English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   Amiga scene (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   What do you know about Amiga SDL? (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=15912)

Tolismlf 14 November 2004 13:11

What do you know about Amiga SDL?
 
What do you know about Amiga SDL? Amiga Simple Directmedia library???

mtb 15 November 2004 10:52

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tolismlf
What do you know about Amiga SDL? Amiga Simple Directmedia library???

from libsdl page:

Quote:

Simple DirectMedia Layer is a cross-platform multimedia library designed to provide low level access to audio, keyboard, mouse, joystick, 3D hardware via OpenGL, and 2D video framebuffer. It is used by MPEG playback software, emulators, and many popular games, including the award winning Linux port of "Civilization: Call To Power."

Simple DirectMedia Layer supports Linux, Windows, BeOS, MacOS Classic, MacOS X, FreeBSD, OpenBSD, BSD/OS, Solaris, IRIX, and QNX. There is also code, but no official support, for Windows CE, AmigaOS, Dreamcast, Atari, NetBSD, AIX, OSF/Tru64, RISC OS, and SymbianOS.
I have never used an amiga app that used it, but it's a really common library used for games, emulators and so on, since it's almost hardware indipendent. It offers access to graphics functions, input funcions, sound... .

ant512 15 November 2004 14:30

Don't the Amiga ports of ScummVM use it?

mtb 15 November 2004 15:45

Quote:

Originally Posted by ant512
Don't the Amiga ports of ScummVM use it?

You're right, even if i have never used the amiga version. ScummVM uses sdl on every platform.

ant512 15 November 2004 17:57

Quote:

Originally Posted by mtb
You're right, even if i have never used the amiga version. ScummVM uses sdl on every platform.

Never used it? It's great!

Tolismlf 15 November 2004 18:34

So a program that is written....
 
in this "API" and runs on Windows executes in an Amiga that has this library?
I want to learn more about this. Its interesting. I also have another question. Can an 68040 Amiga handle Macromedia flash games? Sorry for my english

Drake1009 15 November 2004 19:54

You'd probably at least have to recompile the program for the Amiga. But you won't need to do major rewrites of code for the graphics, sound, controls and so on.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:57.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Page generated in 0.03930 seconds with 11 queries