English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   support.Demos (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=7)
-   -   tool fastram to chipram? (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=71237)

Exit 25 October 2013 13:59

tool fastram to chipram?
 
Hi there,

some demos and/or games require more chipmem...i have a lot of fastram, but is there a tool that converts some fastram to chipmem?

so more games/demos will run..:D

thnx..

:great

hooverphonique 25 October 2013 14:27

you can't use fastram as chipram, only vice versa, due to the special nature of chipram..

ajk 25 October 2013 14:42

Chip RAM itself is not special, it's the same kind of RAM as any other, but it needs to be physically connected to the custom chip bus. The maximum you can have is 2MB, but earlier Amigas (before A3000/A500+) have a lower limit.

Akira 25 October 2013 17:36

Suffice to say, NOTHING uses more than 2MB of Chip RAM, so you don't need to do this Fast->chip thing. Just max out your Chip RAM to 2MB

roy bates 25 October 2013 19:05

what machine you got?

Bamiga2002 26 October 2013 08:56

With FBlit you can preserve precious chipram by using fastram instead. Applies to Workbench usage, but the 2Mb chipram is the max limit with real amigas.

Leandro Jardim 26 October 2013 10:38

Look for the archive named AnyMem on Aminet. :) It redirects Fast and Chip Mem usage to the best memory that your Amiga has always. Put it AFTER any stack/memory allocation patches you have, like saferpatches and minstack, or stackattack and patchcontrol.

http://aminet.net/package/util/boot/AnyMEM_v14

ajk 26 October 2013 12:30

FBlit and other patches almost never help with games and demos though, which was the initial question. Very useful in Workbench of course.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:13.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Page generated in 0.04113 seconds with 11 queries