English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (https://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   Amiga scene (https://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   Given this info, is it possible to port Diablo to the Amiga? (https://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=97950)

b0lt-thrower 01 July 2019 18:09

Given this info, is it possible to port Diablo to the Amiga?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5tADL_fmsHQ

Essentially, there's enough debug code on the Diablo (PC version) CD-ROM that a single coder reconstructed the code to run on just about anything, and the video's creator ported it to the Nintendo Switch in a single evening.

Just curious - I am not a coder!

kamelito 01 July 2019 18:11

Well only doing the disassembly would cost more. After it is x86 code and the Switch is ARM...

DamienD 01 July 2019 19:29

Funny you should mention this, there's a thread from 2 weeks ago about just that: Diablo demo conversion for Amiga!!!

b0lt-thrower 01 July 2019 23:09

Quote:

Originally Posted by DamienD (Post 1330115)
Funny you should mention this, there's a thread from 2 weeks ago about just that: Diablo demo conversion for Amiga!!!

Most excellent! I've followed up in that thread.

Marlon_ 02 July 2019 09:45

Quote:

Originally Posted by DamienD (Post 1330115)

That thread was not about this though.

This would either require SDL2 to be ported to AmigaOS 3.x or DevilutionX to be backported to SDL1.2. Either way as it’s written now it requires OpenGL...

saimon69 02 July 2019 17:54

Am honest: even though i would love Diablo on Amiga i deduce that a 1:1 port would be tough for a machine that has less than a 030, lots of stuff happening: real time turn based, bunch of monsters, 256 colors hi-res, dynamic lighting and wall transparency;

however we might follow some of the footprints and create a similar game optimized for the platform, but definitely will not be a short task

Samurai_Crow 02 July 2019 19:06

Quote:

Originally Posted by saimon69 (Post 1330275)