English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   support.FS-UAE (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=122)
-   -   FS-UAE Developement Series 1.1.x - "Freeze/Crash Issue (Intel GMA X3100)" (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=63910)

AmigaOnline 14 April 2012 23:38

FS-UAE Developement Series 1.1.x - "Freeze/Crash Issue (Intel GMA X3100)"
 
Hi FS-UAE users! :)

I've found another issue that occurs using FS-UAE 1.1.2 and later.

The emulator freezes:
-when it has just been started (black screen/about 5 seconds)
-when the F12 key is pressed for the first time (freeze during 4 seconds)
-when the FS-UAE window has been minimized and restored (freeze and crash)

System:

-CPU: Core2Duo/2.40 Ghz
-CHIPSET: i965
-RAM: 2GB
-OS: Windows XP SP3
-GPU: Intel GMA X3100 (128MB/Shared memory) - Driver V6.14.10.5218
-What else? :p

OpenGL compatibility (Intel):
http://www.intel.com/support/graphics/sb/cs-010479.htm

Test version (1.1.5 - Freeze/Crash issue partially fixed):
http://fengestad.no/fs-uae/files/fs-...t1-windows.zip

FS-UAE version 1.1.2:
* You can also configure parallel port joysticks from the menu now.
* Show CD-CDROM drive selector in GUI (for all Amiga models) if CD-ROM drive is enabled.
* Cloanto ROMs are now properly scanned on startup. No need to specify kickstart_file unless you want to use a non-standard kickstart.
* Choice between soft and hard reset when choosing "Amiga Reset"; also gives a bit more protection against accidental reset.
* Fix crash on Linux/Mac when non-existing CD is specified for cdrom_drive_0.
* No scanlines are rendered in RTG mode unless the new option rtg_scanlines is also set to 1.
* Quit FS-UAE if Alt+F4 (Cmd+F4) is pressed.
* Fixed a bug where all subsequent hard drives were mounted read-only if one was mounted read-only.
* Re-enabled bsdsocket.library for Linux and Mac.
* Use path resolving function for *_dir path options too.
* Match more disk names with built-in regexp (for name shortening).
* Write read configuration key/values to log file (for debugging, no need to send config + log file any longer; just the log file will do).
* Re-organized the FS-UAE on-screen main menu.
* Menu font re-drawn a bit smaller and thinner.
* Use only older OpenGL features, should work fine on OpenGL 1.4/1.5 implementations now (possibly also OpenGL 1.1).
* Use a texture atlas for GUI elements to reduce the amount of state changes.
* BEAMCON0 hack for P96 restricted to only setting PAL bit.
* Support new naming scheme for controller configuration files (used for config files created by new new external controller configuration tool).
* Added controller configurations: usb_2_axis_8_button_gamepad.ini, (thrustmaster) t_mini_wireless.ini
* Showing FS-UAE application icon in window menu and application switcher on Windows.
* Disable most Windows hot keys (the "Windows" key, etc) when running FS-UAE.
* Disable sticky keys shortcut (and toggle keys etc) on Windows so these don't interfere with game play.

Any help welcomed! :great
The topic will be updated consequently :)

FrodeSolheim 15 April 2012 00:04

Is this one any better?
http://fengestad.no/fs-uae/files/fs-...t1-windows.zip

AmigaOnline 15 April 2012 00:16

Quote:

Originally Posted by FrodeSolheim (Post 812695)

Issue freexed :D Yes it's far better :great

FrodeSolheim 15 April 2012 00:19

Quote:

Originally Posted by AmigaOnline (Post 812698)
Issue freexed :D Yes it's far better :great

Good :) Just to be 100% sure what fixed it, would you test the recently released 1.5.0 (non-test1) too?
EDIT: I meant 1.1.5 ;)

AmigaOnline 15 April 2012 00:23

Quote:

Originally Posted by FrodeSolheim (Post 812699)
Good :) Just to be 100% sure what fixed it, would you test the recently released 1.5.0 (non-test1) too?

yes, the 1.1.5 (non-test1) is affected by the freeze issue :)
What was the problem exactly?

FrodeSolheim 15 April 2012 00:28

Quote:

Originally Posted by AmigaOnline (Post 812702)
yes, the 1.5.0 (non-test1) is affected by the freeze issue :)
What was the problem exactly?

The only difference between 1.1.5 and 1.1.5test1 is that the texture used for text rendering / caching is 1024x1024 instead of 2048x2048. (Current consequence of using 1024x1024 (without further modification) is that the text strings cannot be as long, and fewer strings can be cached).

(But the strange thing is that the 2048x2048 texture works fine on a much older and weaker Intel GMA 945 chipset / Acer Aspire One..)

AmigaOnline 15 April 2012 00:35

Quote:

Originally Posted by FrodeSolheim (Post 812705)
The only difference between 1.1.5 and 1.1.5test1 is that the texture used for text rendering / caching is 1024x1024 instead of 2048x2048. (Current consequence of using 1024x1024 (without further modification) is that the text strings cannot be as long, and fewer strings can be cached).

(But the strange thing is that the 2048x2048 texture works fine on a much older and weaker Intel GMA 945 chipset / Acer Aspire One..)


Hehe, yes it's strange :)
On my side, it's now better (almost like the 1.0.x versions). It's not perfect because the FS-UAE window can't be used when it has been minimized and restored (but this time, no crash :D).
I've noticed that switching from full screen to window takes a lot of time too. The image is not displayed/resized instantly :) (compared to the old versions)

FrodeSolheim 15 April 2012 00:49

Quote:

Originally Posted by AmigaOnline (Post 812707)
Hehe, yes it's strange :)
On my side, it's now better (almost like the 1.0.x versions). It's not perfect because the FS-UAE window can't be used when it has been minimized and restored (but this time, no crash :D).

How can't it be used?

Quote:

Originally Posted by AmigaOnline (Post 812707)
I've noticed that switching from full screen to window takes a lot of time too. The image is not displayed instantly :) (compared to the old versions)

The OpenGL context is destroyed and recreated, and textures are re-uploaded, when switching to/from fullscreen...

I'll try to use "video_format" (BGRA) for text uploads as well, should be faster, especially on Intel...

AmigaOnline 15 April 2012 00:56

Quote:

Originally Posted by FrodeSolheim (Post 812710)
How can't it be used?

in fact you can see the window (yeaah), but it's frozen/empty or white ;)
One exception though: if a very (very very) small FS-UAE window is minimized/restored, it works! :D (no freeze/no crash)


Quote:

Originally Posted by FrodeSolheim (Post 812710)
The OpenGL context is destroyed and recreated, and textures are re-uploaded, when switching to/from fullscreen...

I'll try to use "video_format" (BGRA) for text uploads as well, should be faster, especially on Intel...

It's possible for me to try other test versions later :)

FrodeSolheim 15 April 2012 01:26

Using BGRA format by default for text rendering:
http://fengestad.no/fs-uae/files/fs-...t2-windows.zip

AmigaOnline 15 April 2012 01:36

Quote:

Originally Posted by FrodeSolheim (Post 812719)
Using BGRA format by default for text rendering:
http://fengestad.no/fs-uae/files/fs-...t2-windows.zip

Exactly like test 1 :) not better, not worse :p


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:24.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Page generated in 0.05372 seconds with 11 queries