English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   Hardware mods (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=105)
-   -   4MB Romy Functional! (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=88182)

SpeedGeek 07 August 2017 18:53

4MB Romy Functional!
 
1 Attachment(s)
Hello guys!

Yes, the 4MB Romy version is functional by Cosmos:

http://leblogdecosmos.blogspot.com/2...mo-a4000d.html

...and the new "Ramy" adapter by Cosmos is interesting:

http://leblogdecosmos.blogspot.com/2...y-arrivee.html

BTW the 4MB version was available (but untested) for a long time now...

Thanks to Cosmos! :cool :great

emufan 07 August 2017 19:57

this again raises the question: Cosmos was banned from EAb, because ... :confused

Matt_H 07 August 2017 21:18

Serious question: What can one put in a 4MB Kickstart? Does 4MB of ROMable stuff even exist? I've got Poseidon and ROM updates in my Deneb Flash, and it's nowhere near full...

Akira 07 August 2017 21:19

Quote:

Originally Posted by emufan (Post 1176775)
this again raises the question: Cosmos was banned from EAb, because ... :confused

Guessing it was this thread:
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=60037

emufan 07 August 2017 21:46

Quote:

Originally Posted by Akira (Post 1176792)
Guessing it was this thread:
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=60037

today noone talks about his patched versions, ppl use them or not.
but we lost an enthusiastic member :/

Matt_H: you can add all the c: commands, there is a script to make a module out of them.
with an editor for example, booting from floppy, or w/o startup-sequence,
can help in some circumstances.
i'm sure, once the possibility is given, some creative minds will come up with more usefull stuff.

SpeedGeek 07 August 2017 22:05

Quote:

Originally Posted by emufan (Post 1176775)
this again raises the question: Cosmos was banned from EAb, because ... :confused

FYI Cosmos was also banned on Amibay for basically the same reason (having a bad temper).

Fortunately, the very generous moderating staff here on EAB understands the profound difference between banning a member and banning all discussion of a banned member. Unfortunately, on Amibay the moderating staff was not so generous. :p

Quote:

Originally Posted by Matt_H (Post 1176791)
Serious question: What can one put in a 4MB Kickstart? Does 4MB of ROMable stuff even exist? I've got Poseidon and ROM updates in my Deneb Flash, and it's nowhere near full...

Well, practically there is about 2MB of ROMable stuff now, maybe more in the future. You don't actually have to use the full 4MB if you don't need it (e.g. a pair of 27C800 EPROMS = 2MB). ;)

Akira 07 August 2017 22:07

If you have more storage space on ROM you can do lots of things!
If this works on A600/A1200 I'm very interested.

Locutus 07 August 2017 22:15

4MB of ROM space would be quite nice for AROS/68k actually.

alexh 08 August 2017 10:30

Very good work by Cosmos (and SpeedGeek).

I still like Cosmos a lot. His work shines above most other hw tinkerers. His blog (even translated by Google) is always a good read.

demolition 08 August 2017 12:17

I guess a 4MB ROM would just take up space from fast ram if used with a CPU with 24 bit address bus? So why not just load those extra modules into fast ram? Yes, it would need to load them from HDD and it will take a few secs but when would you need that much in ROM before booting from HDD? #8 mentioned AROS but I don't know much about that, except that it sounds like it is a massive resource hog. :)

Jope 08 August 2017 18:56

There are no 24bit A4000s. :-)

utri007 08 August 2017 19:19

Quote:

Originally Posted by Matt_H (Post 1176791)
Serious question: What can one put in a 4MB Kickstart? Does 4MB of ROMable stuff even exist? I've got Poseidon and ROM updates in my Deneb Flash, and it's nowhere near full...

Answer is romdisk.device. https://github.com/cnvogelg/romdisk

With it is possible to put bootdisk to rom. Something like CD32 emulator from IdeFIx package, That would make a nice CD32 setup and also allow CD boot. Possible to setup custom OS3.9 setup with HDInstall tools on ROM? etc

emufan 08 August 2017 20:12

Quote:

Originally Posted by utri007 (Post 1176965)
Answer is romdisk.device. https://github.com/cnvogelg/romdisk

it does work, a bit slow - there should be a progress bar or something,
but maybe after 15 seconds you have a working workbench :)
it's like the c64, *power on* and you have a working system - now looking for a C2N to plug in :D

IIRC, the archimedes did it the same way, no boot medium, but could enter it's gui, am I right?
this was a cool feature.

maybe this is usefull for plasmab and his cd32.

#1) speed above when using the debug version!
release version of romdisk.device is much faster: boot time to full workbench: 1 second

kgc210 08 August 2017 20:18

Quote:

Originally Posted by emufan (Post 1176973)
it does work, a bit slow - there should be a progress bar or something,
but maybe after 15 seconds you have a working workbench :)
it's like the c64, *power on* and you have a working system - now looking for a C2N port :D

maybe this is usefull for plasmab and his cd32.

You can get the 2MB ROM chips in 100ns or 50ns versions.

50ns is quicker than "FAST RAM" as most CPU cards that use 80ns down to 60ns RAM?

Or is there something else in the A4000 limiting ROM access to slower speeds?
I know there is a jumper on the motherboard for ROM speed. But can that be bypassed all together and force them to runt 50ns?

idrougge 08 August 2017 20:27

Obviously the speed of the ROM is not the limiting factor, or they wouldn't have put the core components of the operating system there.

emufan 08 August 2017 20:27

oh, i should've added: I did it in emulation, using JIT 030/882 32 mb Z3 fast ram.

utri007 08 August 2017 21:45

2 Attachment(s)
Romdisk in boot menu and CD32 emulator inside of kickstart. If CD is not presented it boots to very Basic Workbench 3.1.

trixster 08 August 2017 21:45

Quote:

Originally Posted by emufan (Post 1176775)
this again raises the question: Cosmos was banned from EAb, because ... :confused

Maybe it's time to extend an olive branch and see if he'd like to return? In all the dealings I've had with him he's been nothing but friendly and helpful. Let bygones be bygones?

emufan 08 August 2017 22:20

Quote:

Originally Posted by trixster (Post 1176997)
Maybe it's time to extend an olive branch and see if he'd like to return? In all the dealings I've had with him he's been nothing but friendly and helpful. Let bygones be bygones?

good idea, 1st step should be to unlock his account :)

Quote:

Originally Posted by utri007 (Post 1176996)
Romdisk in boot menu and CD32 emulator inside of kickstart. If CD is not presented it boots to very Basic Workbench 3.1.

thats cool, I was thinking about that, but the author already did it the right way :cool
this way you have a emergency disk, with tools you can choose on ur own.

btw. one reason for the "slow" speed is the result of packing/unpacking the content of the disk.

#1) it is ultra fast, maybe faster than booting the C64.
initially i was using the debug version, now i 'm using the release build of the romdisk.device.
now u push reset , one second later you have the workbench :D

Akira 08 August 2017 22:53

I had never heard of ROMdisk. It's a great idea.
Can I softkick a modified ROM with MAPROM or does this only work with real ROM chips/emulation?


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:02.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Page generated in 0.04845 seconds with 11 queries