English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   Amiga scene (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   Metro-Cross (Atari ST port) (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=70730)

Asman 11 September 2013 14:40

Metro-Cross (Atari ST port)
 
With Wanted Team help another port from Atari ST is done: Metro-Cross. Find it here

Info from MetroCross.readme:

Metro Cross from Atari ST.
Use joystick or keyboard.

Default keys:
Cursor Left - left
Cursor Right - right
Cursor Up - up
Cursor Down - down
A - jump
P - pause (other key to unpause)

F10 - back to OS

Highscores are saved as "mc.high", during exit to OS.

This version contains 24 levels.

Requirments:
- Amiga with free 1.0 MB RAM.

Enjoy.

lilalurl 11 September 2013 14:44

I hope the game was not chose based upon the reputation of its box cover :blased


Anyway, congratulations on doing a new port (not tried it yet)

NovaCoder 11 September 2013 14:50

Cool love this game, must try in out :)

Retro-Nerd 11 September 2013 14:54

Great, one of the best ST arcade ports imo. Thanks, Asman. Will try it later. :great

Cherno 11 September 2013 15:17

Quote:

Originally Posted by lilalurl (Post 910293)
I hope the game was not chose based upon the reputation of its box cover :blased

The infamous box cover was the first thing I thought of when I read the title

TCD 11 September 2013 15:22

Quote:

Originally Posted by lilalurl (Post 910293)
I hope the game was not chose based upon the reputation of its box cover :blased

It's not that bad...
http://www.vgmpf.com/Wiki/images/thu...Cross_-_FC.jpg
;)

@Asman
Nice one :great I'll give it a try tomorrow :)

Retro-Nerd 11 September 2013 15:23

Gameplay is really good. The controls are really smooth compared to the mediocre C64 version. Great Amiga conversion, just reached level 6 without any problems. :bowdown

Graham Humphrey 12 September 2013 01:00

Never played this game before on any format. First go tonight, really good fun, also managed to hit level six. Thank you for a sterling conversion again.

T_hairy_bootson 12 September 2013 06:52

I'll wait for the s2325 youtube video.


:)


Thanks Asman and Wanted Team.

tomcat666 12 September 2013 07:08

YAY ! :) Go Wanted Team...

It is strange how back in the day we hated straight ST ports... now we are loving them :D

Greyfox 12 September 2013 09:22

Amazing work, this really is now shortening the Atari ST exclusive games list now..many thanx for the great work guys :)

vitux 12 September 2013 13:30

Thanks for the conversion and you make many more.
I have a doubt, Asman is the author of the other conversions? (Supersprint, Gauntlet etc)

And what the difference between a port and reverse engineering?

PopoCop 12 September 2013 13:47

Game is a bit boring (on any format). Just running and running...
On 68040 animation slows down when obstacles appear.

lilalurl 12 September 2013 14:02

Quote:

Originally Posted by vitux (Post 910517)
I have a doubt, Asman is the author of the other conversions? (Supersprint, Gauntlet etc)

No, those were meynaf's work:
http://eab.abime.net/retrogaming-gen...tml#post808731

who also ported IK:
http://eab.abime.net/amiga-scene/68546-port-ik-st.html


Asman/WT have also ported Solomon's key:
http://eab.abime.net/amiga-scene/688...st-ported.html


Quote:

Originally Posted by vitux (Post 910517)
And what the difference between a port and reverse engineering?

The experts might have a better answer, but:
A port is... a port (so a conversion to another platform).
Reverse engineering is the process to analyze how a program (game) works on a platform. This way, if you don't have access to the source code or don't want to write everything from scratch, you have a base to code your port.

So what Asman and meynaf do is checking how the games work on the Atari ST and then writing some code to get that working on Amiga.

Phantomz 12 September 2013 14:11

Thanks for this. :great

Quote:

Originally Posted by PopoCop (Post 910525)
Game is a bit boring (on any format). Just running and running...
On 68040 animation slows down when obstacles appear.

I noticed this slow down on my 1260, runs fine on my 1230 though.

leathered 12 September 2013 14:49

Just tried this and running very nicely on my 030, great work!

Asman 12 September 2013 15:07

Quote:

Originally Posted by PopoCop (Post 910525)
Game is a bit boring (on any format). Just running and running...

:).
So its mean there is no sense to make extended conversion of this game ?(gfx from arcade + logic from Atari ST )

Quote:

Originally Posted by PopoCop (Post 910525)
On 68040 animation slows down when obstacles appear.

I will check this. Thank you.

@Phantomz - I will check this too. Thank you.

Retro-Nerd 12 September 2013 15:14

Quote:

Originally Posted by tomcat666 (Post 910466)
YAY ! :) Go Wanted Team...

It is strange how back in the day we hated straight ST ports... now we are loving them :D

Super Sprint, Solomon's Key and Metro-Cross are pretty basic in technics. An ST could handle it good enough. Later games though... :D ;)

Is SunDog: Frozen Legacy really that hard to convert? :crying

Quote:

So its mean there is no sense to make extended conversion of this game ?(gfx from arcade + logic from Atari ST )
I would love it. Do you considering to do it? :)

s2325 12 September 2013 16:33

gameplay: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ghsOFRxuMb4
Please have in mind that I'm playing in 320x200 window on 1920x1200 display and everything is tiny for me. 'Crack intro' have YM-like music.
You can compare it with Atari ST version http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EwtDGmAewok
and here is unfinished version for Atari 8-bit http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=puD0YuAxNRg

Phantomz 12 September 2013 17:45

Quote:

Originally Posted by s2325 (Post 910551)
gameplay: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ghsOFRxuMb4
Please have in mind that I'm playing in 320x200 window on 1920x1200 display and everything is tiny for me. 'Crack intro' have YM-like music.
You can compare it with Atari ST version http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EwtDGmAewok
and here is unfinished version for Atari 8-bit http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=puD0YuAxNRg

Are you running the amiga version with an emulator?

It looks the same as the Atari ST version on both my Amiga 1200's, Title Screen is black and not blue, and blue squares on the floor are the same etc.

With regards to my 060, maybe slow due to something installed in my OS or 060 Lib etc as runs fine when booted from floppy, but get slow down running from HD.

Runs perfect from floppy or HD with Blizzard 1230 mkiv. :great


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:22.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Page generated in 0.08752 seconds with 11 queries