English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   support.Apps (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=8)
-   -   Using JPEG with Amos (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=105445)

WAKD 17 January 2021 21:45

Using JPEG with Amos
 
Hi. I have downloaded a jpg image and I have tried converting to 32bit colour, resizing image and using ext such iff and bmp. When I load them into Amos for my program it says either:

A) Picture is too big

or

B) illegal screen parameter at line.....

Can someone guide me please?

Dan 17 January 2021 22:12

32bit or 32 colors ?

If the image has 32 colors, then it should be saved as 8bit.

WAKD 17 January 2021 22:46

1 Attachment(s)
Hi Dan,
Thanks. That did work but, what happens now is the buttons should have a red borders, "yes" should be green, "no" should be red and in the top left and bottom right of the buttons the are small white curves to make the buttons look like glass but the IFF image has changed everything to its palette colour. Is there a way I can get the original bob buttons back without effecting the IFF image please?

I could draw a box for the text and buttons but, I don't think it would look as good.

fxgogo 18 January 2021 08:29

I suspect the image is using your entire 32 colour palette for greys. You need to reduce the images colours down to say 16 or 24 shades of grey, which will leave you 16 or 8 colours for other elements. I am presuming you are using a 32 colour mode.

WAKD 18 January 2021 17:33

Hi,
All I did was save the image as 8 colour iff

fxgogo 18 January 2021 23:03

So is that 8 colours or 8bit colour?
What program are you using to convert the images?

I have not used Amos before, but I would think there is a setting to define what gfx mode you want to use and possibly even what colour palettes you want to use. The problem might be happening there.

By the way I just saw your other post and I would suggest not starting off new threads that are the same as this one.

Konrad 18 January 2021 23:14

@WAKD:
Please try not to confuse bit and colors ;)

Example:
- You have 32 colors TOTAL available
- You want to use the colors green, red, white for text and buttons. So you have to reserve them
- When you just save the images the "simple" way the graphics program will use all 32 colors and adjust those so they fit the picture the best
- When you then load the picture your colors red, green, white get "overwritten" by the picture's palette
- For every picture you want to use you have to reserve green, red, white in the picture's palette. And also in the same spot of the palette. Which you didn't do and thus loose your red, green, white

fxgogo 18 January 2021 23:44

Quote:

Originally Posted by Konrad (Post 1455013)
@WAKD:
Please try not to confuse bit and colors ;)

Example:
- You have 32 colors TOTAL available
- You want to use the colors green, red, white for text and buttons. So you have to reserve them
- When you just save the images the "simple" way the graphics program will use all 32 colors and adjust those so they fit the picture the best
- When you then load the picture your colors red, green, white get "overwritten" by the picture's palette
- For every picture you want to use you have to reserve green, red, white in the picture's palette. And also in the same spot of the palette. Which you didn't do and thus loose your red, green, white

Said a lot better than me. That is the exact issue you are having.

WAKD 19 January 2021 00:20

Thanks for the reply. I do understand your example so, how would I reserve said colours as not to have them overwritten please?

WAKD 19 January 2021 01:36

1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by Konrad (Post 1455013)
@WAKD:
Please try not to confuse bit and colors ;)

Example:
- You have 32 colors TOTAL available
- You want to use the colors green, red, white for text and buttons. So you have to reserve them
- When you just save the images the "simple" way the graphics program will use all 32 colors and adjust those so they fit the picture the best
- When you then load the picture your colors red, green, white get "overwritten" by the picture's palette
- For every picture you want to use you have to reserve green, red, white in the picture's palette. And also in the same spot of the palette. Which you didn't do and thus loose your red, green, white

I'm still trying and I appreciate your help and patience. Interestingly, if I use the GET PALETTE command I get the button colours back but, it then affects the IFF image. I'm still doing something wrong as I still don't know how to reserve colours.

d4rk3lf 19 January 2021 04:34

This:
Quote:

Originally Posted by fxgogo (Post 1455008)
What program are you using to convert the images?


WAKD 19 January 2021 05:08

Quote:

Originally Posted by d4rk3lf (Post 1455059)
This:

I have used:
Ultimate Paint
MT Paint
Deluxe Paint 4
and an online converter which is supposed to do what I need:

http://tool.anides.de/

I've tried experimenting with masks, EHB command, HAM command, Get bob palette and the list goes on:banghead:banghead:banghead:crazy:help:help

Psiq 19 January 2021 09:23

Quote:

Originally Posted by WAKD (Post 1455047)
I'm still trying and I appreciate your help and patience. Interestingly, if I use the GET PALETTE command I get the button colours back but, it then affects the IFF image. I'm still doing something wrong as I still don't know how to reserve colours.


I think what Konrad is trying to say about reserving the colours is to ensure the colours you require for the buttons are in the pallete of your iff image. If you have 32 colours in your image 3 of them need to be the colours for your buttons.


When you use GET PALETTE you are using the colour palette of your buttons for the image.

fxgogo 19 January 2021 09:25

I think you need to do some reading up on indexed colour graphics. I would start with the deluxe paint manual. Once you got a good understanding of colour palettes, jump back into your game. We have all been spoilt by 24bit colour displays for the last decade and a bit. Limited colour images are different, but do offer some interesting benefits.

WAKD 19 January 2021 19:47

Quote:

Originally Posted by Psiq (Post 1455082)
I think what Konrad is trying to say about reserving the colours is to ensure the colours you require for the buttons are in the pallete of your iff image. If you have 32 colours in your image 3 of them need to be the colours for your buttons.


When you use GET PALETTE you are using the colour palette of your buttons for the image.

So, the IFF image must have the bob colours for the buttons to display their colours along with the IFF image?

WAKD 19 January 2021 19:48

Quote:

Originally Posted by fxgogo (Post 1455083)
I think you need to do some reading up on indexed colour graphics. I would start with the deluxe paint manual. Once you got a good understanding of colour palettes, jump back into your game. We have all been spoilt by 24bit colour displays for the last decade and a bit. Limited colour images are different, but do offer some interesting benefits.

Yeah I've started on that. :crazy

fxgogo 19 January 2021 20:09

I found this good primer on wikipedia. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Indexed_color

I do remember another book or article that helped me back in the day, I am just trying to find it. In the mean time try that.

WAKD 19 January 2021 22:08

Quote:

Originally Posted by fxgogo (Post 1455242)
I found this good primer on wikipedia. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Indexed_color

I do remember another book or article that helped me back in the day, I am just trying to find it. In the mean time try that.

Thanks much appreciated:bowdown

Konrad 19 January 2021 22:21

2 Attachment(s)
OK, just checked and found how to do it in PPaint / PersonalPaint

- Start PPaint
- Open the menu and click "Project > Image Format"
- Choose "PAL:Low Res 320x256" and 32 colors > Proceed
- Open the menu and click "Project > Load Image"
A requester with "Format Selection" pops up
- Select "Current format", which should be "320x256 - 32 colors"
- click "Proceed"
Picture is now loaded and color reduced to 32 colors. But all colors used
- Open the menu and click "Color > Palette > Edit"
- Change the first colors to your liking, f.ex. to black, white, green, red and hit "Proceed"
Colors of the picture will look wrong now, which is ok
- Open the menu and click "Color > Remap"
Now PPaint has remaped the pictures to the modified palette
Everything will now look ok and the first colors are mapped as you need them.
Make sure that you setup your custom colors the same for all pictures (i.e. black, white, green, red in the same spot of the palette).

I'm sure there is a more "professional" way, but it's a long time ago that I did this stuff and forgot almost everything.
At least it should work for your project :).

BTW: PPaint offers also some filters / dithering when color reducing pictures (Settings > Dithering > Floyd-Steinberg for example).
You can set this setting first before loading the picture.

WAKD 20 January 2021 04:14

Quote:

Originally Posted by Konrad (Post 1455275)
OK, just checked and found how to do it in PPaint / PersonalPaint

- Start PPaint
- Open the menu and click "Project > Image Format"
- Choose "PAL:Low Res 320x256" and 32 colors > Proceed
- Open the menu and click "Project > Load Image"
A requester with "Format Selection" pops up
- Select "Current format", which should be "320x256 - 32 colors"
- click "Proceed"
Picture is now loaded and color reduced to 32 colors. But all colors used
- Open the menu and click "Color > Palette > Edit"
- Change the first colors to your liking, f.ex. to black, white, green, red and hit "Proceed"
Colors of the picture will look wrong now, which is ok
- Open the menu and click "Color > Remap"
Now PPaint has remaped the pictures to the modified palette
Everything will now look ok and the first colors are mapped as you need them.
Make sure that you setup your custom colors the same for all pictures (i.e. black, white, green, red in the same spot of the palette).

I'm sure there is a more "professional" way, but it's a long time ago that I did this stuff and forgot almost everything.
At least it should work for your project :).

BTW: PPaint offers also some filters / dithering when color reducing pictures (Settings > Dithering > Floyd-Steinberg for example).
You can set this setting first before loading the picture.

Hi. Thanks for your advice. Sadly, I still have the same problem. Although the instructions I followed worked in PP the buttons on top of the IFF image did not show their intended colours. They are still affected by the IFF image. Using different versions of AMOS gives different results but, again the IFF image still affects the bob buttons which are saved as abk.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:50.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Page generated in 0.04762 seconds with 11 queries