English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   Coders. System (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=113)
-   -   icon.library 46.4 test versions (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=64079)

PeterK 27 April 2012 10:54

icon.library 46.4 test versions
 
14 Attachment(s)
Always download the last full version from Aminet before you update:

Aminet - util/libs/IconLib_46.4.lha


Update to icon.library 46.4.493 (TC020)

Made another work around for broken OS4 ARGB icons from AfA_OS. This time the highest byte of the zlib-image size was trashed. +++ Found the magic that lets the Icon Info window in DOpus4 suddenly display icons in TrueColor. What a surprise, it was hidden in my library, it's my gfx-patch which was only used for WB 3.0/3.1 and DOpus5 and is now enabled by TC020, too. Just one remark: the alpha channel may not look optimal in DOpus4, because it displays the icons with frames and in that case my gfx-patch clears the background simply by drawing a normal planar image first and then overwrites it with the TrueColor image. Thus, some parts of the planar image are still shining through the alpha blending at the border.


Update to icon.library 46.4.494 (TC020)

Fixed the problem with the background cleaning in my gfx-patch for icons with frames in DOpus4 Icon Info, DOpus5 and on WB 3.0/3.1. The alpha blending looks correct now. Removed, a problem with AfA_OS has been reported.


Update to icon.library 46.4.495 (TC020)

A new attempt to create a gray background in my gfx-patch for icons with frames to get a correct looking alpha blending. I hope that it's more system and AfA_OS friendly now, but this still needs to be confirmed.


Update to icon.library 46.4.496 (TC020)

My old optional instruction "KeepPlanarImages" (from the Aminet package) can be used with TC020 now to keep also planar images with more than 8 colors alive when you are saving OS4 icons. This is a workaround for AfA_OS to let it display OS4 icons.


Updated IconDemo ADF files (486):

To make it easier to use my icon.library under OS 3.0/3.1, I've built two demo floppy images that should show you how to get things to work. Just copy one of these ADF files onto a floppy disk and then boot from it. These images are NO speed demos! If you have enough RAM you could also use the much faster RAD: disk. (Please, always install the latest icon.library on your harddisk)

These demos can display all types of icons: old icons, MWB-icons, NewIcons, GlowIcons, OS4-icons and PNG-icons. This does not need a workbench.library v44+. Only the old icon.library is removed from the resident list with Thomas Rapp's very nice RemLib tool and then the new icon.library is loaded from Libs: into the memory instead, without a reboot.

IconDemoA500.ADF is for low end systems with 68000+ CPUs, OCS/ECS with a fixed 16 color palette, minimal 512 kB ChipMem and 1 MB FastMem. I would recommend at least 40 MHz and more memory to enjoy it (e.g. a MiniMig). 68020+ systems are detected and supported by loading the 68020 version automatically.

IconDemoA1200.ADF is for better systems with 68020+ CPUs, AGA, minimal 1 MB ChipMem and 2 MB FastMem and uses FBlit. It needs no ChipMem for the icons and the NewIcons patch makes even transparent backgrounds possible.

In both configurations DefIcons, AutoUpdateWB and SwazInfo are also installed. These ADFs are working with Kick 3.0 already and are supporting PAL and now also NTSC screenmodes.

The excellent CopyIcon tool from Stephan Rupprecht makes it possible to replace the images on your existing icons with a simple drag&drop from all available icon sets, no matter which format the source icons have.

Of course, the icon loading from a floppy disk will always be very slow. Furthermore, OS4 and PNG icons can also be rendered much faster after converting them once into the OS 3.5 format, but on these ADFs they are still in their original file format in order to demonstrate the ability to decode them on any Amiga.

Thorham 27 April 2012 11:16

Cool :great But how do I use this (3.0)?

PeterK 27 April 2012 11:21

It works with ClassicWB (tested ADVSP), Scalos 1.2d and OS 3.0.
No need to get any OS 3.5+ files !

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=63342

http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=810622&postcount=36

mfilos 27 April 2012 11:23

Will report back from home Peter mate :)
Cheers once more for these updates \o/

PeterK 29 April 2012 03:18

If you have SetPatch v44 then simply don't use LoadModule or LoadResident to load the icon.library or the workbench.library. SetPatch will do that.

SpeedGeek 29 April 2012 20:17

I thought you could just copy the latest version of icon.library to libs: and it would automatically be used if it's newer than the ROM based version?

I think I have 40.4.209 in ROM and I really don't want to burn a new ROM for every update. I don't like LoadResident any more than I like OSRomUpdate!

mfilos 29 April 2012 21:29

Tested it tonight and it works just fine (as the previous version did).
Haven't tested thoroughly all the new features but will report once I test them out

I agree SpeedGeek that is annoying burning new ROM for the new updates. I use ACATune's MapROM feature which rox, but it would be really awesome if we could make something like ROMflash at some point to get over with all this stuff :(

PeterK 29 April 2012 21:42

I would agree to that it doesn't make much sense to put the icon.library into an eprom and burn a new one for every update. Maybe, if it were a flash rom. Nevertheless, it has a lot of advantages to use custom ROMs with WinUAE or BlizKick or other ROM emulaters. You have shorter boot times and building a new ROM image is quite easy with Remus.

But many people are using LoadResident or LoadModule to make these libraries reset proof. This needs an extra reset only for the cold start which is neccessary for SetPatch in any case, but it speeds up all further reboots later.

Edited:
If you don't use it then SetPatch will always try to replace the resident icon.library and workbench.library with those that can be found in the LIBS: drawer, exactly as you said (but maybe without checking the version). As a result, LoadResident calls will get useless and fail and for LoadModule calls SetPatch will just waste memory by loading these two libraries again.

To avoid this rename these libraries to prevent SetPatch from finding them in LIBS:.

ok, mfilos was a little faster ;)
Thanks for testing, mfilos !

_mandark_ 01 May 2012 17:42

icon.library 46.4.230 running fine so far on my system (A1200, ACA1230-56, OS 3.9 on 4 GB CF-card).

clauddio 04 May 2012 00:52

Quote:

Originally Posted by PeterK (Post 815289)


Something else: Important for users of DOpus Magellan II:

Make sure that the newicon.library V44 is installed in your LIBS: drawer.
And activate "Alternative Icon Copying" in the DOpus settings.

I'm using dopus 5.82 ( last version)
where is the option "alternative icon copyng" ? I can't found it

PeterK 04 May 2012 07:31

Sorry clauddio, I was using DOpus Magellan II with German localization and the options name was "Alternatives Piktogramm Kopieren", so I thought that the translation should be "Alternative Icon Copying". But now I've changed the localization to English and that shows me under "Icon Settings" that the option is called "Smart Icon Copying" instead. ;)

@_mandark_
Thank you for your report :great

PeterK 19 May 2012 11:07

Updated to icon.library 46.4.231 :)

NovaCoder 23 May 2012 06:48

Cool I will get around to installing this soon, thanks for your work :)

I'm running an AGA WB OS 3.9 BB2 and RemapApollo (works like BlizKick).

I assume I can just give this icon.library to RemapApollo and it will be all good?

This library will be faster/better than the BB2 version for an AGA user?

daxb 23 May 2012 10:47

You can load the icon.library with RemApollo as a module. I tested that on a A1200 Apollo 1240 OS3.1 system. ...and additional what PeterK wrote. You can check with e.g. Scout if resident loading worked.

NovaCoder 23 May 2012 13:26

I just use NOROMUPDATE for SetPatch and then pass in all the updated modules separately to RemapApollo :)

PeterK 23 May 2012 14:58

Quote:

Originally Posted by daxb (Post 819722)
You can load the icon.library with RemApollo as a module. I tested that on a A1200 Apollo 1240 OS3.1 system. ...and additional what PeterK wrote. You can check with e.g. Scout if resident loading worked.

Better check with "Avail FLUSH" directly after booting has finished.
And compare it once with SetPatch DISABLEROMMODULES ""
and another time without this option.

I would predict and could bet that NOROMUPDATE will not prevent SetPatch from disabling these two resident libraries and loading them from LIBS: again. They may still appear in the resident list, but they are disabled there. Only Avail FLUSH can show the difference.

_mandark_ 24 May 2012 16:16

Was testing the new version on my A1200 and WinUAE (A1200-clone, Picasso96, uaegfx) yesterday. No big problems whatsoever, but I encountered a freeze on WinUAE when saving all drawer icons in a drawer (about 160 blue and green colored drawer icons). But I was not able to reproduce the crash...

PeterK 24 May 2012 23:11

Hmm ? I never encountered such a problem yet.
Please, give me some more details in case it occurs again. (example drawer icons or the name of the icon collection they belong to)

Maybe this could also be an issue of the new dos.library ?
I guess, you are using it, but I didn't try it out yet.

PeterK 29 May 2012 17:31

Updated to icon.library 46.4.235

_mandark_ 01 June 2012 12:58

Quote:

Originally Posted by PeterK (Post 819968)
Hmm ? I never encountered such a problem yet.
Please, give me some more details in case it occurs again. (example drawer icons or the name of the icon collection they belong to)

Maybe this could also be an issue of the new dos.library ?
I guess, you are using it, but I didn't try it out yet.

Your guess was right, I am using the new dos.library ;) But I also have not encountered this problem again. Your latest icon.library is running fine on my systems.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:51.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Page generated in 0.11746 seconds with 11 queries