English Amiga Board

English Amiga Board (http://eab.abime.net/index.php)
-   News (http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=29)
-   -   SFS V2.3!! (Smart File System V2.3) (http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=22305)

BarrySWE 12 March 2006 13:52

SFS V2.3!! (Smart File System V2.3)
 
http://strohmayer.org/sfs/

Look!! ;-)

SFS2 2.3 (4.3.2006)
- Changed structures to allow larger partitions (1 TB with 512
bytes/block, 64 TB with 32768 bytes/block).
- WARNING: Version 2.3 is NOT compatible to 2.2 and 2.1, you have
to reformat your SFS2 partitions.

SFS2 2.2/m68k (25.2.2006)
- Ported to AmigaOS 3.x/m68k.

SFS2 2.2 (18.2.2006)
- Fixed an overflow bug.

SFS2 2.1 (18.2.2006)
- Support for files > 4 GB added.
- DOSType is 'SFS\2' (0x53465302), add it to your kicklayout, don't
replace SFS 1.x, SFS 2.x doesn't support SFS 1.x partitions.
- You'll hardly find anything which works with files > 4 GB, but
developers can add support for large files to their applications
and test them with this SFS2 now, please use the SFS mailing list
if you have questions about how to add support for large files.
- Don't use it for important data yet, there are probably still bugs
in the > 4 GB file support left, but since nearly all applications
have to be changed to support files > 4 GB (and most even to work
correctly with files > 2 GB) it's IMHO better to release it now
even if it's not perfect yet.
- The max. partition size limits are unchanged, check the 1.245 entry.
- Many thanks to the 4 people sending donations for the large file
SFS!



Anyone tried it yet?

BippyM 12 March 2006 13:56

Great news

Moved to News section as it really isn't an apps.prb

killergorilla 12 March 2006 16:00

Superb, this is a great piece of software, much better than ffs ffs!

keropi 12 March 2006 18:50

is it free???

jrom 12 March 2006 19:06

Yes, I use 1.x version on my A1200 ever since I bought it. Never had any trouble with it. :)

BarrySWE 12 March 2006 19:57

I'm using: 1.247 (16.7.2005)

the best for me is LONG filname support.

whiteb 13 March 2006 00:59

Quote:

Originally Posted by keropi
is it free???

I think its PFS thats commercial, SPS is free.

Is that correct ?

dlfrsilver 13 March 2006 01:01

yes 100% correct ^^

mr_a500 13 March 2006 01:07

I had trouble with it (1.245). I had to remove it from my boot partition because it was causing corruption and crashes (identical duplicate FFS partition worked fine). The corruption on the boot partition ended when I switched to FFS.

I still have it on two partitions, but (after much testing) I suspect it is the cause of some increasing crashes and "strangeness" on my system (taking huge amounts of time to copy files, crash when drive spins down). Unfortunately, I can't switch to FFS to test because my main partition is 3Gb and I have nowhere to copy it to.

In SFSsalve, does anybody know what the "BAD" dirs mean? Whenever I run SFSsalve on my main partition, it shows a whole bunch of BAD dirs and they seem to be increasing in number. My other SFS partition - for internet cache and temp - doesn't ever show BAD dirs. Anybody have an idea?

MrZammler 13 March 2006 13:48

So, what's the difference between the 1.x and 2.x versions?

mrodfr 13 March 2006 20:32

[QUOTE=mr_a500]I had trouble with it (1.245). I had to remove it from my boot partition because it was causing corruption and crashes (identical duplicate FFS partition worked fine). The corruption on the boot partition ended when I switched to FFS.


backup ALL, reformat and copy at the same place. sooner or later, your amiga should have big problems.

I'm using sfs since 1998 without problems (actually 1.25x).

I'm not testing 2.x untill now and let some versions increased before testing and also I don't know if tools like sfscheck could work on 2.x version of SFS or not.

alexh 14 March 2006 10:53

Quote:

In SFSsalve, does anybody know what the "BAD" dirs mean?
Has SFSsalve been kept upto date with the current changes?

BarrySWE 15 March 2006 15:21

... if i change to the lates 1.x from my 1.247 version...
do i have to reformat the partitions?
or is it best go for 2.3?

I'm a new version nerd ;-)

i also have these BAD-DIR.

but the "BAD-DIR" is no dir...
because all the other dirs is there...

i have bad dir on HD1 and HD0... but i havent notice anything..

no problems at all with the computer..


http://hem.bredband.net/barrytheblade/bad.jpg

BarrySWE 15 March 2006 15:56

In the BAD-DIR, is it gifs and html stuff..
like temporary internet shit....
maybe the bad-dir is like stuff you have deletet?
because you can use undelete?

AMIGAZ 15 March 2006 16:02

You don't have to reformat the partitions, just update the SFS filesystem in hdtoolbox in ADD/UPDATE

BarrySWE 15 March 2006 16:51

even if go from 1.x to 2.x?
i updated to the latest 1.x atleast..

Calgor 15 March 2006 16:57

So updating to new SFS on the RDB using hdtoolbox means that the new version of SFS is now available to set partitions to, but the old partitions already existing don't need the old version of SFS in the RDB?

BarrySWE 15 March 2006 17:05

I will take a backup now, im now using SFS 1.254 (4.3.2006) 45 KB.
and then when i have that, i can update it to SFS2 2.3 (4.3.2006) ;-)
i don't wanna lose my stuff ;-)

Coolit 24 March 2006 23:07

Quote:

Originally Posted by BarrySWE
I will take a backup now, im now using SFS 1.254 (4.3.2006) 45 KB.
and then when i have that, i can update it to SFS2 2.3 (4.3.2006) ;-)
i don't wanna lose my stuff ;-)


How did the upgrade go? any problems/issues?

I thinking about upgrading from 1 to 2 also but like you Im an SFS upgrade newbe :agree

BarrySWE 25 March 2006 20:18

I havenät updated yet, i donät need the new stuff from 2x version.. only have 10GB hd..
and the sfssalve and stuff. works, good on 1.x so.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:07.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.

Page generated in 0.08914 seconds with 11 queries