English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   Hardware pics (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=77)
-   -   Cloning the Vortex GoldenGate Monitor Master... (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=39316)

keropi 05 September 2008 19:38

Cloning the Vortex GoldenGate Monitor Master...
 
The Monitor Master offers automatic monitor=switching between an ISA VGA and the Amiga video signal... The device is fairly simple to clone , but I worry that the TI chip next to the yellow switch has protected content... can someone confirm this? It has the TI logo and 234 302K sn74S157N , a Quadruple 2-Line to 1-Line Selector/Multiplexer
I have no idea what it does, I just opened mine in order to actually see if it can be done... someone else will build the clones :lol

http://i125.photobucket.com/albums/p...qp/gg-mm_k.jpg

hit 05 September 2008 21:28

no clue, but found a datasheet:
http://www.datasheetcatalog.net/de/d...N74S157N.shtml

papa_november 05 September 2008 23:41

It's a simple TTL logic chip.

keropi 05 September 2008 23:47

Quote:

Originally Posted by papa_november (Post 455543)
It's a simple TTL logic chip.

so, we just find the same and solder it there? no programming at all?

TheCorfiot 06 September 2008 00:10

@keraopi

Hello my friend, yes it is a std off the shelf TTL chip, no programming required & replacement can be dropped in

TC :D

rkauer 06 September 2008 04:55

And better: lots of equivalents! the piece is a TTL 74S157, so any 74 or 54 (military grade) with the middle letters S, F or LS will work.

Examples:
74LS157
54S157
54F157...

keropi 06 September 2008 10:50

excellent news then! :spin

Jakodemus 03 July 2011 23:21

Yes, I know this is an old thread, but has anyone tried to reproduce Monitor Master?

Cameraman 01 September 2017 18:31

Very old thread, but I'm in the process of cloning the Vortex Monitor Master...
Soldering one as we speak...

:-)

grelbfarlk 07 September 2017 04:37

Is this somehow better than Ratte's Auto Switcher? It sounds very similar that the auto switching is serial activated, but I think Ratte's can also use Parallel, never used that part though.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:35.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Page generated in 0.04807 seconds with 10 queries