pop the disk back in the Amiga and unzip (hopefully you have space to unzip to ram)

6. Find a program called "transdisk" - I believe I spotted it in http://download.abime.net/ - if not, use google

7. copy that to your Workbench c: folder

8. Stick a new blank disk in df0:

9. I'm not positive on the syntax here, because I set it up in Classaction and forgot (love that prog, I drop the adf on it and it instantly writes the image to DF0)

It's something along the lines of transdisk -w image.adf df0:

Reboot and play!

Chris 23 January 2003 14:39

Thanks for taking the time to write that Echo. :)

I'll have a go at that, might have to re-familiarise myself with Workbench now, it's been over a decade since I last looked at it!

Echo 23 January 2003 14:55

No probs mate, unfortunately I've just realised something.

I think you're going to hit a large snag - just realised you said WB 1.3 - thought you had 2.04 or 3.01.

The PC0 driver didn't come with WB 1.3, but that's not to say it won't work if you can get hold of it seperately.

Ideally you'd need to run a higher revision of Workbench, assuming your A500 is going to even support it.

the wolf 23 January 2003 15:11

Quote:

Originally posted by Echo
No probs mate, unfortunately I've just realised something.

I think you're going to hit a large snag - just realised you said WB 1.3 - thought you had 2.04 or 3.01.

The PC0 driver didn't come with WB 1.3, but that's not to say it won't work if you can get hold of it seperately.

Ideally you'd need to run a higher revision of Workbench, assuming your A500 is going to even support it.

No. I think you're wrong. I have an Amiga 2000 with kickstart 1.3 and Crossdos installed. After this, you'll see doubled your drives.
E.g.:
df0: -> pc0:
df1: -> pc1:

I think the real problem is the large amount of time and disk swapping before made something! ;)

Chris 23 January 2003 15:18

From what I've gathered, the main problem is that I have no useful storage medium, i.e. no hard drive and minimum RAM.

So it's difficult to load any software AND have enough space left to store a game in the RAM at the same time.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:51.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Page generated in 0.04676 seconds with 11 queries