English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   support.Hardware (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=20)
-   -   dbk 1240 amiga 1200 (Kickstart Remaping) (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=47505)

sebmacfly 17 September 2009 15:04

dbk 1240 amiga 1200 (Kickstart Remaping)
 
Hello there! :p

I'm back from ITALY!! :D

Anybody know how to do a kickstart Remaping using a DBK 1240 Accelerator card?
And how to patch the IDE using this accelerator card?

Thanks, have a good day all!

rkauer 17 September 2009 18:35

Your 1240 is the Mongoose version (50MHz)? Other versions need a firmware upgrade to work with 3.1 ROM or you'll not be able to have RAM on it.

BTW: what IDE patch? You mean the newer SCSI.device found on Aminet?

Mozzerfan 18 September 2009 03:58

Quote:

Originally Posted by sebmacfly (Post 595528)
Hello there! :p

I'm back from ITALY!! :D

Anybody know how to do a kickstart Remaping using a DBK 1240 Accelerator card?
And how to patch the IDE using this accelerator card?

Thanks, have a good day all!

For the kickstart remapping, you could try the "CPU Fastrom" command, or MUFastrom from aminet. http://aminet.net/search?query=mufastrom

For the IDE patch (I assume you mean the scsi.device patch), you can use loadmodule from aminet to activate the patched scsi.device http://aminet.net/search?query=loadmodule

Rebel-CD32 18 September 2009 05:57

I've found the best way to remap the Kickstart with my DKB 1240 is to use the utility that came with the card, ReMapKS. I've put it in The Zone for you, or you can download it here - http://home.exetel.com.au/amiga/ReMapKS.lha

Just drop it in your WBStartup drawer, piece of cake!

sebmacfly 21 September 2009 13:20

Thanks all... i'll try and lett you know...

Nightshft 03 January 2020 01:18

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rebel-CD32 (Post 595755)
I've found the best way to remap the Kickstart with my DKB 1240 is to use the utility that came with the card, ReMapKS. I've put it in The Zone for you, or you can download it here - http://home.exetel.com.au/amiga/ReMapKS.lha...

I'm searching for ReMapKS but the link is dead and I can't find it anywhere. Anybody got a clue?

grelbfarlk 03 January 2020 03:58

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nightshft (Post 1368861)
I'm searching for ReMapKS but the link is dead and I can't find it anywhere. Anybody got a clue?

You can get it from the DKB Cobra disk too, here:
http://amiga.resource.cx/exp/cobra

Nightshft 03 January 2020 15:09

Thank you grelbfarlk. Download works fine. :great

However I don't gain any speed with remapKS.

When I start Sysinfo 3.24 without remapKS, all the libraries already are at 0x1000.xxxx (which is the start of the mongoose's fastram) and I'm not sure why.

I'm using ClassicWB Lite, does it do maprom somehow automatically?

The card is a DKB 1240 "Mongoose" which is a 030 @ 50Mhz. The 030 is a full version, so including a MMU.

Edit: Sorry I overlooked something: At top of Sysinfo "kickstart" is at $00f8.0000 but all the libs and devices are in Fastram at $1000.0000+. Starting remapKS or not using it doesn't make a difference.
Does this mean the kick is mapped or not? (If not I wonder if remapKS of Cobra and Mongoose are compatible.)


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:32.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Page generated in 0.11031 seconds with 11 queries