English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   project.CD32 Conversion (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=127)
-   -   Mac titles for CD32 via Shapeshifter? (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=98236)

wairnair 27 July 2019 15:56

Mac titles for CD32 via Shapeshifter?
 
I was thinking if it were possible to create iso's of Mac games using Shapeshifter. With the TF330 performance would be OK-ish to OK (and will be perfect once the TF360 comes alive). You need a full 030 though for MMU support.
Wonder if joypad support is feasible. I guess it is for games that support it on the Mac. Next step would be to convert joypad button presses to keys, if doable at all.

Boot sequence would be to start barebones WB with MMUlib, auto start Shapeshifter, run Mac OS, auto run game. Could be overkill from CD though and problems would arise from being read-only. So maybe just create auto-starting mac hd's bundled with a single a game and run them from Shapeshifter.

A good candidate would be Prince of Persia as it looks best on the Mac and has a simple control scheme.
Anyone else find this interesting? Any other game ideas?

Retro1234 27 July 2019 18:54

You could use MacJoy on Aminet

Blackthorn is a cool game and the Alone in the Dark games.

I wanted to do something on my A1200 with a AGS menu to boot straight into Mac games the main problem I had is for my choice I needed some way of creating a batch file for classic Mac and never found a way.

Dont know what problems you would get with Raed only.

wairnair 27 July 2019 19:21

Quote:

Originally Posted by Retro1234 (Post 1334981)
You could use MacJoy on Aminet

Blackthorn is a cool game and the Alone in the Dark games.

I wanted to do something on my A1200 with a AGS menu to boot straight into Mac games the main problem I had is for my choice I needed some way of creating a batch file for classic Mac and never found a way.

Dont know what problems you would get with Raed only.

Just tried MacJoy under winuae, it works great.
Issue with PoP is the game can't be started without mouse or keyboard (new game from menu or Command+N). But the game itself works with cd32 joypad.

Would be cool to fool around with it on real hw but lack of mouse/kb seems an obstacle.

Haven't heard about Blackthorn, I'll check it out. Thanks

Hmm I made the hdd's read-only under workbench and both OS and the game start just fine. The disk was read only because I couldn't make a new folder. So that may not be an issue for a 'pilot' iso (can't save games ovbiously though).

Retro1234 27 July 2019 20:39

Try JoyMouse from Aminet.

wairnair 27 July 2019 21:46

Quote:

Originally Posted by Retro1234 (Post 1334985)
Try JoyMouse from Aminet.

It doesn't work outside workbench (probably because games usually kill the OS). Just checked, it doesn't work with Shapeshifter either.

Retro1234 27 July 2019 22:14

There's another JoyMouse on the CD32 construction kit I've used one of them with ShapeShifter Because ShapeShifter never kills the Amiga OS its fully OS friendly that's why MacJoy works its just a Workbench app can be used with anything Workbench the Author just called it MacJoy.

Edit: Infact I just tried JoyMouse from Aminet with Shapeshifter and it works perfectly?

wairnair 28 July 2019 12:43

Quote:

Originally Posted by Retro1234 (Post 1334991)
There's another JoyMouse on the CD32 construction kit I've used one of them with ShapeShifter Because ShapeShifter never kills the Amiga OS its fully OS friendly that's why MacJoy works its just a Workbench app can be used with anything Workbench the Author just called it MacJoy.

Edit: Infact I just tried JoyMouse from Aminet with Shapeshifter and it works perfectly?

Got both Joymouse and MacJoypad working. There's a setting in Shapeshifter, "Direct mouse polling" that needs to be disabled to get MacJoypad working. Also, I figured that "FreeWheel" also has to be disabled to get MacJoypad working. (maybe both use lowlevel.library and conflict)

And you're right, Shapeshifter really is Amiga OS friendly.

Pretty nice, Mac version of PoP working on the CD32 with joypad only.

Retro1234 28 July 2019 13:37

Cool looking forward to test ISO :)

Seiya 28 July 2019 13:55

Quote:

Originally Posted by wairnair (Post 1334967)
Boot sequence would be to start barebones WB with MMUlib, auto start Shapeshifter, run Mac OS, auto run game.

But you have standard CD32 without HD?

wairnair 28 July 2019 13:58

Quote:

Originally Posted by Retro1234 (Post 1335043)
Cool looking forward to test ISO :)

Erm... does not work on the real thing yet :(

Couldn't make MuMove4k or PrepareEmul work on real hw.

Tried with and without A1200 flag for MuMove4k, no difference, it crashed.
Tried with and without REBOOT flag for MuMove4k. It boots up if NOREBOOT is given, but then Shapeshifter says PrepareEmul is not running. If NOREBOOT is NOT given then it reboots and crashes.

PrepareEmul just reboots, dims power led and crashes.

Any idea what's going on? Maybe the TF330 is not playing nice with mumove4k or whatever.

wairnair 28 July 2019 14:04

Quote:

Originally Posted by Seiya (Post 1335047)
But you have standard CD32 without HD?

No. I have a TF330 which has 64MB fast + 68030RC50 cpu + HD (Compact Flash). (Wouldn't work on stock machine at all, you need plenty of RAM for running both os's + an MMU capable CPU)

My thinking first was to produce an ISO that I can just pop in and play a mac game. On second thought it could be very slow/limited. I might give it a try nevertheless, but first the mumove4k/prepareemul thing has to be worked out.

Retro1234 28 July 2019 14:32

Maybe this post by Cammy https://forum.amiga.org/index.php?topic=56392.0

:Maybe I can have a look -

It works under Uae?
Does it work on Real Hardware from HD but not CD?

Seiya 28 July 2019 15:23

Quote:

Originally Posted by wairnair (Post 1335050)
No. I have a TF330 which has 64MB fast + 68030RC50 cpu + HD (Compact Flash). (Wouldn't work on stock machine at all, you need plenty of RAM for running both os's + an MMU capable CPU)

My thinking first was to produce an ISO that I can just pop in and play a mac game. On second thought it could be very slow/limited. I might give it a try nevertheless, but first the mumove4k/prepareemul thing has to be worked out.

but maybe is better to load shapeshifter aver you boot into your workbench. because there are so many variable to consider like "prepareEmul" and "MacMem" and other things that you have to load at boot. i don't know if you can do it at boot.
i have some problem with an HD, but i'd like to see if it works (however i try with WinUAE to make more faster).

Retro1234 28 July 2019 17:11

Look at this thread https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/forum/vi...hp?f=70&t=1583

looks like there maybe an issue with Soft Rebooting.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=k9hTz-usDVs

Maybe try PrepareEmul with NoReboot Let it boot then open CD lib, Close CD lid boot again then try ShapeShifter.

wairnair 28 July 2019 18:32

Quote:

Originally Posted by Retro1234 (Post 1335072)
Look at this thread https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/forum/vi...hp?f=70&t=1583

looks like there maybe an issue with Soft Rebooting.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=k9hTz-usDVs

Maybe try PrepareEmul with NoReboot Let it boot then open CD lib, Close CD lid boot again then try ShapeShifter.

Reset issue: edit: I have a newer TF330 board which has this fixed. Also, soft reset works just fine from ClassicWB.

It works 100% under WinUAE without PrepareEmul. Looks like WinUAE provides the 4k chip ram relocation. There must be an option for this, remember to have seen smthg like that.

NOREBOOT doesn't help, Shapeshifter says PrepareEmul not available.

I'll try the link you've suggested.

wairnair 28 July 2019 18:34

Quote:

Originally Posted by Retro1234 (Post 1335052)
Maybe this post by Cammy https://forum.amiga.org/index.php?topic=56392.0

:Maybe I can have a look -

It works under Uae?
Does it work on Real Hardware from HD but not CD?

It works under UAE.

It doesn't work on real hardware from HD, and I haven't tried CD yet.

Toni Wilen 28 July 2019 18:43

Do you have at least almost identical HW config? Identical Fast RAM address space? (Z3 Fast is almost always "wrong") MMU emulation? Same HD controller? ("UAE" expansions should not be used. It is really easy to accidentally make "impossible" in real world config)

ROM panel has shapeshifter hack option which should be disabled to match normal KS ROM behavior.

wairnair 28 July 2019 18:57

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toni Wilen (Post 1335091)
Do you have at least almost identical HW config? Identical Fast RAM address space? (Z3 Fast is almost always "wrong") MMU emulation? Same HD controller? ("UAE" expansions should not be used. It is really easy to accidentally make "impossible" in real world config)

ROM panel has shapeshifter hack option which should be disabled to match normal KS ROM behavior.

Address space: what can I do with this, 8MB Z2 is probably not enough. Haven't compared the hex ranges.

Edit: HDD is in UAE mode and I can't get it start with IDE.
Edit2: It must have been Shapeshifter support under WinUAE that made it work. Now UAE also says that PrepareEmul is disabled.

wairnair 28 July 2019 19:48

Can't get prepareemul and mumove4k work under WinUAE.
I get yellow screen and restart loop or just restart and crash. Tried all combination of flags etc.

If anyone has a working mac emu setup under winuae please share startup-sequence and config.

Retro1234 28 July 2019 20:17

Ok I just tried and i'm getting endless Yellow screen loop in Winuae unless of course I tick the ShapeShifter Box under Roms and no PrepareEmul

PrepareEmul A1200
Quickstart A1200
8mb Fast


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:54.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Page generated in 0.06056 seconds with 11 queries