English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   support.Apps (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=8)
-   -   DOPUS archive creation: Default directory? (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=102714)

Weaselrama 13 June 2020 06:52

DOPUS archive creation: Default directory?
 
First, I've searched through EAB for my particular issue and can't find anything that specifically deals with this. I created entries in DOPUS 4 to create archives using PKZip (7z). They create the archives I specified as .7z, Bzip2, and GZip with no issue using the {F}. I specified a default file name for the archive in the AmigaDOS to make it easier and more straightforward as I can always change the name of the archive.

Here's the issue: Whether I specify the directory with the {d} function or fire the directory requester with {Rd}, the archive is always created in the root of the DirectoryOpus app folder. I have tried everything I can think of, including checking user-startup, .../S, and .../env-archive to see if something is setting the default folder, not to mention DOPUS configuration. I'm stumped.

Is my syntax wrong? Here's a couple things I've tried:

7za a archive.7z {F} {Rd} (or {F}/{Rd} and {F}{Rd})
7za a archive.7z {F} {d} path to directory

When I try {Rd} the directory requestor comes up (with the root of my DOPUS app directory listed!) and when I try switching to the directory I want to create the archive it STILL creates it in the DOPUS app directory. Help?

Weaselrama 13 June 2020 06:58

I should have added this: Dopus v4.17 pre21.

npagonis73 13 June 2020 08:33

DOPUS archive creation: Default directory?
 
I think it is a syntax issue. In my experience when dopus dumps things in its dir, it is because it didn’t understand from the command sysntax where to put the file. Try “{Rd}/“ with the quotes. So it should be 7z {f} “{Rd}/“

Weaselrama 13 June 2020 08:40

Quote:

Originally Posted by npagonis73 (Post 1407507)
I think it is a syntax issue. In my experience when dopus dumps things in its dir, it is because it didn't understand from the command sysntax where to put the file. Try "{Rd}/" with the quotes.

I tried it but no go. Thanks for the suggestion, though. The file requester comes up and lets me change dirs as it did before - still dumps it in Dopus dir.

npagonis73 13 June 2020 08:49

7za command doesn’t need any option after the 7za? Like in lha or zip we use x or -x or r etc?

Weaselrama 13 June 2020 08:50

Quote:

Originally Posted by npagonis73 (Post 1407509)
7za command doesn't need any option after the 7za? Like in lha or zip we use x or -x or r etc?

It requires "a" for add, "x" for extract.

npagonis73 13 June 2020 08:52

So type here the full command you use in dopus so I can try it in mine

Weaselrama 13 June 2020 08:59

Quote:

Originally Posted by npagonis73 (Post 1407512)
So type here the full command you use in dopus so I can try it in mine

7za a archive.7z {F} {Rd}

Alternately I've removed the spaces between the functions, added a "/" between them, etc., plus your previous suggestion. I could remove the set archive name and replace it with a file requestor but one step at a time.

npagonis73 13 June 2020 09:10

I don’t understand the archive.7z and then F? Isn’t it the same thing

npagonis73 13 June 2020 09:14

DOPUS archive creation: Default directory?
 
I would write

7za a {F} “{Rd}/“

Weaselrama 13 June 2020 09:22

Quote:

Originally Posted by npagonis73 (Post 1407518)
I would write

7za a {F} "{Rd}/"

That didn't work. PKzip requires the archive name be specified. I'll try a file requester and a directory requestor - let's see what that does.

npagonis73 13 June 2020 09:25

DOPUS archive creation: Default directory?
 
Yes then just add a file requestor and leave the destination part in tact

npagonis73 13 June 2020 09:28

Or you could change the destination into “RAM:{o}/" so it creates a folder same as the name of the archive file you try to extract in ram.

AMIGASYSTEM 13 June 2020 09:31

Quote:

Originally Posted by Weaselrama (Post 1407521)
That didn't work. PKzip requires the archive name be specified. I'll try a file requester and a directory requestor - let's see what that does.


With Dopus4 you can also see the contents of the 7.z, Zip, LHA and LZX Archives without the need to unpack them on another path, see video.

In the video there are the two methods and their file associations


https://drive.google.com/file/d/1l_g...4hwRcYNJH/view

Weaselrama 13 June 2020 09:31

Nope - that didn't work either. Actually I tried that and a lot of other stuff/syntax.

npagonis73 13 June 2020 09:33

Where is the error coming up now? In the file request or the destination?

AMIGASYSTEM 13 June 2020 10:00

Quote:

Originally Posted by Weaselrama (Post 1407521)
That didn't work. PKzip requires the archive name be specified. I'll try a file requester and a directory requestor - let's see what that does.

That's how it works:

7za a "{d}{RsEnter Archive Name}" {O}

- CD Source
- Do All File
- Out Put Windows
- Recursive Directories
- Rescan Destination

Weaselrama 13 June 2020 14:44

Quote:

Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM (Post 1407536)
That's how it works:

7za a "{d}{RsEnter Archive Name}" {O}

- CD Source
- Do All File
- Out Put Windows
- Recursive Directories
- Rescan Destination

No, no...you're misunderstanding what I'm trying to do.

I want to highlight the files I want to add to the archive and send the resulting archive to the directory of my choice. Right now, I can create the archive properly, but it sends it to the DirectoryOpus app folder as discussed above. This command of yours actually does nothing but ask for an archive name and then it sends a null file to the root of the directory where the files I highlighted reside. Thanks, though.

AMIGASYSTEM 13 June 2020 16:08

Quote:

Originally Posted by Weaselrama (Post 1407568)
No, no...you're misunderstanding what I'm trying to do.

Unfortunately, that's what I understand from the translation !
Quote:

This command of yours actually does nothing but ask for an archive name and then it sends a null file to the root of the directory where the files I highlighted reside. Thanks, though.
No with my procedure once the files are highlighted the archive will be created in the Path set on the second window of Dopus, so you can hijack it to any path.

Weaselrama 13 June 2020 16:31

Quote:

Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM (Post 1407591)
Unfortunately, that's what I understand from the translation !

No with my procedure once the files are highlighted the archive will be created in the Path set on the second window of Dopus, so you can hijack it to any path.

I apologize - I have French friends whom I speak with via Google Translate. Google does a nice job with English/French but sometimes I still misunderstand what they write to me. I can't imagine what it must be like trying to interpret our English when it isn't your first language especially when it's technical English.

However - I tried the AmigaDOS command exactly as you have it written. The string requester came up and asked for the archive name. It created a null file with the name of the archive I specified in the string requester in the root of the directory where the files I wanted to archive were.

Perhaps this might have worked with LHArc but doesn't work with PKZip. For now, I'll just specify the name of the archive and rename the created file in the DirectoryOpus app directory. I've checked and double-checked and at least, the archive.7z has been created correctly and can be unarchived correctly.

Perhaps this is a bug in Dopus 4.17 pre21? I'm certain, however, it can be resolved.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:27.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Page generated in 0.05590 seconds with 11 queries