English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   Hardware mods (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=105)
-   -   A500 Zorro Slot Adaptor (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=87848)

Daedalus 09 July 2017 16:04

A500 Zorro Slot Adaptor
 
Anyone interested in a Zorro slot adaptor for the A500? I was thinking of putting one together for testing / tinkering / prototyping purposes, and could put a few together if more people were interested. It would be a very simple, one-slot design and at a rough guess would cost around £20.

Jope 09 July 2017 16:26

I might be down for one. Occasionally a Zorro2 machine would come in handy, but I don't want to store an A2k for only that very occasional need.

Daedalus 09 July 2017 17:30

Indeed, that's my thinking. I want a Zorro slot to prototype some ideas but don't have the space or permission for another big machine, so the 500 will hopefully do the job.

kirk_m 10 July 2017 04:09

I'd be down for one.

Acill 19 July 2017 21:30

I'd want for sure.

Daedalus 20 July 2017 14:32

Cheers guys! Initial PCB routing is done, and it includes a passthrough for using sidecar devices and Autoconfig support with and without a Zorro card inserted. It also provides proper -5V power - not that I know of anything that uses it, but some older adaptors simply connected -12V to that pin, which might not go down well with some cards. I'll order up a batch of boards soon and then figure out a way of testing them ;)

Amiga4000 23 July 2017 01:29

Yes, please!

André 24 July 2017 07:27

I would definitely be interested in one.

Toni Wilen 24 July 2017 15:30

I am interested if it can work with ACA500plus in passthrough connector (=ACA500plus boot code can see the device normally in autoconfig space, configure it and then reset it back to unconfigured state with m68k RESET instruction that pulses reset line)

Daedalus 24 July 2017 16:50

I don't have an ACA to test with, but I can't see that being a problem - the lines aren't buffered so they can be driven from either end/either CPU. The Zorro slot is the first device on the Autoconfig chain, with the passthrough being the second (first if no Zorro card inserted). I don't know how the ACA will handle that, but I routed it that way since some sidecar expansions don't pass the Autoconfig back.

I'll try to find someone local with an ACA so I can try it out anyway. If the ACA doesn't like that setup, it should be possible to add some jumpers for fiddling things to suit.

croupier 24 July 2017 20:25

I'm in for one....

fordav1 05 August 2017 17:01

I'd be interested in something simple with 1 slot that could be used for an ACA500+ on an A1000? I don't like the idea of the ACA500+ sticking out sideways and a nice 90 degree zorro adapter would be a great idea so the ACA500+ sits vertical and close to the case of the A1000. The board could be made to plug into the male zorro connector and have a female connector for use with normal zorro cards, and a small finger-board fitted to adapt it back to male for use with things like an ACA500+. I'm sure many other people would also be interested in something like this :cool

E-Penguin 06 August 2017 23:33

I'm after something that will let me use an RTG graphics card on the A500 / ACA500plus +ACA1221 machine I've got.

There's a thread on it being done on A1K where it seems to work and Jens confirmed the Zorro space wasn't used by his accelerator.

Daedalus 07 August 2017 00:11

Yeah, I came across that thread not so long ago - think someone else pointed me to it too. It should work fine. It also sounds like Matze's adaptor is a similar thing to mine, though I've never seen one available in the English-speaking community (and can't register for an account on A1K.org for the moment), so I can't tell for sure how similar the two are.

Marchie 07 August 2017 01:59

This is a gem of an idea. I'd be interested, if it's not too late.

Daedalus 07 August 2017 17:20

To be fair, it's not really my idea - Zorro adaptors for the A500 have been around almost as long as the A500 itself. But they're less common now and I felt an urge to tinker ;)

Prototype will be tested this week, though I've no sidecar modules to plug into it to see how it works with them...

Toni Wilen 07 August 2017 19:50

Quote:

Originally Posted by E-Penguin (Post 1176659)
I'm after something that will let me use an RTG graphics card on the A500 / ACA500plus +ACA1221 machine I've got.

There's a thread on it being done on A1K where it seems to work and Jens confirmed the Zorro space wasn't used by his accelerator.

First 2M of Z2 space is available with ACA500plus. Bigger cards can't work.

E-Penguin 07 August 2017 23:47

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toni Wilen (Post 1176785)
First 2M of Z2 space is available with ACA500plus. Bigger cards can't work.

Matze's graphics card is 2MB though, right? It seemed to work on the A1K post, anyway. The other question is on the ACA1221 - does that occupy Zorro space at all?

E-Penguin 08 August 2017 00:04

Ah, RTFM...
http://wiki.icomp.de/wiki/ACA500plus...ers#memory_map

Can't find anything similar for the ACA1221 though.

Marchie 08 August 2017 01:54

Quote:

Originally Posted by Daedalus (Post 1176764)
To be fair, it's not really my idea - Zorro adaptors for the A500 have been around almost as long as the A500 itself. But they're less common now and I felt an urge to tinker ;)

Prototype will be tested this week, though I've no sidecar modules to plug into it to see how it works with them...

Sweet! Can't wait to hear how it goes!


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:12.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Page generated in 0.05326 seconds with 11 queries