English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   support.Hardware (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=20)
-   -   alfapower RAM upgrade (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=66556)

orange 07 November 2012 21:52

alfapower RAM upgrade
 
I'm trying to upgrade RAM from 2 to 4 Mb using 4 ZIP chips. unfortunately it doesn't work. new ones are 80ns, while old are 60ns, could that be the problem?

roy bates 07 November 2012 22:45

yes could be 80ns is a bit slow,have you tried amibay?



are you mixing them,does any of the ram show in the system?

orange 07 November 2012 23:15

I am trying to mix them, but bank2 just won't work. 80ns also work fine in bank1. tried cleaning the contacts, didn't help.

roy bates 08 November 2012 00:03

it looks like it trys to run at 60ns with 80ns installed.but the 80ns work ok on ther own?

orange 08 November 2012 08:10

yeah, they do.
I also have some in A3000, cant remember what speed.

roy bates 08 November 2012 09:34

there 60ns or 70ns in an a3000.

A500Man 11 November 2012 14:56

Hi,

maybe the power-supply is not strong enough to power the extra RAM.

Does the AlfaPower get its power by an extra power-supply or does it drag the power from the Amiga?

In case you power it via the Amiga, disconnect all the not-needed power draining extras like turbo-boards and internal mem-expansions and - of course - external floppy-drives.

CU,
A500man

roy bates 11 November 2012 15:00

its mem expansion for the 1200.and doesent require alot of power.

also it looks like a memory speed problem where two types of memory are trying to run at the speed of the fastest ones.

orange 11 November 2012 18:58

its using power from A500+ I've tried it without hdd, but no change.

roy bates 11 November 2012 20:09

Quote:

Originally Posted by orange (Post 850081)
its using power from A500+ I've tried it without hdd, but no change.



hmm,im a bit confused now actually:laughing

do you mean the alfapower ram expansion for the 500+ or the one made for the 1200?


if its the one for the 500 can you post some pics of the board please.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:18.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Page generated in 0.05472 seconds with 11 queries