English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   support.Apps (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=8)
-   -   PC DOS Drivers in WB3.1 (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=26863)

Fingerlickin_B 04 December 2006 06:07

PC DOS Drivers in WB3.1
 
Hi all,

I have become aware that 3.1 can read PC formatted and written floppy disks using drivers found on the "Storage" 3.1 disk.

I've also tried to do this, but it won't work.

Seems like 3.1 must be installed on a hard drive for this to work...is that correct?

Tried copying the drivers into the "DOS Drivers" folder on my WB3.1 disk, but that didn't work :nuts

BTW, I don't have a hard drive.

PZ.

thomas 04 December 2006 09:33

If you run PC0 from the storage disk it should ask you to insert the Workbench disk and if you do so, it should mount the drivers successfully. All needed files are on the Workbench disk (if it is original).

You should load PC0 into a text editor and check if it has an entry like Activate=1 or Mount=1. If not, then add it. If the entry is missing, the driver is only activated on access, i.e. you have to open a shell window and enter Dir PC0: or something similar.

Fingerlickin_B 04 December 2006 10:31

Thanks man, I'll give that a shot later on tonight :)

PZ.

Fingerlickin_B 04 December 2006 12:23

Ok, yes it has those entries and it does mount.

No, it still does not work.

I tried formatting the disk with Format 720 in Windows XP and writing the files with XP, didn't work.
I tried formatting the disk in Windows 98 and writing the files in 98, didn't work.

I get messages "The icon(s) have no default tool" or "Not a DOS disk" depending on how I try to open the disk.

Yes, my WB disks are genuine Escom AG disks, circa '95 according to the labels.

This is really trying my patience...everything I read says it is easy...everything I do shows it is hard or impossible :banghead

PZ.

srg86 04 December 2006 23:05

Quote:

Originally Posted by Fingerlickin_B
Ok, yes it has those entries and it does mount.

No, it still does not work.

I tried formatting the disk with Format 720 in Windows XP and writing the files with XP, didn't work.
I tried formatting the disk in Windows 98 and writing the files in 98, didn't work.

I get messages "The icon(s) have no default tool" or "Not a DOS disk" depending on how I try to open the disk.

Yes, my WB disks are genuine Escom AG disks, circa '95 according to the labels.

This is really trying my patience...everything I read says it is easy...everything I do shows it is hard or impossible :banghead

PZ.

Try formatting the disks on the Amiga.

thomas 04 December 2006 23:44

You should use real DD disks. DD formatted HD disks are not reliable.

If you use HD disks, then you have to close the second hole with some duct tape or something similar.

And I agree with srg86, you should format the disks on the Amiga. Make sure you format PC0: and not DF0:.

Fingerlickin_B 05 December 2006 02:51

Ok, proper DD disks and format on Amiga using PC0...got it :)

The instructions I have read say a new icon comes up once you mount PC0 (or PC1), but I don't see the icon when I mount them.

I know they are mounted because if I try a second time it says "PC0 is already mounted".

Are the instructions wrong?

PZ.

rgen 05 December 2006 05:47

The icon comes only up if the device is mounted before Workbench starts.

Fingerlickin_B 05 December 2006 05:51

Quote:

Originally Posted by rgen
The icon comes only up if the device is mounted before Workbench starts.

No worries, except how do I mount the device without loading WB? :confused

Or does the icon do nothing so I don't need to worry about it?

PZ.

rgen 05 December 2006 06:13

You can move/copy the PC0 icon from Storage/DosDrivers to DEVS:DosDrivers and it is mounted automatically by the boot script (that is s:startup-sequence and there you find a line C:Mount >NIL: DEVS:DOSDrivers/~(#?.info) which does that).

Fingerlickin_B 05 December 2006 06:23

Cool, I'll try that too :)

PZ.

redblade 05 December 2006 08:48

how do you format a AmigaDOS disk to MSDos on Amiga.

When ever I started crossdos, I would put in a Amiga disk then try "Format pc0:" but it would say PC0: is not mounted which makes sense.

The only time I could format a MSDos disk on Amiga was when the disk I was trying to format was already MSDos.

That sux because WinXP ditches the feature to format a 720kb floppy

thomas 05 December 2006 09:32

Quote:

When ever I started crossdos
CrossDOS is the name of the package and also the name of the settings program, but the DOS driver is called PC0. Only if you run PC0, you can access PC disks.

Quote:

but it would say PC0: is not mounted which makes sense
If you think this makes sense, then you cannot procede. Only if PC0 is mounted, you can access PC disks (see above).

After running PC0, unless you have installed some icon killer, you should get two icons for each disk you insert. For Amiga disks you get one icon with the disk label and another one labelled PC0:????. For PC disks you get one icon labelled DF0:???? and another one with the disk name.

To format a disk in PC format, mark the icon labelled PC0:???? and select "format disk" from the menu.

rgen 05 December 2006 10:03

As thomas already wrote, you have to start PC0 but then you can open your Workbench disk, the system drawer and start the Format program from there if no icon appears.
Also I would advise you to stay away from the CrossDOS program, its purpose is to change files copied to/from a MD-DOS disk:
  1. it changes the line endings of files (in texts Amiga use a code which means go next line whereas DOS/Windows use two codes with the meaning of go to start of line and then go to next line) but Wordpad and nearly all other editors can read such files today on PCs and Amiga's editors can read pc texts
  2. diacritics have different positions on Amiga and MS-DOS, so CrossDos converts them but Windows 95 and above do not use MS-DOS codes anymore but the same codes as the Amiga (which is uninteresting for English speaking people anyway:D)
so you see it's not of much use anymore and if you're not cautious you can damage files.

rgen 05 December 2006 10:09

To format a 720k disk on XP you can open a dos window and enter:
Code:

format A: /T:80 /N:9

Fingerlickin_B 05 December 2006 10:36

I've had no luck.

When I use the format utility it doesn't give me the PC0 option.

When I put the disk in all I get is DF0:??????

There is ABSOLUTELY NOTHING I can do that is different from when the driver is not mounted.

I can't read a PC disk, I can't format a 720 as PC disk, only as normal Amiga disk.

The drivers are on my WB disk, so it is mounted upon booting up.

No extra icons, no nothing except for the drivers which from what I can tell, do nothing at all :nuts

I can't do anything...this sucks! :banghead


PZ.

rgen 05 December 2006 10:55

You need these files:
  • mfm.device in DEVS:
  • CrossDosFileSystem in L:
  • PC0 & PC0.info copied to DEVS:DosDrivers or manually started

If you still have problems copy them form your original disks again.

Fingerlickin_B 05 December 2006 11:24

Just tried that and it still doesn't do anything :(

PZ.

Retro1234 05 December 2006 17:08

To format a 720 you have to put some tape over the hole on the corner of the disk this makes windows think its a 720

And after you mount Pc0: type pc0: then type info

Fingerlickin_B 05 December 2006 23:53

Yep, I know about the tape thing, I tried all the above last night with real Amiga floppies instead, so no tape required.

So mount PC0 and then open a DOS shell and type "PC0: info" is that what you mean?

PZ.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:42.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Page generated in 0.05481 seconds with 11 queries