English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   New to Emulation or Amiga scene (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=26)
-   -   New to Amiga - SD Card and Kickstart question (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=101545)

jlf 02 April 2020 21:42

New to Amiga - SD Card and Kickstart question
 
Hi everyone.


New to Amigas here and looking to make some upgrades to my A600.

Firstly let me apologise if this has been asked already. I have been looking at tutorials and also searching this forum for answers to some things I can't quite figure out, they are pretty noob things and I'm sorry if they have been asked a thousand times - please let me know what threads to look at.


Basically what I am trying to do is to upgrade my 600 with the added chip ram (eventually getting an accelerator) and also with an 32 gb SD Card running Workbench 3.1 or 3.x and WhdLoad so I can run Octamed off the SD, and have it store games etc.


My question is do I need the 3.X Kickstart ROM to be able to use a 32gb SD or will the 3.1 ROM be ok?
I've also read that i'll need to patch the scsi device if using a sd card this size, and if so how do i go about that?
Are there any other things I should consider?

Once again, sorry for the very noob questions - I found most of what I need from tutorials and guides but i can't seem to find a definitive answer - or if i have i didn't realise it.


Any info would be great.

fitzsteve 02 April 2020 22:52

Hi and welcome, I would reccomend going for WB 3.1.4 and the matching Rom, this was there's no need to patch the scsi device.

Also check out bestWB, it's an upgrade for 3.1.4 which adds a lot if useful bits and bobs.

I setup an A1200 with the above as a basic WHDLoad machine and I'm very happy with the results, no accelerator just 8mb Ram board.

jlf 05 April 2020 16:09

Hi Fitzsteve, thanks for this suggestion - I had not looked into this. Seems like this might be the way to go!

How did you install it? I noticed it comes in floppy disk, I have a gotek drive in my a600, so i imagine i'd have to prep the sd card and install with WinUAE if that's possible

fitzsteve 05 April 2020 19:18

Quote:

Originally Posted by jlf (Post 1389719)
Hi Fitzsteve, thanks for this suggestion - I had not looked into this. Seems like this might be the way to go!

How did you install it? I noticed it comes in floppy disk, I have a gotek drive in my a600, so i imagine i'd have to prep the sd card and install with WinUAE if that's possible

Hi Jlf, you could install straight from the ADFs on your Gotek but probably faster just to do it on WinUAE which is what I did, you can see my thread at Amibay if you use the site?

http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php?111084-Little-A1200-with-WB-3-1-4

When you buy the 3.1.4 kit you get the option to buy floppy disks or you can just download ADF images from Hyperion

jlf 06 April 2020 23:38

Many thanks for that info fitzsteve. I think this will be ideal for my first foray into Amigas.

I haven't properly looked at it but it seems like this is a useful blog post regarding 3.1.4 https://amigax1000.blogspot.com/2019...0-and-500.html

I've noticed a lot of people choose a CF card over a SD card, is there a reason for that? Are SD cards more troublesome? Or am I wrong about that?

fitzsteve 07 April 2020 02:14

I think CF cards are just more common as the adapters are more readily available. I'm sure an SD adapter would be just fine if that's your preference. I've never used one myself, I always use either CF cards, real hard drives (big box Amigas) and in my Vampire setup due to the extra IDE performance I use a Kingspec IDE SSD. These are a little more expensive but yield better transfer speeds.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:50.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Page generated in 0.04159 seconds with 11 queries