English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   support.WinUAE (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   Vertical LEDs/status bar? (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=105098)

Radertified 21 December 2020 23:38

Vertical LEDs/status bar?
 
I have no idea if this is already implemented. If it is, I couldn't find it.

Is it possible to have vertical LEDs/status bar in UAE instead of horizontal?

https://i.imgur.com/a3TPUkg.png

As you can see in the above screenshot, it slightly obstructs in 4:3 screenmodes. Having it vertical in the unused black space makes more sense.

DamienD 23 December 2020 14:49

Yeah that would be cool :agree

Also, as mentioned in the WinUAE 4.5.0 beta series thread, really not a fan of the new style LEDs.

Toni, would it be possible to have be an option for old style LEDs; or even just a configuration line would be great?

Toni Wilen 23 December 2020 19:36

It is far from trivial. Perhaps someday.

Quote:

Also, as mentioned in the WinUAE 4.5.0 beta series thread, really not a fan of the new style LEDs.
You never said any reasons. They look almost the same for me. Possibly it looks different when using older Windows version but it is your problem to describe the problem.

Quote:

Toni, would it be possible to have be an option for old style LEDs; or even just a configuration line would be great?
No. It can finally show any existing character which allows all kinds of future improvement possibilites.

Radertified 23 December 2020 19:55

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toni Wilen (Post 1447979)
It is far from trivial. Perhaps someday.

No problem! It's just something I noticed when playing some games. I had to turn them off to properly see the bottom of the screen. I generally play windowed anyway. Just thought I'd mention it :)

DamienD 23 December 2020 20:24

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toni Wilen (Post 1447979)
It is far from trivial. Perhaps someday.

Ok ;)

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toni Wilen (Post 1447979)
You never said any reasons. They look almost the same for me. Possibly it looks different when using older Windows version but it is your problem to describe the problem.

I'm sure I mentioned; they look more square now, as opposed to rectangles, and maybe too much spacing in between them:

Old LEDs:

https://i.imgur.com/Pk35lsr.png


New LEDs:

https://i.imgur.com/pqGIOHq.png

I mean, it's not a big deal... I won't loose sleep over it :p

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toni Wilen (Post 1447979)
No. It can finally show any existing character which allows all kinds of future improvement possibilites.

Ok.

JoeJoe 23 December 2020 21:31

Check out the "LED" theme for FS-UAE. I love it ;)

Radertified 23 December 2020 23:40

I just tried and it's definitely interesting!

https://i.imgur.com/n6w7LIl.png

Unfortunately I'm firmly attached to WinUAE :p (and Amiberry on Pi)

DamienD 24 December 2020 18:18

Same; no way would I stop using the king of Amiga emulators ;)

Toni Wilen 25 December 2020 20:11

Quote:

Originally Posted by DamienD (Post 1447993)
Ok ;)


I'm sure I mentioned; they look more square now, as opposed to rectangles, and maybe too much spacing in between them:

Ah, right. Obviously there is no identical Windows font (because "font" used previoiusly was hand-made for each needed character). Font choice can be made configurable if you find better font :)

DamienD 25 December 2020 20:48

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toni Wilen (Post 1448411)
Ah, right. Obviously there is no identical Windows font (because "font" used previoiusly was hand-made for each needed character). Font choice can be made configurable if you find better font :)

Your saying the font is causing the LEDs to be more square than the old style ones?

Also, can you reduce the gap between LEDs so they are close together like the old style ones?

mcbpete 03 January 2021 21:47

Another alternative, would it be possible to split the status bar to two lines? Something like this - Click for image (quick MS Paint mockup!)

EDIT: Hmm, just thought of something, the above is probably fine for us (mainly) retro gamers that have winUAE predominantly displaying 4x3 footage. But would probably be an issue for the more 'hardcore' users with a 16x9 setup, as a status bar over two lines would probably cover up too much of the screen

Radertified 03 January 2021 22:25

That could work too, @mcbpete. I like it.

I don't think there's a one-size-fits-all solution because while I would like them out of the way (vertical or stacked), others with full screen Workbench setups would probably like horizontal. It would need to be a configurable option (eg. vertical, horizontal, stacked... or fully custom where you can define placing in a file?).


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:29.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Page generated in 0.05253 seconds with 11 queries