English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   support.Hardware (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=20)
-   -   A600 right mouse button not working (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=62082)

protek 30 November 2011 12:37

A600 right mouse button not working
 
I have a thread about this also at Amibay but I thought I'd try here too.

The right mouse button will not open the context menus in Workbench. Here's what I've tried so far:
  1. Mouse tested ok in other system and will not work with other mice.
  2. Tried with a vanilla setup.
  3. Early startup menu works.
  4. I've re-soldered the mouse port solderings.
  5. I've tested continuity from mouse port to Paula.
  6. The corresponding pin in Paula measures +5V, which goes near zero, when right mouse button pressed.
  7. On one single event the button actually worked in WB. This was before I tried re-soldering the port.
  8. Motherboard revision is 1.3. Quite many of the capacitor solder pads look dull and dark, meaning that they'd need replacement.
  9. At least I haven't try to pull the mouse, while the computer has been switched on.
What does the aforementioned tell about Paula's condition? Is it need of a replacement? Can any of the caps affect the issue? Anything else to consider?

Or should I just try to get another mobo?

orange 30 November 2011 12:59

if early startup works, it must be software problem. I'd try it in some games.

FOL 30 November 2011 13:01

Quote:

Originally Posted by protek (Post 788022)
I have a thread about this also at Amibay but I thought I'd try here too.

The right mouse button will not open the context menus in Workbench. Here's what I've tried so far:
  1. Mouse tested ok in other system and will not work with other mice.
  2. Tried with a vanilla setup.
  3. Early startup menu works.
  4. I've re-soldered the mouse port solderings.
  5. I've tested continuity from mouse port to Paula.
  6. The corresponding pin in Paula measures +5V, which goes near zero, when right mouse button pressed.
  7. On one single event the button actually worked in WB. This was before I tried re-soldering the port.
  8. Motherboard revision is 1.3. Quite many of the capacitor solder pads look dull and dark, meaning that they'd need replacement.
  9. At least I haven't try to pull the mouse, while the computer has been switched on.
What does the aforementioned tell about Paula's condition? Is it need of a replacement? Can any of the caps affect the issue? Anything else to consider?

Or should I just try to get another mobo?


If you get early startup, then maybe the button is stuck in an ON state.

From memory pin 9 does right mouse button?
Check the caps and resistors between that and paula, if they are all fine, I would look at paula.

What about joy port, have you got a test progam that can check a mouse in that port?

roy bates 30 November 2011 14:46

is the mouse micro switched?(makes a click on press AND release)

protek 30 November 2011 15:09

The mouse is an Escom Amiga branded one. Will check it later. The WB installation on CF works in WinUAE. What programs are there that emulate mouse on joy port?

roy bates 30 November 2011 15:13

Quote:

Originally Posted by protek (Post 788052)
The mouse is an Escom Amiga branded one. Will check it later. The WB installation on CF works in WinUAE. What programs are there that emulate mouse on joy port?



it might not be the mouse port thats why im asking if its microswitched or not,youll have to take the mouse apart to find out and fix it.:)

protek 30 November 2011 18:51

Quote:

Originally Posted by roy bates (Post 788056)
it might not be the mouse port thats why im asking if its microswitched or not,youll have to take the mouse apart to find out and fix it.:)

Ok, but I've tested the mouse to be working in my A4000. :)

roy bates 30 November 2011 18:54

oh,ok i see.

FOL 30 November 2011 19:04

Quote:

Originally Posted by protek (Post 788098)
Ok, but I've tested the mouse to be working in my A4000. :)

Did you check what I said?
What happens if you using right Amiga and right alt together. Does that do right click ok?

protek 01 December 2011 08:17

Quote:

Originally Posted by FOL (Post 788103)
Did you check what I said?
What happens if you using right Amiga and right alt together. Does that do right click ok?

Not yet but I did check this as it could be done quickly. I held only the left mouse button, when booting and got to the early startup menu. That would indicate that the right mouse button is "stuck" in the motherboard logic.

FOL 01 December 2011 10:21

Quote:

Originally Posted by protek (Post 788176)
Not yet but I did check this as it could be done quickly. I held only the left mouse button, when booting and got to the early startup menu. That would indicate that the right mouse button is "stuck" in the motherboard logic.

Well hopefully it will be a component between the socket and paula.
Else it will more than likely be paula. Be interesting to see if the other port is suffering with same issue.

Have seen a few A1200's with mouse issues, which turned out to be dry joints on the components inbetween socket and paula.

protek 01 December 2011 10:50

Quote:

Originally Posted by FOL (Post 788196)
Well hopefully it will be a component between the socket and paula.
Else it will more than likely be paula. Be interesting to see if the other port is suffering with same issue.

Have seen a few A1200's with mouse issues, which turned out to be dry joints on the components inbetween socket and paula.

There's only one component between socket and Paula and that's a capacitor C312 on the underside of the motherboard. Visually, it looks ok. I can try to re-solder that. I'll test the switching program as soon as I can get it unpacked on my A600.

FOL 01 December 2011 11:53

Quote:

Originally Posted by protek (Post 788200)
There's only one component between socket and Paula and that's a capacitor C312 on the underside of the motherboard. Visually, it looks ok. I can try to re-solder that. I'll test the switching program as soon as I can get it unpacked on my A600.

Hi, theres more than that, check the schematics.

E363, 68 Ohm Resistor?
Ceramic cap attached to it, 470 pf
Ceramic cap C314 .47 micro f

protek 01 December 2011 13:37

Quote:

Originally Posted by FOL (Post 788207)
Hi, theres more than that, check the schematics.

E363, 68 Ohm Resistor?
Ceramic cap attached to it, 470 pf
Ceramic cap C314 .47 micro f

Arent those for port 2?

Port 1 has E353 and C312.

FOL 01 December 2011 13:44

Quote:

Originally Posted by protek (Post 788221)
Arent those for port 2?

Port 1 has E353 and C312.

Yeh sorry, but same applies for other port, there are the same components.

protek 01 December 2011 22:39

I can measure continuity between pin 35 (P0Y) of Paula and C312 positive side but not between pin 35 and C312 the negative side but I suppose that's ok.

Alt Amiga does the right-click ok.

I tried one port switcher utility but that renders both buttons and menus altogether unusable. It does change the mouse to another port, though. Probably needs to be executed in startup.

FOL 01 December 2011 23:28

Quote:

Originally Posted by protek (Post 788318)
I can measure continuity between pin 35 (P0Y) of Paula and C312 positive side but not between pin 35 and C312 the negative side but I suppose that's ok.

Alt Amiga does the right-click ok.

I tried one port switcher utility but that renders both buttons and menus altogether unusable. It does change the mouse to another port, though. Probably needs to be executed in startup.

Do you have the manual?

protek 02 December 2011 06:36

Quote:

Originally Posted by FOL (Post 788333)
Do you have the manual?

It came with a user guide. I found it from Aminet.

FOL 02 December 2011 10:25

Quote:

Originally Posted by protek (Post 788363)
It came with a user guide. I found it from Aminet.

Grab it from here

http://amiga.serveftp.net/schematics.html

protek 02 December 2011 14:48

I left the A600 on for about an hour today. I did a warm boot and found out that the right button is working again. I did a cold boot also and it still worked. Can we now conclude that the Paula is ok? Is it either a capacitor or its joint or some other joint that's causing this? I'm going to test it again in the evening, when it has cooled down.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:05.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Page generated in 0.04832 seconds with 11 queries