English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   support.WinUAE (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   WinUAE 1.6.0 beta series (was 1.5.4) (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=40738)

Toni Wilen 16 November 2008 16:12

WinUAE 1.6.0 beta series (was 1.5.4)
 
(could be 1.6 or something but that will be decided much later..)

REALLY READ THIS BEFORE POSTING!: http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=26715

Beta 1:

- DXSDK updated, D3D filters again require updated DX runtime
- some CD32 pad reading routines returned phantom buttons in JIT modes if pad was not "connected"
- another partial sprite rendering update, fixes sprite size problems in screen modes that have multiple resolutions in single horizontal line (for example Innovation Part 2 by Axis is 100% correct now)
- also fixes wrong sized sprites in some lores resolution modes
- superhires in lores mode supported (show only every 4th pixel)
- superhires in filtered lores supported (visible pixel is average color of 4 internal shres pixels. This may be slow..)
- ECS SHRES in lores supported (both non-filtered and filtered)
- 10 sectors per track PC floppy images (800k) supported

This is sprite/display partial rewrite emulation test beta only. Complain if something broke (which is 100% guaranteed) or became slow :)

Tony Landais 16 November 2008 19:11

Great to see a new beta already.

I noticed a slowdown with the demo coppermaster. The 1 pixel plasma effect makes the sound stuttering and the dislay slowdow.
Was working fine with WinUAE 1.5.3

I have a macbook pro dual core 2.33 GHz running XP sp3 with an ATI Radeon X1600 with updated display drivers and DirectX nov 08.
I use direct 3D filter bilinear 16bit and display in fullwindow.


Hope it helps

Toni Wilen 16 November 2008 20:05

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tony Landais (Post 477556)
Great to see a new beta already.

I noticed a slowdown with the demo coppermaster. The 1 pixel plasma effect makes the sound stuttering and the dislay slowdow.
Was working fine with WinUAE 1.5.3

I have a macbook pro dual core 2.33 GHz running XP sp3 with an ATI Radeon X1600 with updated display drivers and DirectX nov 08.
I use direct 3D filter bilinear 16bit and display in fullwindow.

Too many variables. Better run without any filters in windowed mode and check CPU% difference between 1.5.3 and beta.

EDIT: confirmed. new sprite drawing mode needs optimizing (left and right borders are sprites which forces new sprite-mode for whole scanline)

a4k-oerx 16 November 2008 20:35

Solved: Strange effect in Resolution: Lores, Line-Mode: Normal
 
This thread appears to be solved with 154b1.
Strange effect in Resolution: Lores, Line-Mode: Normal
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=40587

Tony Landais 17 November 2008 19:53

1 Attachment(s)
I am having a problem with Lionheart this time.
Same configuration as before with and without Direct3D.
Was working fine on 1.5.3.
This time the whole screen goes up during the game.

a4k-oerx 17 November 2008 20:03

Solved
 
Is vertical centering checked? I had a similar issue with pinball fantasies menu with first run of 1.5.4b1 but could not reproduce.

Edit: Solved with beta2

Tony Landais 17 November 2008 20:06

It s checked and the bug is happening each time.

a4k-oerx 17 November 2008 22:13

Solved
 
I unchecked it and bug went away. :crazy :confused

Can you try that?

Edit: Solved with beta2

Tony Landais 17 November 2008 22:34

it works fine starting without vertical centering. you can put it back after the game started.

a4k-oerx 17 November 2008 22:46

Solved
 
2 Attachment(s)
Can reproduce it now.

Used CD32 Quickstart settings, Log enabled, vertical centering checked, Start.

Edit: For a short moment the positon is correct but then jumps "up". Left image is a booting CD, right image without booting CD.

Can be "corrected" as written above with F12, vertical centering off, OK, F12 again, vertical centering on again, all fine.

Edit: Solved with beta2

Toni Wilen 22 November 2008 16:50

http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae_1540b2.zip

Beta 2:

- fixed b1 slowdown when lots of sprites are visible
- CD32 mode CD32.TM detection added (log only)
- RTG vblank interrupt changes, use INTB_VERTB if RTG vblank is set to "Chipset". (very compatible, no extra interrups happening) Uses INTB_PORTS if different than Chipset. (Previously used INTB_EXTER but some games didn't like it, Ports seems to be more compatible) Added "Disabled" option which disables RTG vblank support.
- fixed possible crash when closing fullscreen mode
- uaeserial.device unit 10+ open failure fix
- hardfile os-specific and common stuff separated more logically, more portable (and easier to add new image types, see below)

- VHD (VirtualPC) fixed and dynamic harddrive images supported. Reading and writing supported, image creation supported. HDF->VHD conversion is not built-in but you can use for example VHDTool or any other tool that supports raw to vhd conversion (hdf is a basic raw harddrive image type) "Differencing" image type may be supported in future (differencing = all written data goes to another image, like adf "saveimages")

WARNING: vhd support may not be bug free yet. Remember backups!

Why YetAnotherImageFormat? Main point is dynamic images. New empty dynamic image is always very small (even if virtual size is multiple gigabytes) and image grows automatically when needed.

TCD 22 November 2008 16:59

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toni Wilen (Post 479740)
- VHD (VirtualPC) fixed and dynamic harddrive images supported. Reading and writing supported, image creation supported. HDF->VHD conversion is not built-in but you can use for example VHDTool or any other tool that supports raw to vhd conversion (hdf is a basic raw harddrive image type) "Differencing" image type may be supported in future (differencing = all written data goes to another image, like adf "saveimages")

WARNING: vhd support may not be bug free yet. Remember backups!

Why YetAnotherImageFormat? Main point is dynamic images. New empty dynamic image is always very small (even if virtual size is multiple gigabytes) and image grows automatically when needed.

Great feature Toni :great Thanks a lot for adding it :)

Ed Cruse 22 November 2008 22:47

uaeserial.device :great Thank you.

a4k-oerx 22 November 2008 23:27

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toni Wilen (Post 479740)
Beta 2:
..
- CD32 mode CD32.TM detection added (log only)

Toni: Is it necessary to enable that detection to log somehow?

clenched 24 November 2008 02:15

1.5.4b fixes Simon the Sorcerer AGA
 
1 Attachment(s)
Since sprites seem to be the focus:
Set for quickstart unexpanded A1200, load this savestate, and see how the mouse cursor is now bereft of the vertical bars in 1.5.3 and prior. The mouse needs to be moved rapidly horizontally to demonstrate.

Thom87 24 November 2008 21:48

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toni Wilen (Post 479740)
Beta 2:
- RTG vblank interrupt changes, use INTB_VERTB if RTG vblank is set to "Chipset". (very compatible, no extra interrups happening) Uses INTB_PORTS if different than Chipset. (Previously used INTB_EXTER but some games didn't like it, Ports seems to be more compatible) Added "Disabled" option which disables RTG vblank support.

Seems to be everything fine with whdload games so far. I've not much time for precise testing but short test gives good results. Thanks for Yours hard work Toni. :bowdown

Toni Wilen 29 November 2008 19:03

http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae_1540b3.zip

Beta 3:

- HAM errors if left border was not fully visible (it seems this bug has been there since the beginning of UAE, code that was supposed to handle this case has never worked correctly..)
- mid horizontal line HAM/EHB/DPF change fixed (Cover Girl Strip Poker) broke in 1.5.3
- added win32.guikey to configuration file, keycode that opens GUI (raw directinput keycode, for example F10 = 0x44) -1 = default.
- game & io-ports <none>-setting works properly
- vhd creator didn't create fully compatible images (larger images were incompatible with official vhd tools, did not cause data corruption)
- 1st Anniversary by Lazy Bones OCS/ECS "7-planes" trick emulated (missing black vertical lines)
- Disposable Hero title screen is now perfect. Take screenshots before it gets broken again :)
- added some more sanity tests to DirectDraw surface handling

Retroplay 29 November 2008 20:12

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toni Wilen (Post 482053)
- Disposable Hero title screen is now perfect. Take screenshots before it gets broken again :)

http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b2..._Disk1_001.png

Looking great. :great

Marcuz 29 November 2008 21:43

everything tested worked good (OS3.1, 3.9, normal gaming, whdload, full screen/windowed, filters and RTG)

tonyyeb 01 December 2008 19:49

1 Attachment(s)
WinUAE crashes on loading if I have my PICKIT 2 PIC programmer plugged in. Crash dump attached. Older versions also crashed but i've never reported it.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:45.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Page generated in 0.06542 seconds with 11 queries