English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   News (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=29)
-   -   IBrowse 2.5.6 + AmiSSL v5 Released (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=110715)

indigolemon 08 June 2022 18:28

Quote:

Originally Posted by AC/DC HACKER! (Post 1549219)
I was wondering about to Time/Date as well. Sometimes I catch that my A4000's has lagged behind some.

There's a nice NTP client in the UHC Tools package: http://aminet.net/package/util/misc/UHCTools

I have it run when Roadshow has started my networking to correct any drift :)

wiz12 08 June 2022 18:58

Quote:

Originally Posted by indigolemon (Post 1549214)
It is, it means you are looking at the first tab (or Browser in iBrowse parlance). Go to the project menu and choose New Browser and you'll see what I mean.


Thanks for the explanation indigolemon, here's me thinking it was a bug all along. :laughing

Futaura 09 June 2022 16:07

Quote:

Originally Posted by wiz12 (Post 1549224)
Thanks for the explanation indigolemon, here's me thinking it was a bug all along. :laughing

<pedantic>Technically, it is a unique number assigned to a browser. This could be a window too, not necessarily a tab.</pedantic> You'll see the numbers show up in the "Windows" menu too. I think this indicator originally pre-dated the existence of browser tabs, where it was used exclusively to number the open browser windows.

wiz12 09 June 2022 17:22

Quote:

Originally Posted by Futaura (Post 1549341)
<pedantic>Technically, it is a unique number assigned to a browser. This could be a window too, not necessarily a tab.</pedantic> You'll see the numbers show up in the "Windows" menu too. I think this indicator originally pre-dated the existence of browser tabs, where it was used exclusively to number the open browser windows.

When it comes to the browsing on the Amiga why would anyone have or need multiple browser windows open though? Would it be to act like like multiple open tabs on modern browsers?

Thorham 10 June 2022 04:22

Quote:

Originally Posted by wiz12 (Post 1549357)
When it comes to the browsing on the Amiga why would anyone have or need multiple browser windows open though? Would it be to act like like multiple open tabs on modern browsers?

IBrowse already has multiple tabs, so who knows.

Jope 10 June 2022 09:31

Quote:

Originally Posted by wiz12 (Post 1549357)
When it comes to the browsing on the Amiga why would anyone have or need multiple browser windows open though? Would it be to act like like multiple open tabs on modern browsers?

Mental context? I sometimes open multiple browser windows even on my modern day computer, each one has a set of tabs related to a certain task or device.

Leon Besson 28 June 2022 21:17

So today Bromigos! I have updated my Checkmate A1200 + Blizzard BBPC 040/160 with GREX and Voodoo4 plus RTL8029 network card. To iBrowse 2.5.6 with AMISSL 5.1.

Now when downloading large files off Aminet, it appears that the download manager locks up Amiga OS :banghead

For example this Amiga wallpaper file;

http://aminet.net/package/pix/back/amigangwallpaper

When using iBrowse 2.5.5 then this works fine :shocked

Running the BPPC SCSI with SCSI2SD and Amiga OS 3.1.4 with PFS3 filesystem.

Anyone else come across this?

nogginthenog 29 June 2022 18:46

Does it happen when you download to RAM:?
(assuming you have 14Mb of RAM!)

Leon Besson 29 June 2022 20:24

Quote:

Originally Posted by nogginthenog (Post 1552134)
Does it happen when you download to RAM:?
(assuming you have 14Mb of RAM!)

I’ll give it a go. But why would it be with iBrowse 2.5.6 and NOT 2.5.5? :shocked

With 2.5.5 it’s fine to disk. :great

Futaura 29 June 2022 20:57

Quote:

Originally Posted by Leon Besson (Post 1552156)
I’ll give it a go. But why would it be with iBrowse 2.5.6 and NOT 2.5.5? :shocked

With 2.5.5 it’s fine to disk. :great

Nothing should have changed in any areas of code that would affect this.

Does it fail when using HTTP, HTTPS or both? (Aminet allows both)

Leon Besson 29 June 2022 22:15

Quote:

Originally Posted by Futaura (Post 1552160)
Nothing should have changed in any areas of code that would affect this.

Does it fail when using HTTP, HTTPS or both? (Aminet allows both)

I’ll check it out. I’m using predefined bookmarks to open the pages, then just clicking on the download for the LHA file.

Will try the manual way to see what happens. Thanks for the suggestion. :great

Will report back.

Leon Besson 30 June 2022 00:22

Okay. So I’ve tried a few things. I have a feeling I might have an issue with my setup somewhere.

Have taken my auto Samba share off from starting up on startup. Removed my write and read TCP setting from 46 to default.

Tried downloading to RAM disk instead of HDD.

It’s a hit and miss affair. Both 2.5.5 and 2.5.6 now suffer with this big file. It will either attempt to start to download and freeze straight away or start to download and get to either 10/14 or 60% before the system freezes up or struggles with the mouse pointer.

Currently running a BPPC 040/160 with G-REx and Amiga OS 3.1.4.1 setup with a Voodoo 4 and RTL 10MB/sec NIC.

Will play around some more, but have a feeling this is a Hardware issue right now.

Thanks Mangs! :great

jerseywurzel 30 June 2022 16:26

Quote:

Originally Posted by Leon Besson (Post 1552197)
Okay. So I've tried a few things. I have a feeling I might have an issue with my setup somewhere.

Have taken my auto Samba share off from starting up on startup. Removed my write and read TCP setting from 46 to default.

Tried downloading to RAM disk instead of HDD.

It's a hit and miss affair. Both 2.5.5 and 2.5.6 now suffer with this big file. It will either attempt to start to download and freeze straight away or start to download and get to either 10/14 or 60% before the system freezes up or struggles with the mouse pointer.

Currently running a BPPC 040/160 with G-REx and Amiga OS 3.1.4.1 setup with a Voodoo 4 and RTL 10MB/sec NIC.

Will play around some more, but have a feeling this is a Hardware issue right now.

Thanks Mangs! :great

So first off, I'm late joning this thread - I downloaded IBrowse and AmiSSL as soon as they were released and have not suffered any problems as described here.

I also downloaded the above wallpaper file to disk without problem.

I have a Towered A1200, Blizzard 060, 400mb RAM, Radeon RTG, Mediator and Fast Ethernet card.

How do I find the Revision number of my 060? Ive not had any of the Blank Pages that have been reported.

Finally, thanks to Oliver for still working & improving AmiSSL & IBrowse - I'm using them both to write this.

Also, YAM is so much faster nowadays.

Wurzel

nogginthenog 30 June 2022 17:14

Quote:

Originally Posted by jerseywurzel (Post 1552315)
How do I find the Revision number of my 060? Ive not had any of the Blank Pages that have been reported.

If you are using 68060.library from MMULib you won't be affected.

Leon Besson 30 June 2022 21:53

Quote:

Originally Posted by jerseywurzel (Post 1552315)
So first off, I'm late joning this thread - I downloaded IBrowse and AmiSSL as soon as they were released and have not suffered any problems as described here.

I also downloaded the above wallpaper file to disk without problem.

I have a Towered A1200, Blizzard 060, 400mb RAM, Radeon RTG, Mediator and Fast Ethernet card.

How do I find the Revision number of my 060? Ive not had any of the Blank Pages that have been reported.

Finally, thanks to Oliver for still working & improving AmiSSL & IBrowse - I'm using them both to write this.

Also, YAM is so much faster nowadays.

Wurzel

Have no issues on my Towered 060/BPPC with mediator and 100Mb NIC either.

The problem seems to stem from G-REX setup ;)

To find your 060 revision. Either use “WhichAmiga” or Amitestkit :great

The blank pages are around Rev 1 to rev 5 060 CPUs, but is fixed if you use THORsMMULibs install which fixes the 060 bug. Rev 6 is NOT effected :great

jerseywurzel 01 July 2022 11:25

Quote:

Originally Posted by nogginthenog (Post 1552332)
If you are using 68060.library from MMULib you won't be affected.

Thanks,
I used WhichAmiga and apparently, I have a Revision 1.
Central Processing Unit: MC68060 50.0 MHz (rev 1)
Floating Point Unit: 68060fpu
Memory Management Unit: 68060mmu running
Custom graphics chip: AGA Lisa 4203 (rev 0)
Custom animation chip: AGA PAL Alice 8374, rev 3-4
Other custom chip(s): Paula 8364 (rev 0), Gayle (rev 13)
Graphics system: Picasso96
Hardware Clock: clock found
Max. Chipmem available: 2032 K
Max. Fastmem available: 422400 K
ROM chip version: 47.96 (Kickstart unknown)
Workbench version: 47.3 (Workbench unknown)
SetPatch version: 47.5
Expansion board(s):
8512/17: Phase 5 Digital Products Blizzard 12x0 (@$00EA0000 128k)
2206/60: ELBOX-Computer MEDIATOR 1200 TX PCI busboard (@$00EC0000 128k)
2206/188: ELBOX-Computer opt. space for MEDIATOR PCI 1200 TX memory (@$00200000 8M)

However, I seem to remember in the distant past, downloading MMULib. In fact, I just checked and I am using the 060 Lib from that download, version 46.4. Hence the reason I don't get the blank pages, I guess.

Leon Besson 01 July 2022 18:10

Quote:

Originally Posted by jerseywurzel (Post 1552438)
Thanks,
I used WhichAmiga and apparently, I have a Revision 1.
Central Processing Unit: MC68060 50.0 MHz (rev 1)
Floating Point Unit: 68060fpu
Memory Management Unit: 68060mmu running
Custom graphics chip: AGA Lisa 4203 (rev 0)
Custom animation chip: AGA PAL Alice 8374, rev 3-4
Other custom chip(s): Paula 8364 (rev 0), Gayle (rev 13)
Graphics system: Picasso96
Hardware Clock: clock found
Max. Chipmem available: 2032 K
Max. Fastmem available: 422400 K
ROM chip version: 47.96 (Kickstart unknown)
Workbench version: 47.3 (Workbench unknown)
SetPatch version: 47.5
Expansion board(s):
8512/17: Phase 5 Digital Products Blizzard 12x0 (@$00EA0000 128k)
2206/60: ELBOX-Computer MEDIATOR 1200 TX PCI busboard (@$00EC0000 128k)
2206/188: ELBOX-Computer opt. space for MEDIATOR PCI 1200 TX memory (@$00200000 8M)

However, I seem to remember in the distant past, downloading MMULib. In fact, I just checked and I am using the 060 Lib from that download, version 46.4. Hence the reason I don't get the blank pages, I guess.

Yep ThorMMU is fixing the issue there Mang! :great


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:30.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Page generated in 0.07407 seconds with 11 queries