English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   MarketPlace (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=25)
-   -   Wanted - Super-Card Ami II for A500 (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=97397)

AmigaCD32CD 17 May 2019 00:10

Wanted - Super-Card Ami II for A500
 
I had one of these and want to rebuild my collection

by Jim Drew

https://www.bigbookofamigahardware.c...t.aspx?id=1833

Does anyone have one for sale?

Best

AmigaCD32CD :help

JimDrew 23 May 2019 00:52

I will have to look to see if I have any of these left in inventory. I know I have a bunch of the Supercard Ami I units. Those were the first version of the hardware with dual LEDs and no switch to disable it. We only made a few thousand of those units, so they are pretty rare compared to the Supercard Ami II.

AmigaCD32CD 26 May 2019 20:32

Quote:

Originally Posted by JimDrew (Post 1323020)
I will have to look to see if I have any of these left in inventory. I know I have a bunch of the Supercard Ami I units. Those were the first version of the hardware with dual LEDs and no switch to disable it. We only made a few thousand of those units, so they are pretty rare compared to the Supercard Ami II.

Wow Jim I never expected you to reply.

I used to use the vers with the external unit plus switch and it was great. The Best. I have kicked myself for getting rid of my stuff but apart from this unit I have it all back..

Id be happy to pay the going rate and buy both versions with a free autograph please

JimDrew 27 May 2019 09:19

LOL! I am still going through some boxes. I did locate the original versions, along with a couple of AMIA's and SYBILs (A1000 versions, which are super rare!)

I don't know if I will find any of the Supercard Ami II units, but I will let you know.

AmigaCD32CD 27 May 2019 15:20

Quote:

Originally Posted by JimDrew (Post 1323901)
LOL! I am still going through some boxes. I did locate the original versions, along with a couple of AMIA's and SYBILs (A1000 versions, which are super rare!)

I don't know if I will find any of the Supercard Ami II units, but I will let you know.

i have A500 like before .... cant wait .... :laughing

AmigaCD32CD 27 May 2019 15:22

Quote:

Originally Posted by JimDrew (Post 1323901)
LOL! I am still going through some boxes. I did locate the original versions, along with a couple of AMIA's and SYBILs (A1000 versions, which are super rare!)

I don't know if I will find any of the Supercard Ami II units, but I will let you know.

i have A500 like before .... cant wait ....praying you find them...:bowdown

JimDrew 30 May 2019 06:41

Well... sorry to say, I have exactly 1 original Supercard Ami II. :( That one is for me! :)

I do have 8 of the original Supercard Ami I's.

AmigaCD32CD 30 May 2019 19:05

If the original Mark I work on A500 external disk drive DF1 and DFO please can I buy one. How much for it ?

Thank you Jim

AmigaCD32CD 30 May 2019 19:07

Also if you ever come across another MK II please can I buy it

JimDrew 31 May 2019 10:10

The original works on an A500 or A1000 (only) because it requires DF0/DF1. You could use it on a desktop Amiga if you modded the Amiga to use DF1 as the external, but you need something like our boot drive selector board to do that.

The Supercard Ami I software is not the same as what was used with Supercard Ami II, so it would be missing quite a bit of functionality. I don't know if it would be worth having, except for perhaps nostalgia. :)

AmigaCD32CD 01 June 2019 11:38

Hi Jim

I have a500 so it would be ok...

Does the original I copy as well as Supercard Ami II? If so please can I buy one from you.

If not if you find another Supercard Ami II please can you sell it to me

Cheers :great

JimDrew 02 June 2019 00:42

No, it doesn't copy as well because there is no way to turn it off/on via software. Some of the tricks I used for copying disks was to enable the hardware copier in the middle of a copy (for some tracks or parts of tracks) where PAULA could handle the data better.

AmigaCD32CD 03 June 2019 20:57

oh ok Jim I understand... if you ever have a mark II for sale please let me know

All the best

:crying

JimDrew 04 June 2019 08:19

Will do!

I have considered making some of them again. I just found hundreds of DB23 connectors that are used on the floppy and video ports.

pgovotsos 04 June 2019 11:03

Quote:

Originally Posted by JimDrew (Post 1325299)
Will do!

I have considered making some of them again. I just found hundreds of DB23 connectors that are used on the floppy and video ports.

Would you be interested in selling some of those connectors?

AmigaCD32CD 04 June 2019 21:27

Quote:

Originally Posted by JimDrew (Post 1325299)
Will do!

I have considered making some of them again. I just found hundreds of DB23 connectors that are used on the floppy and video ports.

I hope you do as I was back up expert back in the day and yours is the best by a mile. I always used my backup copy and never the original.

I had 4 Hardware Backups

Blitz
Cyclone
Syncro Express
Your MK II that was the best and had got even better with software 3,2

Respect... :agree

pgovotsos 04 June 2019 22:56

Quote:

Originally Posted by AmigaCD32CD (Post 1325442)
I hope you do as I was back up expert back in the day and yours is the best by a mile. I always used my backup copy and never the original.

I had 4 Hardware Backups

Blitz
Cyclone
Syncro Express
Your MK II that was the best and had got even better with software 3,2

Respect... :agree

His new Supercard is even better. Of course you have to use a PC (yuck, spit) to use it :)

JimDrew 05 June 2019 19:51

Actually, you don't need a PC to use SuperCard Pro. You can control it via one of its two serial ports. I am working on a little Arduino interface to make a portable copy station. :)

I won't sell any of the DB23 connectors until I know if I am going to be using them for some new products.

AmigaCD32CD 05 June 2019 22:07

Quote:

Originally Posted by pgovotsos (Post 1325460)
His new Supercard is even better. Of course you have to use a PC (yuck, spit) to use it :)

Only problem is it doesn't come ready like the Super Card Ami 2 does to connect in parallel (simple and great idea) with software vers 3.2.. I dont know how to connect new supercard pro to a floppy and make it work? Anyone got full instructions?:banghead:bash

PS I have a laptop Pc not desktop or tower

AmigaCD32CD 05 June 2019 22:10

Quote:

Originally Posted by JimDrew (Post 1325672)
Actually, you don't need a PC to use SuperCard Pro. You can control it via one of its two serial ports. I am working on a little Arduino interface to make a portable copy station. :)

I won't sell any of the DB23 connectors until I know if I am going to be using them for some new products.

Jim please always remember 95% of us not clever on PC Stuff like you and we need simple things - Why cant you sell the pro with a floppy drive attached already?


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:52.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Page generated in 0.07431 seconds with 11 queries