English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   support.Apps (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=8)
-   -   What is this guru meditation error? (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=95986)

Foebane 22 January 2019 07:56

What is this guru meditation error?
 
1 Attachment(s)
This error comes up sometimes, I haven't seen a guide that addresses it or tells me what it is.

Anyone knows what it is? Thanks.

malko 22 January 2019 09:59

Maybe theses lists can help you : Understanding the alert error numbers ; Guru Codes ; Guru Meditation Errors ; Amiga Error Codes .

AMIGASYSTEM 22 January 2019 10:32

Here we talk about the Guru 8000 0003: http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=31146

Toni Wilen 22 January 2019 11:21

In this case (CPU is 68020+), it means program jumped to odd address (m68k minimum instruction size is 2 bytes and instructions must be word aligned).

Corrupt program, corrupt data file, buggy program. Too many possible reasons.

Foebane 22 January 2019 11:44

1 Attachment(s)
The program in question is this demo, and it worked for me before:

https://www.pouet.net/prod.php?which=63722

It worked for me earlier last year, before I totally overhauled all of my configurations for reasons of more accurate emulation, but now it breaks as you see in the OP, at the end of the fractal landscape part.

Included is the configuration I've been using.

Sorry if this is in the wrong place; if it turns out to not be an Apps issue then please move the thread as necessary.

meynaf 22 January 2019 11:45

Most common cause of address error on 68020+ is code jumping into memory containing text (i.e. lots of random 6x opcodes).
Happens a lot more often on 68000, frequent reason can be execution of 68020+ code on 68000.
But as already said there are many possibilities so in all cases you can't know what happens without actually debugging the program.

Foebane 23 January 2019 18:51

I've decided for now that if a demo crashes or doesn't run at certain points, then I will simply remove it from my collection. Whether it ran before is irrelevant.

chip 23 January 2019 19:07

I personally write a note for the demos that don't work properly :o

Foebane 23 January 2019 19:30

Quote:

Originally Posted by chip (Post 1299719)
I personally write a note for the demos that don't work properly :o

I'm not saying the "offending" demo is gone for good, but I delete and then bring back demos all the time. I just hate that feeling I get when I pop on a demo and it crashes, or just glitches weirdly. I then restart WinUAE and do a few checks to make sure it's not just a momentary thing, as that happens sometimes. I use WinUAE A LOT.

chip 23 January 2019 19:44

But if you keep a demo that doesn't work properly, perhaps in the future you can find the right configuration to make it work good

For example just discovered that this demo works fine only if i disable cycle exact

http://janeway.exotica.org.uk/release.php?id=89830

But i discovered this only after a long time it was in my collection :agree

Foebane 23 January 2019 19:57

Sure, Chip, there are many demos I haven't played for a long time (I have 600+ at the moment) and so there may be others that will fail, too.

I try to keep myself down to eight system configurations from 68000 to 68060 and everything inbetween, and I have almost 300 configuration files because of the floppy or hard drives that point to specific demos, and the rest of the configs are identical. I even wrote a utility to compare configurations by loading two into memory, removing specified parameter lines, and then comparing the leftovers to see if they're identical. It works brilliantly, and gives me peace of mind.

chip 23 January 2019 20:01

Do you have intention to release your collection to the public or it is only for personal use ? :blased

Foebane 23 January 2019 20:19

Quote:

Originally Posted by chip (Post 1299734)
Do you have intention to release your collection to the public or it is only for personal use ? :blased

I could upload them to my Google Drive, but I use 1080p for the display, so I think the configs may have to be adjusted. If you just want a list of what demos I have, I can provide that easily.

EDIT: Also the paths to the demo files. I only wish I could use partial paths instead of having to use full ones (from "C:" onwards).

chip 23 January 2019 20:25

Thanks Foebane but i don't need a list

Question was only for curiosity, as simple as that

I already have 135 GB of Amiga demos to check :nuts

Foebane 23 January 2019 20:30

Quote:

Originally Posted by chip (Post 1299744)
Thanks Foebane but i don't need a list

Question was only for curiosity, as simple as that

I already have 135 GB of Amiga demos to check :nuts

How many actual demos is that? My collection is less than 2Gb! Where do you get them from?

chip 23 January 2019 21:10

Difficult to say how many demos are actually ..... sure there are a lot of dupes ! :laughing

The collection is made by various CD, various collections and various ftp stuff :agree

Minuous 23 January 2019 21:53

Quote:

Originally Posted by chip (Post 1299730)
For example just discovered that this demo works fine only if i disable cycle exact

That's odd, shouldn't cycle exact enabled normally be more compatible?

chip 23 January 2019 22:12

I'm sorry but i'm technically not skilled enough to explain why this happens Minous :(

StingRay 23 January 2019 22:54

I had a quick look, demo enables VBI (where all effects are called) but the text ptr (for the scroller) and the ptr for some table for blitting aren't initialised hence it is more than likely that the blits are done to completely wrong/illegal memory locations which could very well be a reason for the demo not to work properly.

chip 23 January 2019 22:56

Thanks for the explanation StingRay :o


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:30.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Page generated in 0.04910 seconds with 11 queries