English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   support.Hardware (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=20)
-   -   Amiga 1000 Keyboard Cable not RJ-11? (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=93918)

cbmeeks 25 August 2018 21:44

Amiga 1000 Keyboard Cable not RJ-11?
 
I just got a "new to me" Amiga 1000 keyboard. Unfortunately, it didn't come with the cable.

So I thought, no big deal. It's just an RJ-11 cable and I have plenty of RJ-11 plugs. So I will make my own cable.

Then I tried to put one of my RJ-11 jacks into the keyboard and discovered it wouldn't fit. It's way too wide. I'm confident it's an RJ-11 cable. So I'm thinking they must come in different widths.

My question is, does the Amiga 1000 keyboard use some other type of 4-pin connector than a standard RJ-11? Or, does the RJ-11 come in different widths?

Thanks

amiman99 25 August 2018 21:46

It's a telephone headset cable plug, more narrow.

cbmeeks 25 August 2018 23:32

Can you use a standard handset cord? I thought they were wired differently. In fact, IIRC, telephone lines are crossed per pair? Or maybe it was one pair that was crossed.

indigolemon 25 August 2018 23:40

I just bought a bog standard handset cable and it worked absolutely fine.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/...ilpage_o09_s00

That one in fact!

cbmeeks 25 August 2018 23:43

Hmm. By "work" do you mean it physically fit or did you actually test out the keyboard.

I could have sworn I've read before that standard phone cables don't work. But maybe I'm reading that wrong.

One thing I do know is the RJ11 connectors I have are too wide. I'm thinking the ones I have are more for telephone base systems and networking and the cables that go on the handsets are thinner in general.

Thanks.

indigolemon 26 August 2018 00:24

Physically fitted and worked fine. Here is a close up of the plugs (both ends). The cable works fine either way. Sorry it's a bit blurred, but it shows how the four wires are setup, as the colours are pretty clear. From what I can gather, the connector is an RJ10.

https://photos.app.goo.gl/xM45UgCQNJ7RTHP39

desiv 26 August 2018 00:51

Yeah, should work fine. Now, the same is NOT true of the original Macs that used a similar cable. Those plug in, but aren't wired the same. So if you have an old Mac and an Amiga 1000, be careful of swapping them around.
The Amiga 1000 did use the standard handset wiring layout.

desiv

RoC 26 August 2018 00:59

Amiga 1000 Keyboard Cable not RJ-11?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by amiman99 (Post 1264156)
It's a telephone headset cable plug, more narrow.



I faced the same issue, because I have received the A1000 with the keyboard but without a cable.

Many years has gone, but I seem to recall that I used a Ericsson cable (the one connecting the telephone to the receiver. It works just fine since.

cbmeeks 26 August 2018 04:57

AHH!! Maybe it was the early Mac that I read that.
Now that you mention it, I have a Mac 512K and original keyboard/cable. I will take a look at that cable and just remember to NOT use it in my Amiga.

Maybe I can find a replacement handset cable at the thrift store tomorrow.

Thanks!

idrougge 26 August 2018 06:00

Why would you use a Mac keyboard with an Amiga? Because the plugs are similar?

cbmeeks 26 August 2018 06:28

Quote:

Originally Posted by idrougge (Post 1264235)
Why would you use a Mac keyboard with an Amiga? Because the plugs are similar?

No, that's not what I meant. What I meant was to be sure and not use the Mac cable on the Amiga. They look similar but are not.

idrougge 26 August 2018 13:18

Oh, I see. That's good advice.

mech 26 August 2018 18:48

Quote:

Originally Posted by cbmeeks (Post 1264155)
I just got a "new to me" Amiga 1000 keyboard. Unfortunately, it didn't come with the cable.

So I thought, no big deal. It's just an RJ-11 cable and I have plenty of RJ-11 plugs. So I will make my own cable.

Then I tried to put one of my RJ-11 jacks into the keyboard and discovered it wouldn't fit. It's way too wide. I'm confident it's an RJ-11 cable. So I'm thinking they must come in different widths.

My question is, does the Amiga 1000 keyboard use some other type of 4-pin connector than a standard RJ-11? Or, does the RJ-11 come in different widths?

Thanks


standard handset cord works fine,i use them on my a1000's
i believe the connector is a RJ9.

cbmeeks 27 August 2018 04:24

I believe you're right. I found one at the Goodwill today and it's much thinner than my RJ11 connectors.

Thanks!

Jope 27 August 2018 14:18

There is no official registered jack for this connector. It is a 4P4C modular jack.

Normally you would wire a cable with modular connections direcly like this: 1-1 1-2 1-3 1-4. The A1000 keyboard requires you to mirror the other end: 1-4 2-3 3-2 4-1.

An RJ11 type connector would be 6P?C modular, substitute the ? with the amount of connected positions.

Daedalus 28 August 2018 11:31

Indeed, it's a 4P4C jack, though even in industry using it, it's commonly referred to as an RJ10, despite it not being an official designation.

majestyx 01 January 2019 00:43

Thanks for confirming this! The part that locks it in place on my original cable had broken off, so I'd have to be very careful not to move the keyboard, otherwise it would come out of the keyboard. Good to know it's a cheap handset cord that can be used to replace it.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:57.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Page generated in 0.04333 seconds with 11 queries