English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (https://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   Retrogaming General Discussion (https://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   How to make a Linux/UAE System (https://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=64407)

Leandro Jardim 22 May 2012 20:58

How to make a Linux/UAE System

Hi, I have seen some packages that boot Linux directly into UAE, and are installed in CDs and USB sticks, and I am thinking to do the same for my USB stick but with my own hard-file. This way I dont need Windows anymore in my HD to play with it (I dont will throw Windows out, it is useful yet).

I dont know if this is a easy thing to do, or if there is any ready-made cd/usb installable distribution to me hack into it (Knoppix?)...

Anybody can say to me how its done, where are the bits and pieces that I would need? There is a guide on the net about how to make it?

I have some experience with Linux from 2000 when I installed it on my computer, and compiled the kernel, but I dont know what has changed since then. Since that time I didnt used it anymore.

For example, at that time, the framebuffer was slow and unstable, and I could not use X-Window with it, but and now? UAE can run on the framebuffer directly or need to be used with an X-Server? What is the best option for size/performance/compatibility?

Is there a simple way to copy the contents of the Knoppix distribution to a USB stick with 4 GB, without the need to burn a dvd of it first?

There are so many questions, I know, but somebody can help me? ;)

gilgamesh 23 May 2012 10:28

I've never tried this, but here is what I think should work.

Get a Knoppix CD and boot it.
Use the tool flash-knoppix to install the system on a stick. That system will be persistent (changes will stick).
Boot from the stick.
Install the uae flavor, Kickstarts and games of your choice.
Configure uae config file.
You can put a line "uae &" into the .xinitrc in the standard user's home folder. UAE will be started automatically.