English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   Coders. Releases (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=115)
-   -   Smokin'Guns (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=93339)

AMIGASYSTEM 06 August 2018 02:01

Quote:

Originally Posted by Cowcat (Post 1259027)
Just like my experience testing all those Q3 68k builds.
Questions:
UAE version? A newer one?

WinUAE 4.0.1 beta 6

Quote:

Still Q3/OpenArena 68k works?
Yes Q3/OpenArena 68k still work

Quote:

Forgot to tell that 68k game loads demos (done with wos version)
As soon as possible I will try with the demo, where can I download it demos?

Cowcat 06 August 2018 10:09

Quote:

where can I download it demos?
mmm....no space here to upload a demo. :)

Smokin is kinda OpenArena. Maybe the updates on the engine now show the problems.

Please, 68k (virtual or not) use a debugger.

Question: Has newer UAE (or Wazp3d) , fixed render problems with skies ? Certainly SG is mostly open air playing.....

AMIGASYSTEM 06 August 2018 10:30

Quote:

Originally Posted by Cowcat (Post 1259123)
mmm....no space here to upload a demo. :)

I was asking for a site where i could "Smokin' Guns demo" download it

Quote:

Please, 68k (virtual or not) use a debugger.
what should I do?

Quote:

Question: Has newer UAE (or Wazp3d)

I've always used it on 68k "Wazp3D.library-winuae" beta 56 (October 2014)


Quote:

fixed render problems with skies ? Certainly SG is mostly open air playing.....
No, even if with OpenArena you can see much less.

Cowcat 06 August 2018 12:40

Quote:

I was asking for a site where I could download it
errr....I will upload a simple demo but have to make room here.

@AMIGASYSTEM If you are interested, PM me here: Someone has to test all newer Q3 68k stuff before remove the older ones. Just to have an idea of how updates are working now.


Quote:

Please, 68k (virtual or not) use a debugger.
what should I do?
WinUAE has a debugger (no?) and there are various 68k utilities for it but anyways I need to recompile 68k builds with -g option for better control of what is going on. BDebug from Barlfy is what comes to mind.

Will try this procedure with MOS. If it doesn't work, a proper 68k system is needed then.

AMIGASYSTEM 07 August 2018 00:05

For any tests I'm available to you ;)

grelbfarlk 07 August 2018 02:34

1 Attachment(s)
Here's a demo I recorded, showing some very bad gameplay.

thellier 07 August 2018 12:31

Hello

>WinUAE has a debugger
Wazp3D got a debugger too (For tracing WaRp3D using programs)
See Wazp3D/Docs/Wazp3D-debugger.txt
It can be used too for optimizing as you can see not needed Warp3D calls (like setting again and again same W3D states for each drawing)

>Wazp3d fixed render problems with skies
???
Should works if
Perspective:Simulated
was set in Wazp3D-Prefs

Alain Thellier - Wazp3D

AMIGASYSTEM 07 August 2018 13:22

Quote:

>Wazp3d fixed render problems with skies
???
Should works if
Perspective:Simulated
was set in Wazp3D-Prefs
It seems not to solve "Perspective:Simulated", there are other wrong options in my Wazp3D-Prefs? how to save the Wazp3D-Prefs configuration? (i noticed that when the system is rebooted, the settings return to the old setting) :confused

Cowcat 07 August 2018 15:10

Alain could explain somewhat 2 problems with the engine not related to Wazp3d but old minigl.

One is using ArrayElements with lock(the way is it now): The game has a problem when has to re-init minigl for whatever reason and the screen gets mangled. It doesn't happen when using glvertex, glcolor etc loop (the old way).

The other is on windowmode a black bar is present on top. Of course doesn't happen with fullscreen but it sucks.

@amigasystem send me your email (here on eab personal mail) :spin

thellier 08 August 2018 11:15

>Alain could explain somewhat 2 problems [...] old minigl.

I cant help as I dont know MiniGL so much : in fact I never used GLArrayElement()

>The other is on windowmode a black bar is present on top.
??? I dont know I dont have Smokin'Guns

>how to save the Wazp3D-Prefs configuration?
Delete any Wazp3D.cfg that may exist in the game directory
Start Wazp3D-Prefs
Set Perspective:Simulated
close Wazp3D-Prefs

Start the game
Close the game ==> a Wazp3D.cfg will automatically be generated

Cowcat 08 August 2018 13:04

Quote:

>The other is on windowmode a black bar is present on top.
??? I dont know I dont have Smokin'Guns
Oh well, it happens with all my versions of Q3: Never happened with BlitzQ, Q2, GLHexen2.
Maybe something expected with viewport(??) by Q3 engines that the backend has to resolve?.
In fact I fixed scissor in old minigl -so models rendered in menu now work- by looking at newer hyperion minigl source. Maybe some clue there?

Using DrawElements has the same issue with mangled screen. Some stuff isn't cleared "enough" to make minigl reinit. Weird, because Q2 has no problems reinitializing screen modes, etc.

Mysteries....

grelbfarlk 09 August 2018 02:34

Did my demo work for anyone else to test engine without loading a game?

Cowcat 09 August 2018 13:57

Of course it works !. Silly me, didn't know one could throw knives :o but did spend some time burning stuff with (figure out here what it is) :crazy

The slowness on open air playing is due to the inexistence of a proper farclipping code in original Q3. Smoking 1.1 has that particular feature in their qvm's, but even the use of it is half of the way: Maps have to be compiled/worked out before to have flags pointing out where the clip happens. Updating 1.0 qvm in this regard is futile: Yes, I tested it before reading the "map thing".

There is a major issue with 1.1 version paks and other mods out there: To my knowledge they fail to include big-endian functions at the time to load models so the game stops with errors at that particular moment. SG 1.0 on the other hand has the endian check function for those littlelong/littlefloat calls. Basically bigendian cpu's are out of the equation for this mods, until someone figured out what the hell happened (me).

Don't know if HunoPPC sorted out this stuff -if his version is 1.1-, but is what I tested/fixed while doing qvms and dlls for 1.1 (still non working properly).

Other particular mods that have that (possible) issue: Urban Terror 4 and Reaction.
Mod that works: World Of Padman.

My old Q3beta4 source compiled on debian/intel machine, allow UT4 and Reaction work somewhat ok, even that those mods need some modifications. But no luck with PPC/68k.

World of Padman works on warpos: A crazy game but very demanding in resources.

Cowcat 09 August 2018 17:36

Grelbfarlk timedemo test with vertexlight enabled:

MOS/MacMini 1.4G/1G ram.

sg-1.0r2 = 37,2 fps (43.4 sec).

sg-1.0r3 = 45.6 fps (35.4 sec)......:cheese

BULI 09 August 2018 21:22

Quote:

Originally Posted by Cowcat (Post 1259881)
Grelbfarlk timedemo test with vertexlight enabled:

MOS/MacMini 1.4G/1G ram.

sg-1.0r2 = 37,2 fps (43.4 sec).

sg-1.0r3 = 45.6 fps (35.4 sec)......:cheese


Nice progress :great

grelbfarlk 09 August 2018 22:34

Quote:

Originally Posted by Cowcat (Post 1259881)
Grelbfarlk timedemo test with vertexlight enabled:

MOS/MacMini 1.4G/1G ram.

sg-1.0r2 = 37,2 fps (43.4 sec).

sg-1.0r3 = 45.6 fps (35.4 sec)......:cheese

Seconded, very nice!


Not too far off from my 25fps.

grelbfarlk 10 August 2018 05:56

Also, where's that sg-1.0r3?

waldiamiga 10 August 2018 17:26

Quote:

Originally Posted by Cowcat (Post 1259881)
Grelbfarlk timedemo test with vertexlight enabled:

MOS/MacMini 1.4G/1G ram.

sg-1.0r2 = 37,2 fps (43.4 sec).

sg-1.0r3 = 45.6 fps (35.4 sec)......:cheese

Give us ver.1.0r3!
It is possible to make a native version for MorphOS?

Cowcat 10 August 2018 23:17

1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Give us ver.1.0r3!
Ok Ok:crazy.

Moving things out (aka old versions deleted).

Not a particular difference with older r2, just re-enabled "primitives".

So:
"r_primitives 0" for direct single call to drawelements (as Q3 does officially - the fastest)
and "1" is for arrayelements ( default for quite some months ).

Realized that with vertexLight enabled + "prim 0", visuals and speed works quite ok on SG: With vertexLight disabled problems with some models appear like fire on candles missing, etc. But not too dramatic...

...and no: Re-enabling primitive 0 to Q3 doesn't work too well, even with vertexLight and gives worse timedemos...

Cowcat 10 August 2018 23:25

Quote:

It is possible to make a native version for MorphOS?
Very possible, but there are better experts for this matter. Who knows?


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:04.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Page generated in 0.04726 seconds with 11 queries