English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   Nostalgia & memories (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=18)
-   -   Age of Empires Definitive Edition (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=98773)

Anubis 10 September 2019 16:24

Age of Empires Definitive Edition
 
After trying new Age of Empires Definitive Edition, I was left wondering how did they make game that run fairly well on any pentium machine be huge hog for resources and run rather bad on even i7 with 32GB memory and dedicated video card?!

Not sure if it was just me, but it seems like game does not run as nice as it used to. :shocked

gimbal 11 September 2019 10:21

Maybe they went all-out with the AI :)

Anubis 11 September 2019 13:54

Since I've done only first few tutorials, can't say it is any different.

IMHO they probably improved online play / multiplayer, something I don't really care about.

Gordon 11 September 2019 16:15

Until you do a side by side comparison, old PC with old AofE and new pc with new AofE, you won't know for sure. Its possible you remember it ran well but in theory it was ok for the time. But over the years systems have got faster and your sense of speed has adjusted too.

For example, I loved Geoff Crammonds F1GP on the Amiga. I thought it was life like back in the day. Recently played it, and that certainly is not the case!

Shoonay 11 September 2019 16:28

Runs fine here on Steam @144Hz in 2560x1440 ¯\_(;/)_/¯

Have you tried opening Task Manager, resizing it down and leaving it opened at the bottom of the screen?
It's a common solution for M$ Store games, those idiots still didin't fix it in newest games and people playing Gears 5 still have to do it.

Anubis 11 September 2019 18:00

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gordon (Post 1344925)
Until you do a side by side comparison, old PC with old AofE and new pc with new AofE, you won't know for sure. Its possible you remember it ran well but in theory it was ok for the time. But over the years systems have got faster and your sense of speed has adjusted too.

For example, I loved Geoff Crammonds F1GP on the Amiga. I thought it was life like back in the day. Recently played it, and that certainly is not the case!

I played it quite a lot back in day, and true, some game leave that impression on us, but this game I did play even last year on PCem emulator, and it runs quite well, just the way I remember it.


Quote:

Originally Posted by Shoonay (Post 1344926)
Runs fine here on Steam @144Hz in 2560x1440 ¯\_(;/)_/¯

Have you tried opening Task Manager, resizing it down and leaving it opened at the bottom of the screen?
It's a common solution for M$ Store games, those idiots still didin't fix it in newest games and people playing Gears 5 still have to do it.

Say what? I did not play it from store, but from xbox for PC. (probably the same shit) What do you mean open task manager and resize it down and leavening it open? What does that fix? I will test it tonight.

Shoonay 11 September 2019 18:36

Whatever it's called, if you're playing it on Windows 10 on PC it's the same shitty M$ service. ;)

Leaving an open Window on top of ANY game window from W10 to get uncapped fps is common practice I'm afraid, look it up.

lilalurl 11 September 2019 18:40

Quote:

Originally Posted by Anubis (Post 1344937)
[...] and leavening it open?

Add 1 tsp yeast to your PC and let the game leaven for at least 1 and a half hour.
Then bake it at 180° Celsius for 30 minutes. :blased

Anubis 11 September 2019 19:44

I've no idea about that, since I never played much of games form M$ store. Will give it a try and let you know.

Quote:

Originally Posted by lilalurl (Post 1344947)
Add 1 tsp yeast to your PC and let the game leaven for at least 1 and a half hour.
Then bake it at 180° Celsius for 30 minutes. :blased

That would be much more funny if your nick was gimbal. :agree :o :cheese

lilalurl 11 September 2019 20:10

Quote:

Originally Posted by Anubis (Post 1344951)
That would be much more funny if your nick was gimbal. :agree :o :cheese

Don't be silly. Who would choose such a stupid nickname? :)

Damn, where is this board going when even mods derail threads! :help

Anubis 11 September 2019 21:02

Nah, it was me and posting while working. Seems like multitasking might be a thing from the past. :D

Hewitson 12 September 2019 02:12

Quote:

Originally Posted by Shoonay (Post 1344945)
Leaving an open Window on top of ANY game window from W10 to get uncapped fps is common practice I'm afraid, look it up.

Whaaaaat... And people wonder why I don't use Windows. It's a joke, always has been and always will be.

gimbal 12 September 2019 12:44

Quote:

Originally Posted by Shoonay (Post 1344945)
Leaving an open Window on top of ANY game window from W10 to get uncapped fps is common practice I'm afraid, look it up.

I tried to because I was curious as to the exact mechanics behind it, but I'm having real trouble finding proof of it. I found a vague reddit post regarding path of exile, and not much else.

I can guess it has something to do with resource management where the task manager forces a high performance profile to be active...

Quote:

That would be much more funny if your nick was gimbal. :agree :o :cheese
Yeah I'm not that much of a foodie that I cook hardware.

SquawkBox 12 September 2019 13:44

Although it has more to do with Civilization than with AofE, Sid Meier's Alpha Centauri is a vastly superior game. Everything feels fresh and awesome about it, no need for one of these half-baked remasters.

Anubis 12 September 2019 13:53

It did not work, even after I tried windowed mode, switch back to full mode. They even have 'limit to 30 fps' as an option. I don't know, probably I was expecting bit much from remake/this version?!

Even MS logo and intro video loads like shit.

Anubis 12 September 2019 15:48

Here are minimum system requirements.... Thinking that old one worked fine on P133 with 32 MB memory, makes you think what happened here. :D

Quote:

Age of Empires: Definitive Edition is the new, lovingly remastered version of the legendary real-time strategy game straight from the pages of history! Relive the most glorious battles of history with all-new graphics, music, sound, and more.
Minimum System Requirements
OS: 64-bit Windows 10 version 14393.0 or higher required
Architecture: X64 required
Processor: 1.8 Ghz+ Dual Core or greater i3, i5, or i7, or AMD equivalent
Graphics: Intel HD 4000 or Greater (16 or more Execution Units), AMD or nVidia GPU scoring 500 or more on Passmark G3D Mark, DirectX 11 or higher Feature Level support
Memory: 4GB (free)
Video Memory: 1GB (free)
Storage: 17-20GB, additional 100MB free at run time

Shoonay 12 September 2019 16:20

Quote:

Originally Posted by gimbal (Post 1345069)
I tried to because I was curious as to the exact mechanics behind it, but I'm having real trouble finding proof of it. I found a vague reddit post regarding path of exile, and not much else.

I can guess it has something to do with resource management where the task manager forces a high performance profile to be active...

See for yourself, plenty of demos on their shitty store. I remember the problem and solution blew up in Forza and returned now in Gears 5, especially on 144Hz monitors. But IIRC on 60Hz you still had 30fps without this trick.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Anubis (Post 1345085)
It did not work, even after I tried windowed mode, switch back to full mode. They even have 'limit to 30 fps' as an option. I don't know, probably I was expecting bit much from remake/this version?!

Even MS logo and intro video loads like shit.

I played throught the whole first campaign and a few next missions and can't say I had any problems. Reading through the Steam comments I can't say people mention performance problems so... it's a M$ Store thing?

EDIT: I can definitely mention I hated the pathfinding, it's as retarded as I remember it from the old version, lovely. :nuts

Anubis 12 September 2019 16:46

Will test it today on different pc, also i7, to see if is hardware specific.

Will probably get steam version after all.

Thanks!

Shoonay 12 September 2019 16:55

Don't buy the Steam version just like that, I'm only guessing here and using a slightly overkill build for that game, so yeah... :blased

SquawkBox 13 September 2019 02:10

Folks, Zeus & Poseidon has received quite a few positive reviews, has anyone else paid attention ?
My guess is that it will run flawlessly on any decent configuration.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:19.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Page generated in 0.05590 seconds with 11 queries