English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   request.Old Rare Games (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=10)
-   -   Deluxe Galaga v2.6C [AGA] - "HD install" --> "ADFs" (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=84589)

DamienD 25 October 2016 16:20

Deluxe Galaga v2.6C [AGA] - "HD install" --> "ADFs"
 
After reading Vollldo's thread: Deluxe Galaga v2.5 Fixed for A500 KS1.3 the other day I thought I'd take a look at "Deluxe Galaga" ;)

In TOSEC currently there is an OCS / ECS version of v2.6C but not an AGA version :sad

Furthermore; when I took a look at the above OCS / ECS version i.e:

  • Deluxe Galaga v2.6C (1994)(Vigdal, Edgar)(SW-R)(Disk 1 of 2)[h Amiga Emulation Zone].adf
  • Deluxe Galaga v2.6C (1994)(Vigdal, Edgar)(SW-R)(Disk 2 of 2)[h Amiga Emulation Zone].adf
...it's a hard drive install put onto .ADFs much like the packages that I create :agree

[plus the package needs 2MB Chip as files are extracted to RAM]

http://i68.tinypic.com/90oup3.png

Anyway, searched on Aminet and there are these versions:

a) DGalaga26C.lha [OCS / ECS version released on "1995-09-28" and this is what's used in the above .ADFs]
b) DGalaga2.6cAGA.lha [AGA version released on the "1995-09-18"]
c) DeluxeGalaga_E.lha [OCS / ECS released on the "1997-09-07" and is the FINAL version]
d) DeluxeGalaga_A.lha [AGA version released on the "1997-09-07" and is the FINAL version]

So, I've now created a "HD install --> ADFs" package using d) :great

You need to use an AGA configuration with at least 2MB Chip & 1MB Fast RAM; though I just use a 2MB Chip & 4MB Fast RAM configuration...

As per usual; you can use this set with 1 or 2 disks drives...

This release is really for people that:

... Don't have a hard drive.
... Don't know how to extract / install etc. to a hard drive in order to play.
... Use GameBase Amiga.
... Have HxC Gotek hardware.

You can find the files I created in the usual places i.e. The Zone! and also on the EAB file server under the directory "~Uploads/DamienD/HD INSTALL --> ADFS" :agree

Vollldo 25 October 2016 23:13

Good choice my friend, when i did read your thread title i wonder the the 2.5 one had inspired you !

Akira 25 October 2016 23:16

I thought the newest Deluxe Galaga versions supported both AGA and ECS, is this not right? Usually a menu pops up on boot where you can choose.

And I actually never really saw the difference between AGA and ECS graphics.

Vollldo 25 October 2016 23:48

the intro screen are different, and if my memory is good the gfx/sounds are better in the AGA one.

DamienD 26 October 2016 19:13

Quote:

Originally Posted by Akira (Post 1118754)
I thought the newest Deluxe Galaga versions supported both AGA and ECS, is this not right? Usually a menu pops up on boot where you can choose.

Are you talking about this menu Akira?

http://i67.tinypic.com/1zwenax.png

There's an option to choose the type of processor but not the chipset...

The files in each package are different in size. AGA version on the left and OCS / ECS version on the right:

http://i68.tinypic.com/339lyqp.png

Retro1234 26 October 2016 19:31

Does Deluxe Galaga not work from floppy anyway?

DamienD 26 October 2016 19:34

Quote:

Originally Posted by Retro1234 (Post 1118870)
Does Deluxe Galaga not work from floppy anyway?

Yes, versions earlier than v2.6C and v2.6C [final] do ;)

...but not the latest versions linked to in my first post as they are too large to fit on floppy disk.

Quote:

Originally Posted by DamienD (Post 1118672)
Anyway, searched on Aminet and there are these versions:

a) DGalaga26C.lha [OCS / ECS version released on "1995-09-28" and this is what's used in the above .ADFs]
b) DGalaga2.6cAGA.lha [AGA version released on the "1995-09-18"]
c) DeluxeGalaga_E.lha [OCS / ECS released on the "1997-09-07" and is the FINAL version]
d) DeluxeGalaga_A.lha [AGA version released on the "1997-09-07" and is the FINAL version]


Akira 26 October 2016 19:43

Quote:

Originally Posted by DamienD (Post 1118864)
The files in each package are different in size. AGA version on the left and OCS / ECS version on the right:

Interesting, I'll have to check this out and make a comparison. Thanks Damien.

Retro1234 26 October 2016 19:44

Ok maybe with something like Powerpacker and imploder it would fit.

DamienD 26 October 2016 19:53

Quote:

Originally Posted by Retro1234 (Post 1118875)
Ok maybe with something like Powerpacker and imploder it would fit.

I believe the files are already packed / compressed / crunched. There's this in the READ_ME_FIRST file and you definitely need these on disk or the game won't load:

http://i65.tinypic.com/s32d69.png

I'm no expert when it comes to packers / compressors / crunchers...

Very happy to be proved wrong though ;)

DamienD 27 October 2016 19:33

Been playing around tonight as you do...

The majority of files are already packed so no way (well, at least that I know of) to get this onto a single floppy disk :sad

http://i68.tinypic.com/2dqtt2u.png


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:03.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Page generated in 0.04806 seconds with 11 queries