English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   project.Killergorilla's WHD packs (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=94)
-   -   Sensible World of Soccer RAM requirements (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=83027)

DesktopDynamite 09 June 2016 05:18

Sensible World of Soccer RAM requirements
 
Hi there,
Sorry if I am posting at wrong place. I just want to know if there is a whdload install for various SWOS games, since all versions need 2MB chipmem... Is there an alternative one which can run on a 1MB chipram instead?

TIA

Sent from my GT-I9301I using Tapatalk

Galahad/FLT 09 June 2016 09:25

Quote:

Originally Posted by DesktopDynamite (Post 1094399)
Hi there,
Sorry if I am posting at wrong place. I just want to know if there is a whdload install for various SWOS games, since all versions need 2MB chipmem... Is there an alternative one which can run on a 1MB chipram instead?

TIA

Sent from my GT-I9301I using Tapatalk

No, as i supported the AGA version only at the time, and in god knows how many years, you are the first to ask ;)

Im redoing SWOS as it happens and the intention is to support lower mem machines, so watch this space :great

Amigajay 09 June 2016 10:01

Quote:

Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT (Post 1094427)
Im redoing SWOS as it happens and the intention is to support lower mem machines, so watch this space :great

Nice! I know it still cant save, but the CD32 is dying for a proper whdload version, looking forward to it!

DesktopDynamite 09 June 2016 10:24

Quote:

Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT (Post 1094427)
No, as i supported the AGA version only at the time, and in god knows how many years, you are the first to ask ;)

Im redoing SWOS as it happens and the intention is to support lower mem machines, so watch this space :great

Thanks [emoji106] [emoji6]

Sent from my GT-I9301I using Tapatalk

macce2 19 June 2016 18:54

After trying some WHDload versions of SWOS, I tried the floppy version of SWOS (96-97 ?!) on my A4000D and was quite happy with it, because I was able to save a career.
I think the game runs on my A4000 (040@25) at quite ideal speed (?!), not too slow or fast. However, that's only my opinion.
Last night I decided to try the game on my A500 (ECS Agnus, 1 Mb Ram) and was suprised to find that it works. However, I was more suprised to find out SWOS runs a lot faster on my A500!
It has no accelerator installed, only the trapdoor Ram expansion.
In my opinion, the game runs way too fast! :-o
How can that be ?

Playaveli 19 June 2016 20:16

Quote:

Originally Posted by Amigajay (Post 1094433)
Nice! I know it still cant save, but the CD32 is dying for a proper whdload version, looking forward to it!

How about that:
http://unofficial-cd32-ports.blogspo...swos-9697.html

;)

Quote:

Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT (Post 1094427)
Im redoing SWOS as it happens and the intention is to support lower mem machines, so watch this space :great

Nice to hear. If you need beta test, let me know.

Amigajay 19 June 2016 20:28

Quote:

Originally Posted by Playaveli (Post 1096823)

Take a look, its not whdload.

Retro1234 19 June 2016 20:50

theres also a HDF Floating around that I think works on 1mb chip and fast ram but seems to take forever to load on 68000

this might be the reason swos is slower on your 68040 than on your 68000
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=5372

macce2 20 June 2016 20:46

Anyway, I do like the speed SWOS currently runs on my A4000 (Caches enabled).
I think it is way more "realistic" speed. Of course, too much slower won't be good.
however, I think I'm a little surprised to think that Sensible Soccer and SWOS games
were meant to run such a speed that they run on my A500. Many of you will disagree with that.
I mean, the game is much more playable at A LITTLE slower speed. :-D
Btw, AGA fixed / specific (floppy) version of SWOS doesn't exist, does it..?!? :-o

DesktopDynamite 18 September 2016 04:52

Any updates?

Martijn 12 February 2018 16:12

Really curious if there's any update to this. I've recently expanded my A500 with an ACA500plus and WHDLoad, and SWOS is my number 1 game from back in the days. I would really love to be able to run it on 1MB chip...

Galahad/FLT 12 February 2018 19:55

Quote:

Originally Posted by Martijn (Post 1219086)
Really curious if there's any update to this. I've recently expanded my A500 with an ACA500plus and WHDLoad, and SWOS is my number 1 game from back in the days. I would really love to be able to run it on 1MB chip...

Lots of different versions, be patient :)

Martijn 13 February 2018 09:51

Quote:

Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT (Post 1219153)
Lots of different versions, be patient :)

Ok, sounds like this is still on your to-do list, that's great! I'll be using floppies until you're ready. :) And if you need 1MB chip testers, I'd be happy to....

RiP 12 April 2018 20:39

Quote:

Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT (Post 1219153)
Lots of different versions, be patient :)

Please do it, that was my favorite game when I was child :bowdown

DesktopDynamite 16 May 2018 21:20

Hi again, any updates regarding this please ?


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:54.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Page generated in 0.04540 seconds with 11 queries