English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   New to Emulation or Amiga scene (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=26)
-   -   Best sampler for the Amiga? (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=55245)

Kola 19 September 2010 14:34

Best sampler for the Amiga?
 
Hi guys,

Was there a 'best' sampler package for the Amiga?

Before I look at dusting my old 1200 off from the lost I am wanting to try this all out on winUAE.
So if there was a good sampler would I be able to sample onto WinUAE?

XimeR 19 September 2010 14:48

Looking at reviews from Amiga Format 22, Audio Engineer seems to be the best.

If you're talking about sampling software then then my recommendations from back in the day are (in no particular order) Mastersound, Audio Master III & Technosound Turbo.

Kola 19 September 2010 15:24

Hi there,

Yes sampling software that runs on the Amiga. So I could record real world sounds and use them in a mod.

Have you used all of those packages?

Awol 19 September 2010 15:29

Don't mean to hijack your thread, but I'd be interested in people's opinions on which is the best hardware sampler.

XimeR 19 September 2010 15:29

Yeh I've used them all. Audio Master III more than the rest. I've never used them with WinUAE though.

Fabie 19 September 2010 15:37

audiomaster IV it is the best cause it supports lot of samplers and is really good
audition 4 also it is really good and support 4 different samplers
that packages in the time cost some $$
for realtime audioeffects the best is stereomaster

Kola 19 September 2010 15:47

Hi,

AWOL - Dont worry your not hijacking mate, its along line with the topic.

Anyhow if the UAE test goes ok I will need a hardware sampler for me Amiga. From multiple sources it would seem the GVP DSS8+ is the best hardware sampler but Id appreciate opinions of gurus from here.

Can anyone tell me will I be able to sample via UAE?

viddi 19 September 2010 15:55

Back then I used the Aegis Sound Master.
It satisfied my needs for years and offered a great sound quality.

http://www.bboah.com/index.php?sid=8...407&artlang=en

http://www.bboah.com/display_photos/aegis.jpg

Fabie 19 September 2010 15:58

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kola (Post 701664)
Hi,

AWOL - Dont worry your not hijacking mate, its along line with the topic.

Anyhow if the UAE test goes ok I will need a hardware sampler for me Amiga. From multiple sources it would seem the GVP DSS8+ is the best hardware sampler but Id appreciate opinions of gurus from here.

Can anyone tell me will I be able to sample via UAE?

I don't think you can insert an amiga sampler on the parallel port on the pc and will works there...sincerely I never tryed
the parallel port of the pc is different ...you can damage your sampler or the PC
anyways maybe will work using a special parallel device ...you can ask tonny for more info

btw, I have a DSS8+ sampler also..and the software that comes with it is very buggy for me....anyways if you like it :shocked

Awol 19 September 2010 16:18

Quote:

Originally Posted by Fabie (Post 701675)
btw, I have a DSS8+ sampler also..and the software that comes with it is very buggy for me....anyways if you like it :shocked

Whoa! I'd like it! Although you've offered it to him and this is his thread, so if he doesn't take it, I'd love to have it.

Kola 19 September 2010 16:29

No I didnt mean attach a sampler to a PC. I thought UAE may just 'listern' to the sounds played by the PC.

Fabie 19 September 2010 16:44

1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by Awol (Post 701659)
Don't mean to hijack your thread, but I'd be interested in people's opinions on which is the best hardware sampler.

I think that the best hardware seems to be something like this sampler
also the pyramid sampler looks nice and complex

Awol 19 September 2010 16:49

Oh, heh, I thought you were offering one for sale. Never mind. :P

Josh 19 September 2010 19:06

In my opinion the best (cheap) combination ist the Aura sampler and either the Aura software or SoundProbe.

I recommend a dearer solution... I am using a 16Bit soundcard (Melody) with Soundprobe (v1.74 & v2.0). It gives me very good results. That's in my eyes a very good conifguration.

Otherwise you could take Technosound Turbo - but the quality is only lousy - bad combination...


Cheers Josh

Fabie 19 September 2010 23:21

Quote:

Originally Posted by Josh (Post 701737)
In my opinion the best (cheap) combination ist the Aura sampler and either the Aura software or SoundProbe.

I recommend a dearer solution... I am using a 16Bit soundcard (Melody) with Soundprobe (v1.74 & v2.0). It gives me very good results. That's in my eyes a very good conifguration.

Otherwise you could take Technosound Turbo - but the quality is only lousy - bad combination...


Cheers Josh

can you upload Soundprobe to the zone please
I wanna try it
thanks

Josh 20 September 2010 01:43

In the zone in a few minutes... :spin


Cheers Josh

EDIT: Done. ;)

systmcrsh 20 September 2010 09:11

as far as parallel port samplers go, i have a technosound turbo, dss8+, and a stereo master. also had a megalosound, but i gave it to someone.

personally, i think they all sound the same + doubt i could tell the difference. i thought about doing a spectral comparison of the ones i still own, but i got busy today... maybe later i'll have a go at it though.

one thing i do prefer are the rca inputs on the technosound and dss8+ vs the 1/8" inputs of the megalosound and stereo master. anyways, i could be wrong, but i think the differences in quality between parallel port samplers will be negligible.

Fabie 20 September 2010 14:06

Quote:

Originally Posted by Josh (Post 701847)
In the zone in a few minutes... :spin


Cheers Josh

EDIT: Done. ;)

Thanks Josh !!!
I tried with the DSS8+ with soundprobe and worked fine
the program is complete but seems slow to open windows and doing certain operations
the realtime effects on soundprobe are not realtime at all like on Audiomaster 4 or Stereomaster.....there's a mini delay I calculate about 0.1 s
the soundprobe PC version have idem delay

marcfrick2112 20 September 2010 15:11

As for the sampling hardware, I've only used Perfect Sound and GVP DSS8+. The quality of most Samplers is mostly the same, but you do want a sampler that allows you to set higher than usual sample rates. (for better quality) DSS8+, technosound, and later versions of Perfect Sound allow this, maybe other as well.

Software-wise, I use AudioMasterIV, and occasionally, DSS8+ soft. For general sample work, I use Aural Illusion(Aminet), a bit buggy, but handy....

Just for the hell of it, was listening to some stuff I sampled with my DSS8+, doesn't sound too bad, again, though keep the sample rate as high as you can afford (memory-wise).

Jimbo 20 September 2010 16:03

Hardware sampler I have been using Stereo Master for the past month or two. Can't fault it, the software is a bit pants so software wise I use Audio Master. Someone on this forum told me to use that. :D


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:17.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Page generated in 0.06719 seconds with 10 queries