English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   Games images which need to be WHDified (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=22)
-   -   Tfx Aga? (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=51666)

NovaCoder 19 March 2010 02:33

Tfx Aga?
 
Anyone of you WHDLOAD guys feel like sorting the mess of patches and versions that is TFX?

Just to give some history (for those that don't know).

It was going to be an Amiga AGA release and was a port of the popular PC game and was arguably the most ambitious and demanding AGA game at the time. Unfortunately Commodore imploded which killed the release. One of the main coders kept hacking away for a few years after that and released various patches and versions of the game.

This would have to be an 060 only release, no other processor would have the grunt to do it justice.

blade002 19 March 2010 06:02

I ended up getting a version of it on a Cover CD from CU Amiga but it ran PIG SLOW on my 030@50 and even with an 060 it runs like absolute shit! but i have heard there are some patches here or there somewhere that can speed things up but its been many years since i knew of this and i could not provide the details that were once so resonate in my mind.

NovaCoder 19 March 2010 06:36

Quote:

Originally Posted by blade002 (Post 653178)
I ended up getting a version of it on a Cover CD from CU Amiga but it ran PIG SLOW on my 030@50 and even with an 060 it runs like absolute shit! but i have heard there are some patches here or there somewhere that can speed things up but its been many years since i knew of this and i could not provide the details that were once so resonate in my mind.

Yep it's a real dogs dinner :laughing

But if someone could sort through the mess and recompile for 060 it would probably be quite playable :agree

Vairn 19 March 2010 08:49

From what I remember the CU amiga version was a beta, and it was nether finished.

I also remember reading somewhere that original author never had an 060, so he never was able to test it on one.

blade002 19 March 2010 14:25

Quote:

Originally Posted by NovaCoder (Post 653183)
Yep it's a real dogs dinner :laughing

But if someone could sort through the mess and recompile for 060 it would probably be quite playable :agree

Quote:

Originally Posted by Vairn (Post 653201)
From what I remember the CU amiga version was a beta, and it was nether finished.

I also remember reading somewhere that original author never had an 060, so he never was able to test it on one.

This is so very true! I think the 060 could really pump out some reasonable frame rates if it "was" recompiled :)

And yeah, the CU version really really sucked!

musojon74 19 March 2010 15:43

Yeah, runs like a dog on my 060. I never got any of the patched versions above 020 to work :( It was supposed (according to review) to be quite quick on the 060 though, but none of the configs I've used have run very fast at all.

Steve 19 March 2010 22:10

My HDF version runs like a dream in WinUAE. Plus there aren't that many bugs. Its very playable. I was playing it tonight in fact. As for a WHDLoad release. Forget it. :p

Reynolds 20 March 2010 02:38

Why not stepping forward then with a WOS release? I know, it's far more difficult, but noone could complain because of the speed anymore... Or an OS4.x version maybe? (yeah, somebody should wake me up :( )

Angus 21 March 2010 02:40

Quote:

Originally Posted by musojon74 (Post 653347)
Yeah, runs like a dog on my 060. I never got any of the patched versions above 020 to work :( It was supposed (according to review) to be quite quick on the 060 though, but none of the configs I've used have run very fast at all.

I thought it ran quite well on my 060 - I don't know if Fastexec helped. I'm sure it ran quicker than Tornado AGA, and graphically it was doing a hell of a lot more. Did you reduce the graphics at all? As I recall the 040 version wouldn't work at all, the FPU version worked but disabled the cannon, so I went with the bog standard version (non FPU, I think).

NovaCoder 21 March 2010 04:23

This is what I'm talking about, it's a mess. Somebody (who actually knew what they were doing) could string a great version together out of all the patches and create an awesome WHDLOAD install.....isn't that the main point of WHDLOAD?

blade002 21 March 2010 06:39

Quote:

Originally Posted by NovaCoder (Post 653770)
This is what I'm talking about, it's a mess. Somebody (who actually knew what they were doing) could string a great version together out of all the patches and create an awesome WHDLOAD install.....isn't that the main point of WHDLOAD?

I must admit that i would like to see a great version of this that always works well with an 030@50, but of course i know i would need to turn many things off such as gourad shading..etc.. but a nice playable engine would be great!

Angus 07 April 2010 14:42

Quote:

Originally Posted by NovaCoder (Post 653770)
This is what I'm talking about, it's a mess. Somebody (who actually knew what they were doing) could string a great version together out of all the patches and create an awesome WHDLOAD install.....isn't that the main point of WHDLOAD?


I'm with you, I would be very happy to see it.

WHDLoad would be the bridge to bring what is surely the most ambitious Flight-sim ever on the Amiga into the realms of being a playable game.

musojon74 07 April 2010 16:09

Yeah i did have the settings maxed initially, having read that CU amiga review where I'm sure they maxed it. I'll maybe look at fastexec to see if that boosts it at all. Would be good to have a definitive good whdload of this game though. I'm guessing it would be a pig to sort through the patches spaghetti!

Quote:

Originally Posted by Angus (Post 653747)
I thought it ran quite well on my 060 - I don't know if Fastexec helped. I'm sure it ran quicker than Tornado AGA, and graphically it was doing a hell of a lot more. Did you reduce the graphics at all? As I recall the 040 version wouldn't work at all, the FPU version worked but disabled the cannon, so I went with the bog standard version (non FPU, I think).


NovaCoder 17 June 2012 10:50

a video

Playable at last....

I think I'll be waiting a looooong time for a WHDLOAD install though ;)

roy bates 17 June 2012 15:16

hmmm,i'll be keeping my beady eyes on this one me thinks

Geraldine 18 June 2012 14:15

I would love to see a "fixed" version of this, but I fear it would be just too much work without having at least one of the original coders involved in it. Is the source code available for the game? If so, that could be the starting point for a complete rebuild. Maybe someone, somewhere out there knows more? :confused

NovaCoder 09 August 2013 07:07

I just did a new video of TFX running on my Blizzard 80Mhz 060, it's really flying (bad joke alert)

TFX Blizzy

Bamiga2002 09 August 2013 11:38

Why 2 videos that look the same?

NovaCoder 09 August 2013 12:01

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bamiga2002 (Post 904093)
Why 2 videos that look the same?

2 different cards, first video is with my old Apollo, new one is the Blizzard.

Blizzard is quicker.

DaveTaylor 18 April 2020 21:57

Digging it up from 2013. I am interested too in a WHDLoad slave including all patches.
Just saying. ;)


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:24.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Page generated in 0.05438 seconds with 11 queries