English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   support.WinUAE (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   winuae ryzen 3600x perfomance (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=99837)

White 28 November 2019 09:22

winuae ryzen 3600x perfomance
 
Someone uses the ryzen 3600x to emulate the 4.1 FE update 1 Classic 53.71
I'd like to know how performance is with this processor.
Odyssey youtube etc.

Thanks!

Pyromania 28 November 2019 10:24

I would like to know this too.

White 28 November 2019 10:41

@Pyromania
@All
My question arises because usually only the installation of the system is shown on youtube.
But it would be important to see the performance when actually using the applications.
Personally my 4.1 works fine.
I use a simple I5 2400 but I would like to see the performance on a ryzen 3600X to see the real performance differences.
If you really get superior performance.
Or if the limit is only winuae regardless of a higher processor.
Thanks.

Ian 28 November 2019 11:14

I've got a 3800x but no 4.1

It's better at emulation across the board than my old i7 4790k was, noticeably faster in more demanding emulated systems such as PS3. Not really tried winuae with it. Only had it set up for a couple of weeks.

White 28 November 2019 14:12

@Ian
Thanks for the reply,
currently the prices are very good for the ryzen
in reality I would need only a motherboard with bios eventually updated a ryzen processor and 16gb of ddr4 memory, I already have all the rest hd ssd, cabinet etc. my only doubt is my geforce msi 750Ti gtx (which I will later change later) if it is backwards compatible with the motherboard
I will wait for the opinion of someone with the 4.1 with a ryzen 3600x or similar ryzen
The winuae emulation with the 4.1 is excellent, I would really like to see if there are substantial differences with a new generation processor in terms of speed.
Thanks for every advice and sorry The OT

Ian 28 November 2019 21:56

What is a good benchmark to run on the Amiga side of things, I'll run a test or two so you can get the idea on performance.

White 29 November 2019 15:00

@Ian
Some tests that can be carried out are
odyssey with youtube possibly with a different useragent
odyssey with yt.rexx associated with mickjT-mplayer
smtube with associated mickjT-mplayer
ffplay with aiostreams twitchtv etc.
e-uae with the jit activated in the original program (NOT IN WINUAE)
emotion player
The reaction times of the opening of the windows the copying of the files etc.
The games are not important even if for example quake, quake 2 work well.
But they could be a yardstick for speed
Leaving aside the support of the graphics card currently only UAEGFX is supported.

to tell the truth I also use a notebook with win10 and debian but it is very slow the processor is a simple AMD A9 9420 (R5 graphics card)
but for example e-uae works perfectly as well as emotion player, instead odyssey is slow but once used yt.rexx the videos can be seen without problems, so without any doubt the processor is important you should see in terms of speed the difference of how much increases for example if 50% or even 100% etc.


unfortunately I can't make a video with the notebook because the program that records winuae in action with 4.1 slows everything down and you don't see the real performance.
Eventually I can prove it by recording it with the smartphone

this with regards to my curiosity about winuae
the rest is simply a hardware upgrade for other uses even if the I5 2400 CPU I have to say that it still does its job.

If you do tests, thank you for your patience, for any other suggestions you can contact me in mp if this can be useful.

Anubis 29 November 2019 17:21

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ian (Post 1361922)
I've got a 3800x but no 4.1

It's better at emulation across the board than my old i7 4790k was, noticeably faster in more demanding emulated systems such as PS3. Not really tried winuae with it. Only had it set up for a couple of weeks.

There is PS3 emulator worth using? Buy, I am out of emulation loop.... (not emulating PS2 either :))

Can you run C64 emulation @ 100%? :D

Ian 29 November 2019 18:00

Quote:

Originally Posted by Anubis (Post 1362143)
There is PS3 emulator worth using? Buy, I am out of emulation loop.... (not emulating PS2 either :))

Can you run C64 emulation @ 100%? :D

Yeah rpcs3 works alright on my pc but it is a bit of a beast (will be better when I get a 3950x in there lol)

Misclegend 30 November 2019 01:36

winuae is a 32 bit app

the ryzen 5 and 7 are not very fast in 32 bits apps compared with new intel cpus
so unless you use the winuae 64 bit version without JIT...then yes... those new AMDS are fast in 64 bits apps

tero 30 November 2019 02:34

Quote:

Originally Posted by Misclegend (Post 1362202)
the winuae 64 bit version without JIT

I'm not sure about WinUAE as i don't have windows but fs-uae is 64bit and has JIT. Doesn't that came from WinUAE?

TroyWilkins 30 November 2019 02:56

I don't have a 3rd gen Ryzen, but I do have a 2nd gen Ryzen laptop (Ryzen 5 3500U), however I don't have any version of AmigaOS after 3.9 to test with.

Rotareneg 30 November 2019 04:37

Quote:

Originally Posted by Misclegend (Post 1362202)
winuae is a 32 bit app

the ryzen 5 and 7 are not very fast in 32 bits apps compared with new intel cpus
so unless you use the winuae 64 bit version without JIT...then yes... those new AMDS are fast in 64 bits apps


The 64 bit version of WinUAE does have JIT.

White 30 November 2019 06:42

@Misclegend
@tero
@Rotareneg
There is probably some confusion about the amigaos 4.1 FE classic 53.71 emulation with the update 1
winuae with 4.1 does not support 32bit and 64bit JIT.
winuae is a fantastic emulation for the 3.xx version where JIT is supported.
Moreover the 32bit version supports in some cases wazp3d for some applications with "hardware acceleration"
While the 64bit version does not fully support wazp3d always using the 3.xx
Returning to the 4.1 FE Classic Toni did a great experiment a long time ago demonstrating somehow that it was possible to use 4.1 with winuae.
Leaving aside the various nuances on the settings to be used in winuae, today it remains a tool able to be used to use 4.1
The biggest difficulty remains in some way the configuration of 4.1 if you have never had experience with this OS.
But once you understand how it works it can be used to do many things.
As always the question is why use 4.1 ??
These are personal points of view, and how to use any other emulation tool depends if it somehow amuses the user.
A long time ago I did the same with the real hardware of the Amiga with few resources I used to the best what I had.
I no longer used winuae from version 0.8 at that time on the internet it was difficult to talk on the channels dedicated to amiga with an emulator but I connected with my phone gprs via winuae and masked the version of amiirc with the program written by "LowLevel" with the support of some particularly vulnerable and outdated shells.
Having no more available my real amiga, the passion remained but I no longer had the amiga now was damaged.

Then a while ago I bought AmigaForever and 4.1 from Hyperion but I realized that in reality it served no purpose at least from my point of view as a buyer.
So I decided to try using 4.1 at best and here I am
The amiga passion still remains for me :-)

Pyromania 30 November 2019 08:12

@White

Always enjoy your Amiga hobby.

Misclegend 30 November 2019 09:36

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rotareneg (Post 1362224)
The 64 bit version of WinUAE does have JIT.

right
Tony implemented it recently but is slower than the 32 bit version so I use the 32 bit version

Misclegend 30 November 2019 09:45

btw,

in my case winuae is faster in my old pc (core i5 2500k) than the my new PC (core i5 9600)

supposedly in benchmarks the core i5 9600 is faster in single thread apps than the core i5 2500k
but this do not match real life, for example in winuae
it seems that the old core i5's are faster than new ones in 32 bits apps or so

it's all very strange

Toni Wilen 30 November 2019 10:08

No one has ever mentioned that 64-bit would be slower. You sure you don't have slower RAM or your BIOS RAM settings are wrong?

RAM and cache size are very important parts when using emulators. Not just single thread capability.

New Ryzens have big caches which should help. (I have 3900X but I am not that interested in benchmarks because it is not easy to find benchmark that actually does what it is supposed to do..)

Misclegend 30 November 2019 10:50

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toni Wilen (Post 1362250)
No one has ever mentioned that 64-bit would be slower. You sure you don't have slower RAM or your BIOS RAM settings are wrong?

RAM and cache size are very important parts when using emulators. Not just single thread capability.

I do not have wrong bios settings because are default in my both PCs
I do not overclock or change any bios settings,and fact is the core i5 2500k is special for overclock but my old 1155 motherboard do not support overclock is a DH67BL

ram speed in my core I5 2500k PC is around 19000 mb/s
ram speed in my core I5 9600 is around 44000 mb/s

however winuae in the core I5 2500k is faster

Toni Wilen 30 November 2019 10:53

Then it is 100% guaranteed problem is not anything to do with host or emulated CPU but slow down is caused by something else. (Screen setup most likely or sound related)


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:58.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Page generated in 0.05111 seconds with 11 queries